User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 150

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. caml
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Ridiculous lyrics that really give you a ripe image of gangster glory in your mind. Pusha-T and Malice are, quite honestly, the most underrated MCs of our time. And the Neptunes' simple, dark and artistic beats provide the perfect backdrop for the themes of the album.
  2. matthewl
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    almost perfect, hello new world and ride around shining are classics
  3. ErikH
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    Valeron, I really don't see this as an example of "the emperor's new clothes." (for that, see Joanna Newsom) The fact of the matter is that "Hell Hath No Fury" is one of the best albums of the year for one big reason: the production. Now I've never had too much faith in the Neptunes and found them to be vastly over-rated. That was until I heard "Wamp Wamp." Then after I Valeron, I really don't see this as an example of "the emperor's new clothes." (for that, see Joanna Newsom) The fact of the matter is that "Hell Hath No Fury" is one of the best albums of the year for one big reason: the production. Now I've never had too much faith in the Neptunes and found them to be vastly over-rated. That was until I heard "Wamp Wamp." Then after I purchased the CD and heard masterful minimalist beat after minimalist beat, always spectacular but never trying to over-shadow the MC (as the Neptune's have occasionally tried to do in the past with mixed results) I realized that Clipse have made an album that is one of the year's best, though maybe not the class some have called it. Expand
  4. JMack
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I have heard in years, it renewed my faith in Hip Hop.
  5. ChakaS
    Dec 1, 2006
    7
    Strong Album but not a classic...The album starts strong, gets monotonous towards the middle but finishes strong with the last track, Nightmares. Lyrical content is all the same for most of the songs in the album. To many songs about selling drugs and buying expensive clothes. The production on the album is great, but at time it seems like some of the tracks don't match the Clipse Strong Album but not a classic...The album starts strong, gets monotonous towards the middle but finishes strong with the last track, Nightmares. Lyrical content is all the same for most of the songs in the album. To many songs about selling drugs and buying expensive clothes. The production on the album is great, but at time it seems like some of the tracks don't match the Clipse flow. All in all album is strong, with good songs like Miami Vice, Mr. Me Too, Dirty Money, and Nightmares but not a classic. Expand
  6. petere
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    "So much white you might think your holy christ was near" classic
  7. EvanV
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    clipse keeps it real, even tho most of what they reference to is drugs, they keep it light and only breach the surface of "deep" rap..something i think they would excel in
  8. ShepM.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    The Best Rap Album of 2006.... The beats are amazing and it is as spontaneus as Lord 'Willin. The crack/drug life of Clipse can get somewhat annoying, but they are the best writers out right now..VA! They are re-inventing hip hop
  9. life247
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    this album is crazy!! i can't stop listening to it!! wow..clipse really brought the heat with this one
  10. OuasM
    Nov 30, 2006
    8
    I kinda agree with Gary E, now this cd is good and it will be on some album of the year list but a 91 on the critic side come on now. I don't know what got into this critics they must of got paid to give this a good rating. Don't get me wrong I feel the clipse but I can't take this one over The Roots, Ghostface, Black Ice or Lupe Fiasco Man. F&F and I'm done.
  11. Nick
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    This has been a phenomenal year for hip-hop. Ghostface Killah and The Roots released career-defining albums, while new artists like Lupe Fiasco lived up to the hype. This Clipse album isn't likely to turn any non hip-hop fans around, but it's one of the finest of the year. Every track has a purpose, and the beats are top of the line. Fishscale is still a beter overal work in my This has been a phenomenal year for hip-hop. Ghostface Killah and The Roots released career-defining albums, while new artists like Lupe Fiasco lived up to the hype. This Clipse album isn't likely to turn any non hip-hop fans around, but it's one of the finest of the year. Every track has a purpose, and the beats are top of the line. Fishscale is still a beter overal work in my opinion, but Hell Hath No Fury still recieves a very high recommendation from me. Expand
  12. JohnE
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Clipse delievered pound 4 pound the best album of the year...
  13. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    1. ghostface 2. CLIPSE 3. lupe
  14. samb
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    a groundbreaking gangsta-rap album. not since the previous millenia has there been a mainstream hip hop record this good.
  15. MihaiV
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Deserves all the praise it gets.
