User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 150

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. twisttwist
    Jun 7, 2004
    2
    Goddamn, this sucks. How many time canyou rip-off Coldplay?
  2. PaulS
    Aug 23, 2004
    1
    C'mon kids, try. You listen to this album and think "oh yes, that's pleasant." or "what a nice melody", and it's perfect to put on in the background. NO OF COURSE IT'S NOT. This is a thoroughly offensive album, with no variety (the no-guitar excuse is lame, Ben Folds Five were still creative, and anyway, why should we let them off for just using piano), utter melodic C'mon kids, try. You listen to this album and think "oh yes, that's pleasant." or "what a nice melody", and it's perfect to put on in the background. NO OF COURSE IT'S NOT. This is a thoroughly offensive album, with no variety (the no-guitar excuse is lame, Ben Folds Five were still creative, and anyway, why should we let them off for just using piano), utter melodic shallowness, but not as bad as the insincerity of the lyrics. They're nicely sung, but they're still ridiculous. Come on, this is not emotion, this is taunting. If you relate to these lyrics, well...well...well you're kidding yourself. They spout out the sort of words that people say "yeah, that's meaningful", but what do they exactly MEAN? They're meaningful without actually meaning or signifying anything. Of course, it sells well because it's terrible, further backing to the theory: The Worse The Music Is, The More People Will Buy It. Expand
  3. Aidank
    Sep 3, 2005
    0
    yawn. what a bore
  4. PresidentBush
    Jul 6, 2006
    3
    this album by keane was their first album and pretty bad for a first album with only a couple good songs like number 1 and 2 i think, no wait it was 3 and 4 so the only good songs were 1 3 and 4. i think the main reason that this album lacked the "push" of other albums is that there is only a bass player, singer, and keybordist. they need a guitar player and get one fast but it looks like this album by keane was their first album and pretty bad for a first album with only a couple good songs like number 1 and 2 i think, no wait it was 3 and 4 so the only good songs were 1 3 and 4. i think the main reason that this album lacked the "push" of other albums is that there is only a bass player, singer, and keybordist. they need a guitar player and get one fast but it looks like Keane already put out another not so good album. sure they have that one song by them on their new album that is being played on Mix 96.9 but i guarantee you that song will be off the radio in a couple of weeks just like how "Somewhere Only We Knoe" was on the radio for a couple weeks on Mix 96.9............ and they did get a little radio play which led some people like me to say "oh i like that song, i should check out this album" but i was very dissapointed at what the critics gave this album, but most of the users liked it so i still gave Keane a chance and got the album only to be dissapointed by a very mediocre album with only a couple good songs. So if youre the person who likes to get albums where the songs on it are good from beginning to end, i definately DO NOT recommend this album and keep the money for another album that is better than this one. If you did like this album though, you would have to explain to me how you liked most of these boring songs because i dont get how your opinions like this album. And as i was reading the reviews i saw somebody post a comment saying Keane was original. DUDE???? This band is not origional, these bands with no guitarists were out there and are still out there but they didnt get any airplay on the radio. I do give credit for the fact though that Keane wrote "Somewhere Only WE Know" and that got some airplay on the radio. The other bands with no guitarists just got no radio play so no one ever found out who the heck those bands were!!!!!! Expand
  5. NickD
    Jul 31, 2004
    2
    The main problem with this disc is apart from This Is The Last Time and Untitled I, all these tracks meld into a nothingness of sub-par Robbie Williams ballads and cheap rip-off Ultravox B-sides. If you buy this album, you are disqualified from the human race.
  6. bobb
    Mar 24, 2005
    3
    is there somthing original about this album, is it something new or differant? no its the same old crap that travis,coldplay and other such bands have been churning out for the last few years its bland and insipid, please stop it.
  7. PScott
    Jul 12, 2006
    3
    Most of the songs are bland and forgetful. I love Bedshaped, but thats about it.
  8. Chris
    Dec 5, 2005
    3
    Bland and redundant. One or two memorable songs mixed with boring paino tracks. A watered down coldplay.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. The 11 tracks on Hopes And Fears have an almost complete lack of soul and even distinction between one another.
  2. There isn't much variety on the disc, which many will find a bit thin after repeated spins, but there's no doubting the band's clean, confident sound.
  3. Mojo
    70
    Somewhere Only We Know is one of 2004's loveliest tunes, and while nothing else on their debut album quite matches this apogee of woebegone non-energy, there's plenty to keep the eyes welling up. [Jun 2004, p.116]