Here Lies Love - David Byrne & Fatboy Slim
Here Lies Love Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: David Byrne works with Fatboy Slim for his concept album about the life of the former First Lady of the Philippines, Imelda Marcos. The two-disc set includes singers such as Tori Amos, Steve Earle, Sharon Jones, Cyndi Lauper, Natalie Merchant, Allison Moorer, Santigold, St. Vincent, Martha Wainwright, and Florence Welch. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. It's a conceptually fascinating piece, but does it groove? Mostly yes. Though nothing here sounds like a future club hit, and some tracks feel more essential to the album's narrative than others, Here Lies Love has more going for it than museum-piece fascination.
  2. Luckily, scholarship doesn't eclipse the limber, catchy music and the sheer nuttiness of the whole project.
  3. And while the story hangs together quite well, the main impression you are left with is that Byrne and Slim have impeccable taste in female singers.
  4. The hitch in the album is the hit-or-miss probability of the listener connecting with the quizzical story, wrought in obscurity.
  5. Here David Byrne turns an unwieldy premise--a musical dramatization of former Philippines first lady Imelda Marcos' early life--into dizzy fun by setting 22 songs to Fatboy Slim's lush and bustling dance beats.
  6. Pleasing yes, divine, occasionally--but Here Lies Love's strengths aren't enough to justify its bloated 22 tracks. [Spring 2010, p.69]
  7. Marcos' life was all luxury and color, but the songs don't translate. Here Lies Love will play in gay clubs, but for a collaboration between forward-thinkers like Byrne and Cook, it's pretty safe while also having no direction.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    This is an oddity in my collection, having come upon it from exploring some of Fatboy Slims lesser albums and compilations. Most music used to be based on stories and musings, so this is a really interesting and refreshing piece. It might not be the thumpiest bass rattling album to pick, but it is an easy to listen to, very flowing and unique album to have among any collection. Expand