• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2005
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 176

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2015
    10
    I have to say, being a new Daft Punk fan I went into this album after Random Access Memories, in other words high expectations. In all truth...I actually liked this more then any music I have previously heard from them, Robot Rock has this simple yet elegant beat that just makes you want to move and makes you really feel like at the time it was the future of music. When I look at theI have to say, being a new Daft Punk fan I went into this album after Random Access Memories, in other words high expectations. In all truth...I actually liked this more then any music I have previously heard from them, Robot Rock has this simple yet elegant beat that just makes you want to move and makes you really feel like at the time it was the future of music. When I look at the critic section my heart drops to a new low, I sincerely love this album and can't stop listening to it. This album is one that a car stereo does not do justice and headphones are the best thing to be used for listening to the album. In my opinion this is the peak they have reached and sadly I think that RAM is actually not as good. Great album, incredible thought process, and the beats are lean and mean. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Seeing the yellow tinge of average surrounding the mediocre score of this album surprises me, and frankly, most of the reviewers and critics who delivered a poor score on this album probably listened to it once and disregarded it automatically. One who sees a mere 57 out of 100 rating on an album would surely give it a miss - a mistake that many have made. Simply put, this album, whileSeeing the yellow tinge of average surrounding the mediocre score of this album surprises me, and frankly, most of the reviewers and critics who delivered a poor score on this album probably listened to it once and disregarded it automatically. One who sees a mere 57 out of 100 rating on an album would surely give it a miss - a mistake that many have made. Simply put, this album, while almost half the length of their first album and considerably shorter than their second, is a gem that deserves much warmer recognition it has now gained. A track like "Robot Rock" may be tiresome to sit through for some, but that song is an anthem. It is a rewarding listen. "Steam Machine" tinges with the whisper of the eponymous track title, darkening the album's tone further; and lighter tracks "Make Love" and "Emotion" show that Daft Punk can create a song in any positive or negative tone, and any genre they see fit.
    In my opinion, then, "Human After All" is yet another flying-colours pass by the French duo.
    Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    When i heard this album for the first time i couldn't believe how bad it was. I felt like daft punk became lazy. Now, after listening to this for a few more times, my opinion radically changed and i actually see this as one of the best albums i've ever heard. It's not all good though; take "steam machine" for example. You've heard enough already before the beat kicks in. It's the same withWhen i heard this album for the first time i couldn't believe how bad it was. I felt like daft punk became lazy. Now, after listening to this for a few more times, my opinion radically changed and i actually see this as one of the best albums i've ever heard. It's not all good though; take "steam machine" for example. You've heard enough already before the beat kicks in. It's the same with "the brainwasher". But it's the masterpieces that make this album so great. And with masterpieces, i'm talking about song like the title track, "technologic" and "prime time of your life". They've really grown to me now. What i like as well, is that everything sounds so spontaneous. Behind all the robotic effects, it sounds more human than anything i hear on the radio right now.
    They only thing i don't like, is that it's so short. 9 tracks? Come on, i wanted more of this awesomeness!
    Expand
  4. May 26, 2013
    9
    Human After All is a piece of incomprehensible art made music; it's a classic of experimental electronic music that after being rejected at first, became one of those rare gems that people still jam, no mater how old they are. Human After All may be very far from the definition of human, but that just enlightens its dark nature, and its vast potential.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Humongously underrated album. I'd take this album over Homework any day. Beat and builds that rival anything the duo had put together previously and a melodic melancholy I love getting lost in.
  6. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Human After All is an excellent album by one of the best artists that have ever existed. Maybe is not as good as its predecessor, but in my opinion at the same place as Homework, this record shows to the world what is real electronic music. Because a lot of people thinks that this dance-pop parasites and the awful remixes of their songs are electro. Nothing as far as reality. Human AfterHuman After All is an excellent album by one of the best artists that have ever existed. Maybe is not as good as its predecessor, but in my opinion at the same place as Homework, this record shows to the world what is real electronic music. Because a lot of people thinks that this dance-pop parasites and the awful remixes of their songs are electro. Nothing as far as reality. Human After All is the perfect example of this. Beginning with a masterpiece, the title track is simply awesome, one of the best Daft Punk songs. Prime Time Of Your Life is a strange song, with a lot of industrial music, but still cool. And then, Robot Rock. Epic. How, with a single riff, create something as brilliant. The best song of the CD. Steam Machine is the same story of the second track, but this kind of songs rules and make us see that DP is a very original band. Make Love is the opposite. A calmed song, with a single riff, but that really fits with the concept of art. Absolutely great. The Brainwasher is a great song to, direct to the spirit, effective. On/Off is only an introduction for what comes next, the best song with Robot Rock, Television Rules The Nation. Describe how amazing it is is impossible. Technologic is a fun song, that improves as it progresses. And the last song, Emotion, is a calmed song with a lot of feeling. In conclusion, a great album. Maybe some parts are repetitive, but who cares. It's Daft Punk, and Human After All is one of the tops of music in the 21st century. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Human After All is a bit of a mixed bag for me. I don't really agree with all the atrocious reviews for it, but I can understand what these critics are trying to say. Most of the tracks don't really go anywhere. It's like the chorus the whole song. Some are catchy the whole way through, others are just a bit annoying after a bit. All In All, Daft Punk's Discovery was brilliant, but HumanHuman After All is a bit of a mixed bag for me. I don't really agree with all the atrocious reviews for it, but I can understand what these critics are trying to say. Most of the tracks don't really go anywhere. It's like the chorus the whole song. Some are catchy the whole way through, others are just a bit annoying after a bit. All In All, Daft Punk's Discovery was brilliant, but Human After All could 've been so much better. C+ Expand
  8. Evan
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    It's the sound of genius. Try listening to it again!
