• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2005
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 201

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. wmm
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Great stuff from a big star
  2. Ace
    Feb 18, 2006
    8
    It kills me how there are so many idiotic morons who give a bad grade to an album they've never even taken the time to listen to!!! That is just downright stupid!!! People are jeolous of Ashlee because of her family!!! Plain and simple! I dare of the idiots to actually listen to this album and then give it a bad grade! What a bunch of morons!
  3. EdwardH
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    This is easily the best album I have eva heard, I mean eva. I have listened 2 it for three days straight already. I can't stop listening 2 it. I luv ashlee heaps. She's such an awesome singer. Her music is raw,true and very catchy. Great Work Ash!, keep em coming.
  4. DanielG
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    A superb offering from an unfairly abused artist.
  5. anaisl
    Nov 2, 2005
    8
    its pretty good, i must say. could be better but then again everything could be.
  6. BillyJoeLocke
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    OMFG I LUV ASHLEE WHY IS SHE RATESD SO LOW!!!! OMGSD IZZ SHE HERE!!! OMG!!! LETS BOUNCE!
  7. LauraBrooks
    Nov 2, 2005
    7
    I'd Walk a Mile for an Ashlee Simpson.
  8. SandieM
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Even better than the last one. How does she do it???
  9. LeelaJ
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Come on people, it's not that bad, not even close...
  10. Skarmory
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    I am not usually into this type of music, simpletons. I much prefer my classical, but I was sufficently delighted when I bought this album. I even gave it to my pet rat and he also loved it. He now wanks over Ashlee in his cage.
  11. juliocesare
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    la mayorparte de sus canciones son muy buenas aunque la cataloguen como un producto plastico, lo cual me parece una clasificacion estupida solo por ser hermana de jessica, ella realmente canta bien y su musica que la manejan como pop bien podria pasa como unas muy buenas canciones rock, es mas si grupos como green day reciben premios como grupo pop rock ashle realmente merece aparecer en la mayorparte de sus canciones son muy buenas aunque la cataloguen como un producto plastico, lo cual me parece una clasificacion estupida solo por ser hermana de jessica, ella realmente canta bien y su musica que la manejan como pop bien podria pasa como unas muy buenas canciones rock, es mas si grupos como green day reciben premios como grupo pop rock ashle realmente merece aparecer en esas categorias Expand
  12. EvanL
    Apr 1, 2006
    7
    Ashlee released this album, because she wanna prove to us she can sing i think she proved part of it but still this album does not lose her taste for ppl i dont think ppl want stars keep change style of music, and not showing their talent just like Britney spear the reason i give 7 is because she didnt show her full energy and it wasnt powerful like a STAR!! but she is a STAR!!!!! Ashlee released this album, because she wanna prove to us she can sing i think she proved part of it but still this album does not lose her taste for ppl i dont think ppl want stars keep change style of music, and not showing their talent just like Britney spear the reason i give 7 is because she didnt show her full energy and it wasnt powerful like a STAR!! but she is a STAR!!!!! let's just always be with our idol,student Expand
  13. MakedaS
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    This CD is packed with good lyrics and very catchy songs. I think she really grew up with the last song, which is slow but definately some powerful lyrics. Her voice is sweet and though she tries to sound tough in some songs, it just doesn't come out right. All in all, there was not one song I skipped. I loved the whole album. So please give her some credit. She is on her way if she This CD is packed with good lyrics and very catchy songs. I think she really grew up with the last song, which is slow but definately some powerful lyrics. Her voice is sweet and though she tries to sound tough in some songs, it just doesn't come out right. All in all, there was not one song I skipped. I loved the whole album. So please give her some credit. She is on her way if she just trains her voice a little more Expand
  14. beram
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    its cla i dont know why anyone dont not like it but i L.O.V.E. it
  15. adore77
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    I love this cd !
  16. MahaliaT
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Oh come on, this is good for what it is.... everyone is being overly harsh. Yeah she funked up on SNL last year but let's get over it. It's a top pop album and it's not boring at least.
  17. BenK
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    I love Ashlee's new album - "Catch Me When I Fall" is incredible.
  18. Melissam
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    AWESOME STUFF!!!!
  19. RachelT
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    i really lke ashlee simpson! her album i really good, dont hate her fr her snl thing, dis is great. i lov boyfriend and love and burnin up.
