• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Jun 15, 2004
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 326

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. robert
    Sep 12, 2004
    5
    I like the drumming, and the bass lines. On some of the tracks. I think Jenny and Brightside are pretty decent songs. Thats about it for positive comments.
  2. Oligami
    Sep 11, 2007
    6
    If nothing else, they're a singles band.
  3. AndrewS
    May 29, 2005
    6
    A decent pop album but a little thin and will become boring after a few listens.
  4. ChelseaD
    May 8, 2005
    5
    The album gets worse the more you listen to it. Riding off the 80s revival Wave (ha, I made a pun!), The Killers are the worst of the bunch. Half the songs sound like the same song on repeat, and while none of them are particularly bad, but not are particularly great either. It's as if The Killers have resigned themselves to being a mediocre pop band. The Somebody Told Me EP was much The album gets worse the more you listen to it. Riding off the 80s revival Wave (ha, I made a pun!), The Killers are the worst of the bunch. Half the songs sound like the same song on repeat, and while none of them are particularly bad, but not are particularly great either. It's as if The Killers have resigned themselves to being a mediocre pop band. The Somebody Told Me EP was much , much better, and if you want to hear what The Killers COULD'VE sounded like, go download "Under The Gun" and "Ballad of Michael Valentine." Expand
  5. BenS
    Sep 23, 2005
    5
    After two stunning singles in 'smile like you mean it' and 'mr brightside' in was frankly dissapointed with the album. 'Andy your a star' and 'smile like you mean it', were still great indie songs but soon began to grate while 'glamorous indie rock and roll' is frankly embarrasing. Patchy.
  6. MichaelC
    Oct 11, 2006
    6
    The Killers pulled off a solid debut. Hot Fuss could have been exceptional, if it weren't for the second half, which is almost unlistenable. The music flows well, and, out of all of the 80s New Wave revival jokes, err, sorry bands to release albums, The Killers are definitely the best.
  7. AndrewG
    Jun 29, 2006
    6
    The Killers have produced three of the best singles in recent times in Mr Brightside, All These Things that Ive Done and Somebody Told Me and there are two or three more tracks here that live up to that standard...but the album is perhaps weighed down by a lack of direction. Promising debut though
  8. Schmit
    Jan 27, 2008
    6
    Not especially interesting music, some catchy singles, but that's all.
  9. Feb 4, 2016
    6
    Interesting use of synths to support the guitar leads and bass lines but production that at times does not do some the sound any justice. opens very strong with catchy grooves but the second half simply does not deliver. would of been perfect as an EP of 5 or 6 tracks
  10. Aug 8, 2017
    6
    Although I believe there are a lot of standout tracks to come out of this album, including my personal favorite ''Somebody Told Me'', I have a feeling that the album contains two parts. Part A which is a masterpiece, and Part B that starts at ''On Top'' which is really subpar. I didn't dislike the entire album, only part of it.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Most of Hot Fuss slides by without creating much of a stir, but it's got too many memorable moments to be written off.
  2. Blender
    80
    They're not the first--or even the fifteenth--recent band to draw on that era [of the 1980s], but they're among the most assured. [#27, p.138]
  3. What's most shocking about Hot Fuss, though, is how, after five sensational songs, the rest of the album completely implodes, as the other six tracks get weighed down by too much production, a lack of memorable hooks, and some inexplicable musical touches that may have sounded clever in the studio, but wind up sounding disastrous on the CD.