  16. KeithM
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    I can't believe you people giving this a bad score. Do you just not listen when you put on CDs? Or do you look at metacritic, decide which ones everybody else likes, then completely trash it without even giving it a chance? Well to all of those idiots this is one of the best hip hop albums of 06. The production by the neptunes compliments the clipse perfectly and just adds to the I can't believe you people giving this a bad score. Do you just not listen when you put on CDs? Or do you look at metacritic, decide which ones everybody else likes, then completely trash it without even giving it a chance? Well to all of those idiots this is one of the best hip hop albums of 06. The production by the neptunes compliments the clipse perfectly and just adds to the dry, hard, evil tone of the cd. For all of you giving this bad scores, actually LISTEN before you judge you fucking idiots. Expand
  17. JosephM
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    So so solid Clipse come back hard. One of the tightest of 06 if you don't buy this CD there's something wrong with you.
  18. TheKing
    Jan 9, 2007
    7
    Great lyrics but the beats aren't that good and pharells rapping on it
  19. RobbyChasingHawk
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    This album IS a classic. With only twelve tracks, clocking in at forty-eight minutes, GREAT production, GREAT lyrics, and being cohesive, Clipse have easily made the best Hip-Hop CD of the year, in fact, the best Hip-Hop CD of the past two years, and have made on of the best CD's of 2006. Cop it now, so Clipse can get the money they deserve!
  20. EricC
    Mar 1, 2007
    9
    Funny how this was being made at the same time Nas was rapping about the death of hip-hop. In a world of ridin' dirty and chains hanging low, it's great to finally have guys like Clipse, Nas, and Ghost Face to come back and remind us what hip-hop should really be. Don't underappreciate what's being done here. This is real music.
  21. ryanm
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    this is one of the best albums ive heard in a long time. and is probably one of the best produced rap albums of all time. the clipse really put it to another level with their lyrics. in my opinon they are definately head shoulders above most rest of the rappers right now and all the young ones
  22. WarrenK
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Fire!!!!!! best Album of 2006. Also most slept on album of 2006 Its a shame the dint get much play. Clipse speak the truth in there verses
  23. chadm
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Clipse is only getting started. "Hell Hath No Fury" was an improvement on the great "Lord Willin'" and their next album will be even better than this one. Get it? "Nightmares" and "Ride Around Shining" are hidden gems; while "Wamp Wamp" (with Slim Thug) and "Trill" (with Pharrell) are the star tracks.
  24. MiguelA
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    Now honestly, the first time heard this album I hated it. The beats sucked, the rapppers had no charisma, and I couldn't believe it was getting rated as a "classic". Idk what was wrong with me. Fastfoward 2 years later. I really dont know what happened, but the beats sound WAAYYYYY better. It's like they had to grow onto you, or they were ahead of their time or something. Also Now honestly, the first time heard this album I hated it. The beats sucked, the rapppers had no charisma, and I couldn't believe it was getting rated as a "classic". Idk what was wrong with me. Fastfoward 2 years later. I really dont know what happened, but the beats sound WAAYYYYY better. It's like they had to grow onto you, or they were ahead of their time or something. Also the rappers from The Clipse may still not have much charisma, but both of them are lyrically talented. They're just pure entertainment Even without punchlines. It's crazy. They're just great. I'm not sure wether to recommend this album to everybody though because it took me a long time to like. I''m not really sure what type of Hip Hop-ers this would appeal to. Great album though. Nearly classic. Just about. Expand
  25. DannyK
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Best rap album of the year...second best album overall to the Hold Steady's Boys and Girls in America
  26. NotPushaT
    Nov 30, 2006
    7
    I won't dog this album. Overall, I think it's pretty good. But I don't understand why all the critics are falling over themselves to heap praise on it. The wordplay is clever and very good. But the topics? Come on, aren't we tired of crack rap yet? I know I am. But mostly, I'm not crazy about the beats. That said, I think Chinese New Year is fantastic.
  27. samilm
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Hip Hop is waking up
  28. MikeC
    Dec 14, 2006
    8
    This is a good hip/hop album, not a classic, not the best of 06, Ghostface a Lupe's albums tear this one up, but it is worth the money. This is the most gangsta mainstream rap album realeased in a while, and I gotta give it props for that
  29. B.Carter
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    Holly Crap this is Good ! I'm not even a big hip-hop fan but jeeeez! "Famous Rappers" take note....