  20. JordanE
    Nov 2, 2005
    8
    Great album. Even better than the first. I wish she'd do crunk though. I love crunk. Do you love crunk? CRUNK!!!
  21. AmandaF
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    I, like, really like Ashlee! She's, like, so cool and this album is, like, one of the best evah! How totally phabulous!
  22. BryanA
    Nov 2, 2005
    7
    Pretty good album. Her voice sounds auto tuned on tracks and it's hoarse, but the tracks are good and single-worthy. "Beautifully Broken" and "Say Goodbye" are fantastic.
  23. karlaL
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    Definitely an improvement on the last album.
  24. LewisE
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    This album is good, it's not as good as her first album though, I really like "I Am Me".
  25. AmandaL
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    a gr8 albm lyk
  26. SammyLocke
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Best album EVAH and all my mates think so too
  27. FabianoJ
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    I like this cd it is how you say amazingo?
  28. Mels
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    how can people not enjoy this amazing album???
  29. KimberlyWalsh
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    I love Ashlee Simpson, as an aspiring singer who also has acid reflux, I know how it feels. I feel so bad about her whole SNL drama, it was so undeserved. She is wrongly abused by the media. The album is great and she should be seen by her music not just her singing ability. John Shanks produced her an amazing album, here.
  30. ThomasK
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    I am incredibly impressed with this album. I once hated Ashlee Simpson but it was clear when I bought this that I was too quick to judge her without giving her a chance. The album is absolutely harmless and is very nice. Songs like "Another Place To Fall" (my favourite on the album) and "I Am Me" are especially good. I think she really does not deserve the slack she gets for the SNL I am incredibly impressed with this album. I once hated Ashlee Simpson but it was clear when I bought this that I was too quick to judge her without giving her a chance. The album is absolutely harmless and is very nice. Songs like "Another Place To Fall" (my favourite on the album) and "I Am Me" are especially good. I think she really does not deserve the slack she gets for the SNL incident. She's not the only artist who mimes. Her sister Jessica may be more talented, but I know who I prefer without a doubt. Expand
  31. AdamNunn
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Why do I like this album so much? All my friends ask me why I love it, and go "Eww Ashlee" but the truth is, it's amazing. Despite her poor voice, the songs are either incredibly catchy or amazingly beautiful. "Catch Me When I Fall" is one of the prettiest songs I've ever heard, and "Say Goodbye" is amazing. On the uptempo side of the album, "In Another Life" is catchy as hell Why do I like this album so much? All my friends ask me why I love it, and go "Eww Ashlee" but the truth is, it's amazing. Despite her poor voice, the songs are either incredibly catchy or amazingly beautiful. "Catch Me When I Fall" is one of the prettiest songs I've ever heard, and "Say Goodbye" is amazing. On the uptempo side of the album, "In Another Life" is catchy as hell and although cheesy, it's a great song. "Eye Wide Open" is a mix between the two extremes. God bless Ashlee. Expand
  32. AshleeL
    Nov 3, 2005
    8
    I'm not gonna lie, i L.O.V.E ashlee simpson! And to be honest mainly because i feel as if we are the same person at times. Don't call me a loser yet, i know it sounds stupid. But i can relate to alot of her songs, such as "Beautifully Broken." I'll admit there are songs with a few cheesy lyrics (such as "...i wanna break the circle but the circle wont break." found in I'm not gonna lie, i L.O.V.E ashlee simpson! And to be honest mainly because i feel as if we are the same person at times. Don't call me a loser yet, i know it sounds stupid. But i can relate to alot of her songs, such as "Beautifully Broken." I'll admit there are songs with a few cheesy lyrics (such as "...i wanna break the circle but the circle wont break." found in "Coming back for more.") and sour sounds, but all together its a fun, deep, meaningful album with great "now" songs. While being a bit darker than her last album, which included more poppy-high-school-its-gonna-be-okay tracks, it still has some fun feels to it and some classic soul. I am gonna give her her props for just being able to make a new album and surviving after eveything that has happened to her. She's a strong and deep person with alot to say. And you can hear it all in "I Am Me." Expand
  33. LSmith
    Nov 30, 2005
    8
    I think people are hating her just to hate her. I think the songs on the CD are fun. I can sing a long in my car and I enjoy them. Isn't that what it;s about? Who cares about the Saturday Night Live incident? L.O.V.E. is a fun song for you and all your girls to dance to. I say, just cut the girl some slack. People crucify stars when they mess up. She is only 21! If you don't I think people are hating her just to hate her. I think the songs on the CD are fun. I can sing a long in my car and I enjoy them. Isn't that what it;s about? Who cares about the Saturday Night Live incident? L.O.V.E. is a fun song for you and all your girls to dance to. I say, just cut the girl some slack. People crucify stars when they mess up. She is only 21! If you don't like it, change the radio station. Expand