  9. SaverC.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    under s timated
  10. Stafford
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    This album is a bit of shameful point for me. Rarely do I listen to reviewers, but for some reason or another I did with this one. I think it was the universal critial panning of the album that let me to ignore it for so long. For almost a year after it was released I went merrily on my way, driving around late at night with "Discovery" still cemented into my CD player. By some odd stroke This album is a bit of shameful point for me. Rarely do I listen to reviewers, but for some reason or another I did with this one. I think it was the universal critial panning of the album that let me to ignore it for so long. For almost a year after it was released I went merrily on my way, driving around late at night with "Discovery" still cemented into my CD player. By some odd stroke of fate though, this began wriggling its way into my life track by track. First one track, then two, and once I was up to three tracks that I really found amazing, I asked myself what the reviewers were blabbering about. So I began listening to it in its entirety. Since then the album has creeped its way into my subconcious. I'll find myself listening to something else and then, without even thinking change it to "Human After All." Certain facets of all those negative reviews are true. It is simpler and darker than "Discovery." But almost all of the negative statements made by the reviewers have ultimately become why I completely have become obsessed with this album. There are few albums in the recent past that I find myself thinking about the day, wishing I was listeing to it. It works on both a "headphone" level as well as purely in the background. I honestly can't put into words why this album has taken a hold of me as it has. But if you go into this not expecting "Discovery Deux" it becomes an extremely addictive and ultimately rewarding album. Whereas "Discovery" was the consolidation of 30 years of dance music into one cohesive brilliant statement, "Human After All" is future music. It's uncomprimising and like nothing you've really heard before. Brilliant in both its simplicity and complexity, the album confounds in the best of ways and presents plac ein music where computers begin to have emotion. Expand
  11. CharlesM
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    Ever since I heard Daft Punk's "Around the World" I have been entranced by their incredible ability to create great music time and time again. Whenever someone mentions techno, I automatically think of Daft Punk. This album, if anything, makes me think of them even more highly (if that were possible). They're innovative, provacative, and above all else, they have a gift. A+++!
  12. DaveM
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    If anyone should know better than to listen to critics, its every person who's ever gone to a movie, or listened to a new album, or played a new game which they absolutely adored, only to be bashed down by some nutjob who looks for the "code" or the "formula" of all the mainstream garbage thats out there. And who says it has to be exactly like their previous work? I absolutely love If anyone should know better than to listen to critics, its every person who's ever gone to a movie, or listened to a new album, or played a new game which they absolutely adored, only to be bashed down by some nutjob who looks for the "code" or the "formula" of all the mainstream garbage thats out there. And who says it has to be exactly like their previous work? I absolutely love this album, because its so original and different from what they've done before, yet it still carries that Daft Punkish-air. Its "chilling" music...something thats to be played in the car, or in the background of some club. You don't listen to electronic music like you would pop or hip-hop. Its soaking in the feeling of the music itself, and the subtle changes in its rhythm. Its not repedetiveness...its mixing, tweaking and capitalizing on a single catchy beat. Don't critique it like you would a new Nickelback album, or the latest R&B rehash of "my boyfriends cheating" or "guys in over-sized jerseys like to look at me while I shake my butt". As for Human After All, the Daft Punk duo give us a welcomed break from the cookie-cutting, formulaic problem that is today's music industry. Thank God that music distribution wasn't up to these "Music Critics". We'd all be mindlessly conforming to one mindset of what music is...oh wait, its already been done! Expand
  13. carlosa
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    critics are wrong....if you just listen to it and take it for what it is you'll see how focused and powerful daft punk is on human after all
  14. JayA
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    Daft Punk delivers yet again with a stylus of music that can both recede into your background subconscious and at the same moment push itself forward until it is all that fills your head, blasting its technatronic melody into your unprotected face. It's ironic humor and robotically produced structure is as enjoyable as it is intriguing. If computers could make music, it would be Daft Punk.