  30. ReubenF
    Dec 19, 2006
    8
    With the Neptunes providing the laid back, grindin' grooves, the urban poetry of Malice and Pusha-T are centre stage where they belong. Thanks Neptunes for not making them into bubblegum pop.
  31. bhiksu2
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    damn...crack all the way through!
  32. Jeremy
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Clipse has made an instant classic
  33. heflys
    Dec 21, 2006
    9
    Clipse has managed to accomplish a feat the many artist fail to acheive; release an excellent album that is one of greatest, if the not the best, rap ablums of the year. Not only is it consistent in displaying superb beats, but also displays sophisticated verbal skills of the two brothers. The result is a thing of beauty. Yes, this album is truly deserving of all the critical acclaim it Clipse has managed to accomplish a feat the many artist fail to acheive; release an excellent album that is one of greatest, if the not the best, rap ablums of the year. Not only is it consistent in displaying superb beats, but also displays sophisticated verbal skills of the two brothers. The result is a thing of beauty. Yes, this album is truly deserving of all the critical acclaim it has garnered. Expand
  34. Marco
    Dec 2, 2006
    7
    I seriously dont understand how this is gettong really high ratings.It making me more confused than any other album.
  35. JimmyP
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    one of 2006's best rap albums. nuff said
  36. KyleM
    Dec 4, 2006
    8
    Some of the Neptunes' beats get stale, but Pusha T shines on one of the best hip-hop albums of the year. Big ups to Virgina Beach.
  37. Zedd
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    Fantastic, even with all the hype and anticipation.
  38. Paul
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Not a single bad track here. Just one tight beat after another... If you know how the Neptunes produce, you know what you're getting here: A very high quality hip-hop album.
  39. MundiaC
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    this album is another slept on banger, it reminds me of Common's Be, lyrics and beats meshed perfectly to create a hip hop classic
  40. Aja
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    Best CD out right now! Go GET IT
  41. JKila
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Great, great album. Not THE best of '06 (Ghost claims that spot with Fishscale), but definatly top 5.
  42. Karl
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    Classic album. Nuff said.
  43. DougS
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Fear him, as soon as you hear him Upon my arrival, the dope dealers' cheer him Just like a revival, the verse tends to steer 'em Through a life in the fast lane, I german engineer 'em
  44. BobN
    Feb 14, 2007
    8
    This kid's an idiot (below me), it deserves more than a 1 out of 10. Really? The album has only earned ten percent? This is why you are not a music critic. Sure, it wasn't a great album, but it's much better than a 1.
  45. mathK.
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    best rap album i have heard in a looooong time. brilliant beats and seething rhymes. great, great stuff. just buy it.
  46. KennyM
    Mar 26, 2007
    8
    great rap album....but, sorry, the guys of clipse are no aesop rock, atmosphere, black thought, or el-p....and pharrel is no blockhead.
  47. dariusm
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    like pharrell said *classic* all u guys giving the album bad reviews, of course you're entitled to an opinion but personally i think you should reassess you music library. if this album isn't a classic ion know what is
  48. TexasBoy
    Jul 16, 2007
    7
    I love the clipse... but i really wished they rapped about something else other than Coke. Its always cocaine this cocaine that with Pusha. And malice is rapping about expensive products. They're like the salesmen rappers. Italian carpets, White Lambo, only 80 grand! And pusha's the illegal salesmen like "peruvian white only 20 grand a Kilo with a discount!"
  49. JT
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Only Ghostface's Fishscale outshines this as the best rap album of the year... it's a classic.
  50. AO
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    As someone who rarely listens to any hip hop, this thing is just unbelievable. I've never even liked the Neptunes before!
  51. vagmastermcsackington
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    ball keeps rolling after we got it 4 cheap
  52. JohnD
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    Best gangsta-rap album of the year. Easily the second-best album of 2006, behind "For Hero: For Fool". (But that's just me.)