  34. SeanS
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    I personally love this CD. I listen to it everyday non-stop, in the car, on my ipod, at the gym and at home. There are catchy dance songs like, "Boyfriend," "L.O.V.E," and "Coming Back for More," as well as beautiful ballads like, "Catch Me When I Fall" and "Say Goodbye." And not to mention some great rock songs like, "In Another Life," and "I Am Me." The CD is very versitle, and I personally love this CD. I listen to it everyday non-stop, in the car, on my ipod, at the gym and at home. There are catchy dance songs like, "Boyfriend," "L.O.V.E," and "Coming Back for More," as well as beautiful ballads like, "Catch Me When I Fall" and "Say Goodbye." And not to mention some great rock songs like, "In Another Life," and "I Am Me." The CD is very versitle, and showcases many different music styles, theres definatly something for everyone. I really don't understand why people don't give Ashlee the credit she deserves. There's no doubt she has talent, you just have to give her a chance. I mean she did write or co-write all the songs on this CD. A definate must have for anyones collection. Expand
  35. JackE
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Greatest album I've ever heard, bar none.
  36. WangDuLu
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    I don't think you'll hear anything better this year.
  37. DavidValdes
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Ashlee's voices gets me really hot and bothered, she's a real mynx on this one!
  38. KatieK
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Anybody who gave this under 8/10 are just jealous of her success and need to get over the whole SNL thing.
  39. koko
    Nov 6, 2005
    7
    its ok but it wont be as good as her first cd i think.
  40. dane
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Ashlee rocks
  41. DeboA
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    This album is good regardless of what anyone with biases of the artiste has to say! In fairness to Ms. Simpson. I Am Me finds her more mature in more ways than one. U want a good party record that still has a soft, touching side; Get this! I love it!
  42. IAmMeFan
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    I LOVE THIS GOOD S**T! Think Meta needs to be careful not to be unfair in their total rating as well; if Blender gave the album 2/5 that would equate to 40/100 and not 30 as is posted. Please, let the process be as transparent and fair as possible!
  43. ShannonP
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    I love this CD. I can listen from start to finish and never be disappointed. I love her song writing. It's real and edgy. This is by far her better CD. Beautifully Broken and Say Goodbye are excellent:)
  44. FredR
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    I bought this CD for my 11 year-old nephew because I bought Autobiography for him and I wanted to surprise him with this one. Well, to my surprise he's not into Ashlee anymore. His loss! I put it on in my car and couldn't turn it off, it plays front to back and is very mature and intelligent. Ashlee performs these pop rockers with confidence and conviction, the production is I bought this CD for my 11 year-old nephew because I bought Autobiography for him and I wanted to surprise him with this one. Well, to my surprise he's not into Ashlee anymore. His loss! I put it on in my car and couldn't turn it off, it plays front to back and is very mature and intelligent. Ashlee performs these pop rockers with confidence and conviction, the production is brilliant, and I can't find any faults whatsoever. I'm a 37 year-old guy who listens to every genre of music, but I'm very picky within them. This disc is a bonafide rocker! My only wish is that Ashlee abandon all the MTV nonsense, ditch the kiddies, and pursue a career based on this fantastic music. She should be doing club gigs and building a rock fan base. Too bad she's a media puppet. Oh well, the disc stands on it's own. By the way, why do people review CDs that they obviously have not purchased and would never give a chance anyway? Reviewers like Toby Keith discredit this otherwise helpful site. Very immature. Expand
  45. GaryF
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    An amazing album. It is great to see Ashlee prove the doubters wrong with this great piece of pop rock.
  46. Bubblegum
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    Ashlee Simpson RMSO! She's TCFS! I Don't Know about you, but ever since she like totally lip sang, she's been famous! SHE'S TOTALLY MY BFF! OMG! She's So HOT! I'm HOT!
  47. TomB
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Its brilliant all the songs are are good
  48. janetteo
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    Obviously the morons rating this a 0 have never listened to it. Fantastic and fun. Not all music has to be pretentious.
