How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb

by
How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 383 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The band's first new album since 2000, a more stripped-down, "classic U2" disc than previous efforts, was recorded chiefly with producer Steve Lillywhite, with Chris Thomas and Nellee Hooper also helming some tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    A slower album than most, Bomb eventually reveals itself as a work of genius, wrapping religion, love and life into emotionally thrilling gifts.
  2. Unabashedly grand and inspirational.
  3. Filter
    82
    So here we have another U2 album that's just as good as the last one. In fact, it's really good. [#13, p.88]
  4. How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb may be unadventurous and melodramatic, but it is packed with disarming moments.
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    From the arrangements to the inevitable crashing-wave crescendos, echoes of "I Will Follow" and "New Year's Day" rumble through the songs. [26 Nov 2004, p.115]
  6. It's neither aggressive nor retro, and U2 sounds better for moving forward, even if they seem increasingly diluted in delivery at times.
  7. Suffers from too much open-faced honesty and a serious lack of intensity.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 248
  1. joeyd
    Dec 18, 2004
    10
    A true masterpiece, Bono sounds young, powerful and refreshed. This album takes a step back to classic U2 and at the same time takes a step A true masterpiece, Bono sounds young, powerful and refreshed. This album takes a step back to classic U2 and at the same time takes a step forward. Is louder and harder than their last album. It is All that u cant leave behind done right and done much better. One of their best albums although it takes multiple listens to grow on you but any U2 fan will agree all U2 albums take time to grow. an impressive album and is up there with actung baby Expand
  2. Garry
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    people listen to COBL, Crumbs, ABOY brilliant thing deserve to be on of their best albums
  3. ZackD
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    I will offer my thoughts: If, by chance, you gave this album a 0 or a 1, I read your review. I am astonished by how so many people could miss I will offer my thoughts: If, by chance, you gave this album a 0 or a 1, I read your review. I am astonished by how so many people could miss the point. I don't know where so many of you got this crap about "selling out" and being in it for the money. If U2 wanted to sell out, they would certainly be making a lot more than they are right now. Do you realize that they didn't accept money for the iPod spot? Performances at awards ceremonies don't mean you are a sellout. If this album was produced for the sheer goal of making more money for the members of U2, they wouldn't have spend 5 years crafting it. They could release crappy albums every year and a half if they wanted and they'd make more money. Instead they put time and effort into what I believe stands as one of their greatest achievements. No, maybe not a Joshua Tree or an Achtung Baby, but certainly third on my list. Its track listing begins by painting a scene of fear and helplessness. The singer finds himself in this dizzying place called vertigo, scared, alone. He is captivated by a cross around a girl's neck. Tracks 2, 3, and 4 show hope for the miracle science we do not have yet, meditation over dead loved ones, and pleading for peace in a world gone wrong, respectively. The album soon begins to find the positive aspects of life in love, family, contentedness, and, finally, God. While the beginning presents this problem, this "atomic bomb," representative of the worst of humanity's fears, the end of the album presents the solution: love. One must kneel before love and they will find comfort and hope. The music itself is perhaps not sonically as revolutionary a departure from the previous album as most U2 fans are used to, admittedly. But this doesn't take the album down at all. I simply think it is on the same sonic plane without repeating the same sounds. Overall, my favorite album of 2004/2005 easily. Expand
  4. DaveM
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    Great album by a great band.
  5. JP
    Jul 17, 2006
    7
    Overall, this album is very good. Crumbs" "OOTS" and "COBL" are songs that stand out. Although I like this album, It is obvious that U2 has Overall, this album is very good. Crumbs" "OOTS" and "COBL" are songs that stand out. Although I like this album, It is obvious that U2 has re-hashed material from their earlier albums. The melodies and hooks are beautiful and appealing, but U2 has taken a very safe approach to writing the music for this album. The lyrics are heartfelt, open, and honest. Aside from the song vertigo, I feel that this is a very personal album from Bono. Musically, the edge, larry, and adam have not pushed themselves. Part of the journey in making music is to constantly explore, grow, and re-invent not only lyrically, but musically too. I hope for their next album, U2 take inspiration from "achtung baby" to re-invent their sound and push the envelope. Can they do it again? I hope so. They are damn well capable. I also hope they will work with Rick Rubin on their next album to help guide them to that next level. Expand
  6. Steve
    Nov 23, 2004
    3
    the moments of past charm are lost. a predictably inconsistant cd that has become U2's trademark. difficult to listen to from start to finish.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Nov 24, 2004
    0
    I used to love U2 so much. I'm not sure if I've wised up or if they have descended into the realms of the retarded. This album is I used to love U2 so much. I'm not sure if I've wised up or if they have descended into the realms of the retarded. This album is junk. While some of the tunes are OK, Bono's lyrics are a series of painful couplets that with have you reaching for the crack pipe to drown it all out. Expand

See all 248 User Reviews