  53. PushaMal
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Is it possible for hip hop to get better than this? Pusha T might be the olny rapper than can make a beat sound sick just by where he places his words...it's called flow, and he's the Michael Jordan of it
  54. SeanP.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    The beats were what grabbed me immediately, and for the first few spins, i didnt even bother with the lyrical content yet. But then i noticed that the beats were so hard and spare that they DID start getting stale . . . until i turned my full attention to the words. The flows are excellent (Pusha T's is a bit better), but the WORDS they flow are what makes the album a 10. Sure, The beats were what grabbed me immediately, and for the first few spins, i didnt even bother with the lyrical content yet. But then i noticed that the beats were so hard and spare that they DID start getting stale . . . until i turned my full attention to the words. The flows are excellent (Pusha T's is a bit better), but the WORDS they flow are what makes the album a 10. Sure, it's one of many drug rap albums, but the lyrics are just heads and shoulders cleverer and deeper. I can listen to this album over and over again, if only for the words. And the beats go with the lyrics pretty well, so the words in turn make the beats great. Expand
  55. djm
    Dec 14, 2006
    8
    This is good, probably even very good and is up with Fishscale for the best rap album of the year. However, to call either one of these albums "classic" means that they are approaching the level of 36 Chambers, Ready to Die, etc. Those albums deserve 10's. These albums deserve 8's.
  56. RG
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    by my estimate the ghostface was the best rap album this year, but this exceeds and leaves ghostface cold. i didnt want to give this album the time of day because of all the hype but the beats just sucked me in, the production is the best neptunes have ever done, just amazing. the second listen was making my way in to the lyrics. the clipse are up there with the best, deep, hilarius and by my estimate the ghostface was the best rap album this year, but this exceeds and leaves ghostface cold. i didnt want to give this album the time of day because of all the hype but the beats just sucked me in, the production is the best neptunes have ever done, just amazing. the second listen was making my way in to the lyrics. the clipse are up there with the best, deep, hilarius and throw out the cliche gangsta rap and spit some fantastic rhymes. last but not least the album flows flawlessly closing with maybe what grounds this album to the rap format. Expand
  57. brianp
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    classic, the best album of 2006, hands down
  58. SteveS
    Jan 12, 2007
    7
    The album's pretty good overall. I fall asleep for a few seconds here and there, and more often than not, the Clipse can be one-trick ponies, but it's a pretty solid effort. What I don't understand is people who "don't usually listen to rap music" thoroughly digging this record. Sounds like somebody can't make a decision without the critic's help.
  59. NickF
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Seeds13 is a friggin moron. No clue whatsoever. No Limit got TERRIBLE reviews, he has no clue what he's talking about. Not everything great about an album lies on the surface...you might actually have to dig a little deeper pal!
  60. Justin
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    A stellar album, with the freshest, most claustrophobic beats in years and simultaneously sexy and grimy lyrics.
  61. JustinK
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    ....I jus like it,das all i can say
  62. RennardE
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    straight banger,drug dealer,street hiphop at its best
  63. TeejMan
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Album of the year. Nobody else is even close.
  64. ghettob
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    straight crack
  65. BenG
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    nothing will top this album in 2006. Nothing.
  66. SamE
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Quite frankly, I have never heard a better, smarter, more tolerable, or more enjoyable rap album in my entire life. Pure bliss.
  67. B.MichaelP
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Clipse's latest album is the Fishscale of 2006's back-end.
  68. RobA
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    "The news called it crack, i called it Diet Coke. Oh!" Wise words Pusha, wise words.
  69. LawrenceP
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Nothing against the outstanding ghostface, but this here is the hip-hop classic long player of the year.
  70. gregF
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    pusha t is crushing everyone lyrically right now
  71. VernonW
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    I've listened to this album about 5-6 times through and it is one of the two best hip-hop albums to be released this year, with "Food & Liquor" being the other. It's a breath of fresh air in terms of beats, delivery, and the genius lyrics. Some may complain they only rap about the dope game and hoes; however, it's done on such a personal level that's its surprisingly I've listened to this album about 5-6 times through and it is one of the two best hip-hop albums to be released this year, with "Food & Liquor" being the other. It's a breath of fresh air in terms of beats, delivery, and the genius lyrics. Some may complain they only rap about the dope game and hoes; however, it's done on such a personal level that's its surprisingly original. This is the benchmark album for the year. Cop it so they don't have to resort to watered down lyrics or beef stunts to move units on their next album. Expand
  72. jschut
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    Best rap album of 2006, it took forever, but it is worth it. GET IT GET IT GET IT
  73. rye
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    I think that rob guy who gave Clipse a 4 is an idiot to reducing Clipse's admirers as "white ppl." Especially when vibe gave it 80 and it got a XXL rating. But the most ignorant thing about that comment is the idea that mainstream rap isn't marketed to white ppl. U think none of the 5 million ppl that bought 50 Cent's album were white? How else can u explain R&B bullshit I think that rob guy who gave Clipse a 4 is an idiot to reducing Clipse's admirers as "white ppl." Especially when vibe gave it 80 and it got a XXL rating. But the most ignorant thing about that comment is the idea that mainstream rap isn't marketed to white ppl. U think none of the 5 million ppl that bought 50 Cent's album were white? How else can u explain R&B bullshit and Bubble gum-rap he puts on albums? Respect Clipse...and Ghostface Expand
  74. JDilla
    Dec 19, 2006
    9
    ONE of the best of 06, not the best though. If you want some really special beats, flows, lyrical content, and an overall great CD, buy it. All the haters must like country, this is undeniably a great album.