  49. RachelM
    Nov 10, 2005
    8
    to "Mangle": who CARES if it's a "carefully marketed product"? I don't take music as seriously as you do, I want to listen to something that's just fun and catchy, I don't care about slow, boring arty alternative stuff like all the critics seem to. Are you saying we ALL have to like that kind of stuff and hate Ashlee? You have to get used to the fact that a lot of to "Mangle": who CARES if it's a "carefully marketed product"? I don't take music as seriously as you do, I want to listen to something that's just fun and catchy, I don't care about slow, boring arty alternative stuff like all the critics seem to. Are you saying we ALL have to like that kind of stuff and hate Ashlee? You have to get used to the fact that a lot of people like her. Expand
  50. MARYL
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    I bought this CD because I really liked the her first CD. I like this one even more. I feel bad that there are people out there that can't see beyond the SNL issue. If lip synching is so awful, then how is that Britney has gotten away with it and made her millions with little if any negative media attention? When compared to others like Lindsey or Hillary, there is real talent here I bought this CD because I really liked the her first CD. I like this one even more. I feel bad that there are people out there that can't see beyond the SNL issue. If lip synching is so awful, then how is that Britney has gotten away with it and made her millions with little if any negative media attention? When compared to others like Lindsey or Hillary, there is real talent here both in her voice and song writing talent. Expand
  51. ChristianV
    Nov 19, 2005
    8
    ok, i haven't heard all the songs in this album, but iuve already heard like 4 songs, and all are cool, not as goood as the first album, but are ok, and for the dudes and hores who doesn;t like ashlee, why do you put your opinions about hewr?, you guys doesn't have anything elese to do than getting bad critics for a person who you dont't like?, oh, and for the person that ok, i haven't heard all the songs in this album, but iuve already heard like 4 songs, and all are cool, not as goood as the first album, but are ok, and for the dudes and hores who doesn;t like ashlee, why do you put your opinions about hewr?, you guys doesn't have anything elese to do than getting bad critics for a person who you dont't like?, oh, and for the person that said that the "Gwen Stefani & Madonna" albums where greater than this one, well, ok, i know now why you don't like ashlee, 'cause madonna and Gwen really sucks, the are like, shity pop, and stupid pop. Expand
  52. jesso
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    i love it! dare i say... its actually really good! Boyfriend, l.o.v.e, coming back for more, are my personal faves but make no mistake- there are other really good ones!!. Even the songs i thought were filler grew on me. any1 who totally bagged this album without any real reason except 4 the fact she's ashlee simpson really frustr8 me!!.. tell me u hadn't already decided that i love it! dare i say... its actually really good! Boyfriend, l.o.v.e, coming back for more, are my personal faves but make no mistake- there are other really good ones!!. Even the songs i thought were filler grew on me. any1 who totally bagged this album without any real reason except 4 the fact she's ashlee simpson really frustr8 me!!.. tell me u hadn't already decided that she sucked b4 u even listened 2 it. -that's all the ppl who gave her a 0 or 1 or wateva. to be honest, I think you're all jumping on the lets-bag-ashlee-simpson-&-then-go-back-to-my-emo-music-which-is-pretty-much-the-same-type-of-music-to-ashlee's-but-since-they-sing-about-much-more-graphic-stuff-and-don't-wash-their-hair-then-they-must-make-better-music-and-are-totally-not-posers-boohoo-pop-culture-sux-coz-i-dont-fit-into-it- bandwagon. But yeah, a surprisingly good album. Expand
  53. humbertor
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    These reviews are all wrong. The cd is actually a lot better than her first cd. It took me a while to catch onto the hooks in Autobiography, however I Am Me had me from the first listen. It is catchy. It is good. The songs sounds similar to recent hits, But they hold their own. She has grown a lot. "In Another Life", "Coming Back For More", "Boyfriend", "Dancing Alone" are just some of These reviews are all wrong. The cd is actually a lot better than her first cd. It took me a while to catch onto the hooks in Autobiography, however I Am Me had me from the first listen. It is catchy. It is good. The songs sounds similar to recent hits, But they hold their own. She has grown a lot. "In Another Life", "Coming Back For More", "Boyfriend", "Dancing Alone" are just some of the good songs. Ashlee has grown and she is better than ever! Expand
  54. brendas
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    this is the best album i've listened 2! every song has something different to offer... it fun and exciting. I Am Me is much better than Autobiography. I personally like L.O.V.E, dancing alone and Beautifully broken
  55. jamest
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    i really really love this album and ALL the songs it wasbetta than autobiography which is hard to beat! and who eva said she doesnt write her own songs she does u idiot i think the haters r just jelous and sad ASHLEE U ROCK!!!