  15. DaftPunk
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    The ratings are obviously wrong, so much with trying to get a 10 scale going for music when "it's good" means a 6. This album is great, albeit nothing new but obviously so much better than stuff released these days. Like new episodes of the Simpsons, they might not be classics but still outclass the rest of the crap on TV. If you like the previous albums you won't be The ratings are obviously wrong, so much with trying to get a 10 scale going for music when "it's good" means a 6. This album is great, albeit nothing new but obviously so much better than stuff released these days. Like new episodes of the Simpsons, they might not be classics but still outclass the rest of the crap on TV. If you like the previous albums you won't be disappointed, if you don't know what to expect it may give you a little surprise. Expand
  16. MikeM
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    I have never heard of daft punk before....but this album is mindblowingly awesome. Dont listen to the so-called critics who seem to be clones of themselves. They are the monotonous robots.
  17. CarlosP
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    An ironic and self effacing examination of the current state of music in our society.
  18. YoshikoK.
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    If ya like Daft Punk, and electronic musicians who are like them, you'll love this album. From odd vocals that are fun to listen to, and cool guitar lines that you can't get outta your head. All I have left to to say: Encore!
  19. MattW.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    I for one love Daft Punk's individuality in the techno/ dance world and I have to say that this cd is awesome! I listen to rock (heavy metal which has a lot of guitars) and so the mainly guitar laden CD had me hooked from the first second of Human After All. Ever since I got this new cd I haven't stopped listening to it (until I go to sleep). Not all of the songs I like on this I for one love Daft Punk's individuality in the techno/ dance world and I have to say that this cd is awesome! I listen to rock (heavy metal which has a lot of guitars) and so the mainly guitar laden CD had me hooked from the first second of Human After All. Ever since I got this new cd I haven't stopped listening to it (until I go to sleep). Not all of the songs I like on this cd have guitars in them though. I aboslutely HATED Technologic until I heard the trance background hit it, then I realized that Daft Punk was the connection between my two favorite kinds of music: rock and techno. I have to say that some of their hit songs I never liked, but this new cd blew me away. It's almost perfect in the mixing of guitars, estranged vocals, and cool techno backgrounds. I have all 3 of their cds (I don't consider Alive in 1997 to be an album) and I have to say this cd was overall my favorite except for the fact that the cover art and the booklet were pathetically designed, colored, and all that good stuff (not to mention the cd is all black which made it kinda hard to read.) Oh and they could do with never channel surfing on a cd again, lol. Expand
  20. ReggieS
    May 3, 2005
    9
    A few weeks ago i saw a picture of the new cover for Daft Punk's most recent release, ''Human After A;;'' in a circular in the news paper. Naturally at the prospect of new music from by far my favorite band i HAD to buy the CD! Immediately upon listening to the 1st track also titled ''Human After All'' I fell in love with Daft Punk all over A few weeks ago i saw a picture of the new cover for Daft Punk's most recent release, ''Human After A;;'' in a circular in the news paper. Naturally at the prospect of new music from by far my favorite band i HAD to buy the CD! Immediately upon listening to the 1st track also titled ''Human After All'' I fell in love with Daft Punk all over again. ''Human'' is still my favorite song after all these weeks. ''The Prime Time of Your Life'' really delivers an excellent and innovative song but after the 4th track with the exception of tracks 4 and 9 the CD seems to slip for me. Expand
  21. aland
    Apr 16, 2005
    9
    i've yet to find it, really, but i'm convinced there's something really fucking cool about it that makes me want to put it on againa nd again
  22. [Anonymous]
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    im a fan of them so i vote 10 the albums fine
  23. JackS
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Daft Punk should gain the respect they deserve for this album! I bought it with high expectations and I felt I was thoroughly rewarded! I listen to Daft Punk for their own creative perspective on music, that I simply can't get enough of! The only thing that may discourage me is the fact there aren't more songs on the album (i.e. Discovery). Overall though, the album delivers Daft Punk should gain the respect they deserve for this album! I bought it with high expectations and I felt I was thoroughly rewarded! I listen to Daft Punk for their own creative perspective on music, that I simply can't get enough of! The only thing that may discourage me is the fact there aren't more songs on the album (i.e. Discovery). Overall though, the album delivers signature Daft Punk magic at its best!!! Expand
  24. tagadam
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    good
  25. DavidD
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    I don't know what everyone is fussing about. It seems to me that half of the reviewers say "Boring, Repetitive, Rubbish". and the other half say "Fantastic Statement of the Dullness of rock today". Well it's neither I think. You can't top discovery with the same style, It stood on its own as unique. And this album is a new direction, with some similar undertones to I don't know what everyone is fussing about. It seems to me that half of the reviewers say "Boring, Repetitive, Rubbish". and the other half say "Fantastic Statement of the Dullness of rock today". Well it's neither I think. You can't top discovery with the same style, It stood on its own as unique. And this album is a new direction, with some similar undertones to discovery. But it is a worthy addition to the daft punk cd collection, because just like their other albums, the more times you listen, the more you will "Tune in" to the Daft Punk wavelength. And that is a beautiful thing. To be fair, Human After All should be judged on its own, I'm lining it up neatly with my Air Moon Safari cd, and my Les Rhythm Digitalles Dark Dancer albums on my cd shelf.... ;) Expand
  26. NikG
    Mar 28, 2005
    9
    If you don't like dance/techno don't get it, otherwise YES!!!
