Hospice - The Antlers
Hospice Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second album for the Peter Silberman-led band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Hospice sits squarely in this camp, a heartbreaking aural experience that hits us on a deeper level.
  2. Brooklyn's latest greatest deliver heartbreaking concept album.
  3. This quintet of musicians are making a name for themselves and with Hospice, they have remarkably made one of 2009’s best albums.
  4. Somehow, the lighter Hospice gets, the heavier it hits.
  5. Hospice is a work of rare beauty and a watershed moment in The Antlers’ career.
  6. Silberman's compulsion to write these songs may have been cathartic for him, but listening to them is most certainly cathartic for all of us.
  7. 60
    This soaring album defines emotional shoegazing. [Dec 2009, p. 101]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. StephenW.
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    Amazing.
  2. Dec 31, 2014
    10
    It's more than a bunch of songs; it's a complete work of art, a story, a life, a new and aural experience. Few albums had such impact in myIt's more than a bunch of songs; it's a complete work of art, a story, a life, a new and aural experience. Few albums had such impact in my life so as to change it significantly: Hospice is one of them. It's simply magic. Expand
  3. pauld
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Absolutely stunning album! Better than anything I've heard in years..... a cinch for album of 2009. What a talented band!!!
  4. NathanielT
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Sometimes I struggle not to cry when listening to this. Perhaps I'm not so cynical after all, or perhaps this is just incredibly powerful?
  5. May 29, 2011
    10
    I heard about The Antlers, because a review had said they were similar to Arcade Fire, so I had to check them out. Turns out they haveI heard about The Antlers, because a review had said they were similar to Arcade Fire, so I had to check them out. Turns out they have completely different styles, both of which I love. This album is absolutely stunning, and my favourite track has to be Kettering. Expand
  6. MatheusB.
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    This album really reaches in and delivers a personal experience that you will be willing to repeat. First listened to it while trying to This album really reaches in and delivers a personal experience that you will be willing to repeat. First listened to it while trying to sleep and kept listening for a whole week. The songs have this calm flow-like feeling so that you don't bother which track you're at while listening to the entire album and keepsyou wondering. My fav. album of 2009 til now. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    0
    Any album that can deliver such intense emotions to the listener deserves a 10/10. Never heard anything more emotionally affecting thanAny album that can deliver such intense emotions to the listener deserves a 10/10. Never heard anything more emotionally affecting than Hospice by The Antlers. Collapse

See all 46 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.