  56. tomm
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Look people, all i have to say is that i enjoy her music, its fun for me.end
  57. alexa
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Love ya ash
  58. jossm
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Hey guys why u hate her so bad???? let her be!!!!!! she likes to sings and i really like her style, no more to say. bye
  59. DanielN
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    I love the album ! I'm not a REAL Ashlee fans as i listened to all kind of music but I have to say this album gave me the vibe in musical sense ! The songs with her 'not-your-sweet-songbird' voice just perfectly matched together !! Personally recommended : Boyfriend, In Another Life, L.O.V.E, Coming Back For More, I Am Me, Catch Me When I Fall .. etc. Can't give it a I love the album ! I'm not a REAL Ashlee fans as i listened to all kind of music but I have to say this album gave me the vibe in musical sense ! The songs with her 'not-your-sweet-songbird' voice just perfectly matched together !! Personally recommended : Boyfriend, In Another Life, L.O.V.E, Coming Back For More, I Am Me, Catch Me When I Fall .. etc. Can't give it a '10' here as nothing is perfect right ? Expand
  60. SamanthaS
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    I think this cd is great. The hooks are catchy and, most importantly, meaningful to Ashlee. As a co-writer of this album, she made sure this cd was personal to her. I believe it is a top ranker within its genre.
  61. JoniquaM
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    i love dis Cd ashlee is a hotti and shes got catchy songs all yall others r jus hatazz
  62. DuaneC
    Dec 6, 2005
    8
    A good pop/rock album with many good songs and some not very good songs. Skip to: Boyfriend, L.O.V.E, Coming Back for More, Burnin Up, I Am me, and Kicking and Screaming. (I Didn't Steal Your) Boyfriend: First single to be released off the album (due to be released in the UK on January30th 2006), is an upbeat track which is a good choice for the opening track. 7/10 In Another Life is A good pop/rock album with many good songs and some not very good songs. Skip to: Boyfriend, L.O.V.E, Coming Back for More, Burnin Up, I Am me, and Kicking and Screaming. (I Didn't Steal Your) Boyfriend: First single to be released off the album (due to be released in the UK on January30th 2006), is an upbeat track which is a good choice for the opening track. 7/10 In Another Life is probably the downfall of the album and doesn't showcase Ashlee's vocals as well as the other songs. 4/10 Beautifully Broken is again quite a boring track which was not a good choice for the album, this track really disappointed me. 5/10 L.O.V.E is an upbeat track, it is probably the poppiest track on the album, a lively, upbeat track. Definately an highlight of the album. 8/10 Coming Back For More starts off quite boring and doesn't showcase Ashlee's voice like In Another Life but the guitar solo towards the end of the track really revives it, OK-Average. 6/10 Dancing Alone really disappointed me, another downfall, but some could argue with that. 4/10 Burnin Up is another pop track, the track is refreshing and lively. 7/10 Catch Me When I Fall is the slowest song on the album and really shows Ashlee's stunning voice off, but it's too slow for me Average. 5/10 I Am Me is going to be the second single from the album, and possibly the best song on the album, more rock than pop, the chorus is the best. 9/10 Eyes Wide Open is another downfall, in the middle of rock and pop. 4/10 Say Goodbye is like Undiscovered from album Autobiography which I really liked but I just don't like this song. 5/10 Kicking & Screaming is again an ace song to finish the album off, more rock and definately lively, and upbeat. 9/10 Fall in Love With Me is a bad choice to finish the album boring pop song should have been scrapped. 1/10 Definately worth buying, OVERALL 8/10 Expand
  63. AndyH
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    Ashlee may not be the greatest singer in the world but her husky vocals have a charm all of their own and she brings a no nonsense attitude and genuine star quality to each track. All in all a superb sophomore album from a much aligned and seriously underrated performer.
  64. hellobye
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    I love this CD! I like all the songs on both of her Cds. She is fantastic!! i LOVE HER bravery by stepping up even after those two incidents. just love her. and to all of you ashlee-haters, give her another chance and you might end up liking her too!