  27. simianprince
    Mar 27, 2005
    10
    God creates man, man creates computer, computer creates Daft Punk. Don't be so quick to judge, try to listen.
  28. PhilD
    Mar 23, 2005
    9
    Excellent , Daft Punk have done it again, Discovery was one of my favorite albums but this has blown the socks off it. The Human after All album is an evolution of their previous work.... 10/10 i love it.....
  29. EricE
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    I just can't stop listening to this great album. It's even better in the car, and damnit, its just one of the best new sounds ive heard in a boring wanna-be genre of music for the past few years. Daft Punk has done it again --- don't listen to the morons who think that Daft Punk is going to remake another One More Time or Aerodynamic. THIS TYPE OF MUSIC DOESNT WORK LIKE I just can't stop listening to this great album. It's even better in the car, and damnit, its just one of the best new sounds ive heard in a boring wanna-be genre of music for the past few years. Daft Punk has done it again --- don't listen to the morons who think that Daft Punk is going to remake another One More Time or Aerodynamic. THIS TYPE OF MUSIC DOESNT WORK LIKE THAT. Evolution? You bet. Sucks? Yeah, a few tracks are lazy, but give it time and listen through it over and over. I thought Steam Machine sucked the first time I listened to it, and its the first song that I play in my car riding with my friends. Expand
  30. TimC
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    It's been great to hear some positive views of a fantastic album. I was getting a bit overwhelmed by ignorant reviews that somehow expected this inovative pair to churd out a few more predictable tunes. I found this album unfolding as I listened to it over and over. Read the Stylus review. Human After All is less a collection of radio-frinedly tunes than it is a humourous insight It's been great to hear some positive views of a fantastic album. I was getting a bit overwhelmed by ignorant reviews that somehow expected this inovative pair to churd out a few more predictable tunes. I found this album unfolding as I listened to it over and over. Read the Stylus review. Human After All is less a collection of radio-frinedly tunes than it is a humourous insight into the state of popular music today. Collapse
  31. Pppfffttttt
    Mar 19, 2005
    9
    Human After All is definately a Gestaltist phenomenom; the nature of which can not be revealed by simply analyizing the parts that make it up. I agree that song for song it seems less brilliant and inspired than previous efforts but as a whole (sic) it rocks harder and shorter (let's face it, Homework plays 2 tracks past its bedtime). Like the other guy just said: "Don't sit in Human After All is definately a Gestaltist phenomenom; the nature of which can not be revealed by simply analyizing the parts that make it up. I agree that song for song it seems less brilliant and inspired than previous efforts but as a whole (sic) it rocks harder and shorter (let's face it, Homework plays 2 tracks past its bedtime). Like the other guy just said: "Don't sit in front of the speakers and wait for something to happen." Daft Punk are doing what all good artists do...getting people talking about art! Expand
  32. cesard
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    give it some time
  33. TheSquigs
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    Man, people over analyze music way to much. Just put the CD on, and do what you would normally do when you enjoy music. DON'T SIT IN FRONT OF THE SPEAKERS AND WAIT FOR SOMETHING TO HAPPEN! Who are you? A critic who writes reviews for a living? Odds are, probably not.
  34. CraigO
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    Brilliant!
  35. DhirenM
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    Great album-maybe because im a huge fan but its what i wanted to here
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Dominated by overly repetitive, lumbering throwaways. [18 Mar 2005, p.68]
  2. Apparently knocked off in just six weeks, Daft Punk's third album sounds like it took six days. Six short days. With long lunches.
  3. 50
    Feels desultory and numb, verging on autistic. [Apr 2005, p.116]