  75. MrMan
    Dec 24, 2006
    9
    If you were a big fan of Lord Willin, the first time you hear this album, you may be disappointed. But after listening to it a few times, you'll realize its just as good if not better. Pusha T and Malice simply KILL the beats that Pharrell gives them. I can't even decide which song is my favourite. Although there isn't a clear club floor banger like Grindin' or If you were a big fan of Lord Willin, the first time you hear this album, you may be disappointed. But after listening to it a few times, you'll realize its just as good if not better. Pusha T and Malice simply KILL the beats that Pharrell gives them. I can't even decide which song is my favourite. Although there isn't a clear club floor banger like Grindin' or When's the Last Time?, the album overall is more cohesive. The beats are grimey, the lyrics are sick (Malice is RIDICULOUS on this album), best album of 2006 IMO. If you don't like this album, you really don't know hip-hop. Go and listen to that dirty south s**t. Expand
  76. ChadS.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Very lyrical, with awesome crazy beats. Those that are saying this album isn't clever, I bet you listen to that Soulja Boy garbage. "I'm on touch with the keys, move over Alicia" has 3 puns in itself. The only downside to this album is that again all they rap about is coke, although that is the case, they keep finding new and better ways to talk about it which makes it all the Very lyrical, with awesome crazy beats. Those that are saying this album isn't clever, I bet you listen to that Soulja Boy garbage. "I'm on touch with the keys, move over Alicia" has 3 puns in itself. The only downside to this album is that again all they rap about is coke, although that is the case, they keep finding new and better ways to talk about it which makes it all the more better. Expand
  77. Aoi
    Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Amazing album. The Neptune's production on this thing is fun and incredibly well done. It has a particular sounds to it that has certified it's classification as a classic.
  78. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    Why is it okay for african-americans to be racist and say "Only white people like this album"? If a white person said "only black people can;t understand this music", it would be racist. So, please, drop the double standards and racism. Good music is good music. Kanye and Earl are both big fans of this albums so it doesn't hold up to scrutiny either. But maybe they're not "black enough"...
  79. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    The absolute pinnacle of street music. Pusha and Malice are mean, lean, and starkly self-aware. All 12 tracks are beautifully produced by The Neptunes. On these beautifully hideous beats, the duo embrace their own ugly side as they trade verses about women, clothes, family, and hustling. As they cover about everything but themselves on Hell Hath no Fury, it makes you start to think there'sThe absolute pinnacle of street music. Pusha and Malice are mean, lean, and starkly self-aware. All 12 tracks are beautifully produced by The Neptunes. On these beautifully hideous beats, the duo embrace their own ugly side as they trade verses about women, clothes, family, and hustling. As they cover about everything but themselves on Hell Hath no Fury, it makes you start to think there's a reason. Expand
  80. May 8, 2014
    8
    The first standout are the quirky, junique beats. Then its Pusha T all over em, killin it. No Malice is solid, as they compliment each other well. No filler found. Each song is different, and yet it doesn't clash or seem scrambled.
  81. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    9.2/10................................................................................................................................................
  82. Apr 11, 2015
    9
    9/10 .................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 80
    It's ghetto viciousness as literary exercise--an episode of The Wire with a better soundtrack. [Nov 2006, p.142]
  2. The best hip-hop album of 2006.
  3. There's a cold efficiency in how the Clipse delivers songs built on street-corner cockiness and billfold bluster. It's all shamelessly amoral, but the Clipse wouldn't be such savvy hustlers if they didn't know how to sling with style.