  65. celinaj
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    I can't find any flaws with this album. Absolutely wonderful.
  66. BrookeP.
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    This album is the best album of 2005! Go Ashlee! You Rock!
  67. AlexS
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    OMGSh!!!11 I LUVVV this album! It is SOOOO gud. U guyz r all haterzzzz. Represent. Word.
  68. JessicaJ
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Ashlee proves once agains that she is the queen of pop rock.
  69. LaurenK
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    ashlee simson's new recrd is amazing... itis catchy and you can listen to it over and over without getting bored! She puts her emotions into her lyrics so listeners can connect with her songs. also to dennis if ashlee took everything good about the artists wouldn't that mean shes really good?!
  70. MattP
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    As usual Ashlee brings out all the stops to bring out kick ass music , this absolutely rocks and is even better than her last album which was superb!
  71. Jun 7, 2011
    7
    Not the best in the world, but pretty decent. I can't stop listening to "Boyfriend"; it has been stuck in my head for weeks and shows no signs of fading.
  72. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Ooh not gonna lie, I sunk my teeth into this album from Simpson. Some of the songs are fun, catchy, and upbeat, Then, there are the songs that will just make you want to turn the lights out and cry. Exactly like the song "Undiscovered." What a song. Songs like "Catch Me When I Fall" and "Say Goodbye" are very sad tunes. "I Am Me" is my favorite song on the cd. It packs so much anger! NiceOoh not gonna lie, I sunk my teeth into this album from Simpson. Some of the songs are fun, catchy, and upbeat, Then, there are the songs that will just make you want to turn the lights out and cry. Exactly like the song "Undiscovered." What a song. Songs like "Catch Me When I Fall" and "Say Goodbye" are very sad tunes. "I Am Me" is my favorite song on the cd. It packs so much anger! Nice one for her. Expand
  73. Jul 16, 2016
    8
    "I Am Me" is my favourite album released by Ashlee Simpson. I loved the more darker undertones in some of the songs. Highlights for me include "Boyfriend" (it was fun and sassy), "In Another Life" (in which she feels like she knew someone in a previous life), "Beautifully Broken" (a song that shows her at one of her most vulnerable moments), "Dancing Alone" (she got all pretty, but it"I Am Me" is my favourite album released by Ashlee Simpson. I loved the more darker undertones in some of the songs. Highlights for me include "Boyfriend" (it was fun and sassy), "In Another Life" (in which she feels like she knew someone in a previous life), "Beautifully Broken" (a song that shows her at one of her most vulnerable moments), "Dancing Alone" (she got all pretty, but it looks like she will be "dancing alone," "dreaming solo"), "Catch Me When I Fall" (who will catch her when she falls?), and "Say Goodbye" (a really emotional ballad). Ashlee Simpson managed to make an album that surpassed her previous one in many ways, and I hope she releases more music. Expand
  74. Mar 17, 2015
    9
    Track by track review:
    1. Boyfriend 10/10
    2. In Another Life 10/10 3. Beautifully Broken 10/10 4. L.O.V.E. 10/10 5. Coming Back for More 10/10 6. Dancing Alone 10/10 7. Burnin Up 10/10 8. Catch Me When I Fall 8.5/10 9. I Am Me 10/10 10. Eyes Wide Open 10/10 11. Say Goodbye 5/10 Highlights: Boyfriend, Coming Back for More, Burnin Up, I Am Me Potential singles: Boyfriend,
    Track by track review:
    1. Boyfriend 10/10
    2. In Another Life 10/10
    3. Beautifully Broken 10/10
    4. L.O.V.E. 10/10
    5. Coming Back for More 10/10
    6. Dancing Alone 10/10
    7. Burnin Up 10/10
    8. Catch Me When I Fall 8.5/10
    9. I Am Me 10/10
    10. Eyes Wide Open 10/10
    11. Say Goodbye 5/10

    Highlights: Boyfriend, Coming Back for More, Burnin Up, I Am Me
    Potential singles: Boyfriend, Beautifully Broken
    Expand
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. The pop hooks are there, but we can't shake the feeling that the sentiments come off as phony.
  2. In venturing to offer something for everyone, Simpson offers nothing for anyone.
  3. No matter how hard Simpson tries, no matter how foreboding the surface, beneath it all she's still light and frivolous. But that doesn't mean, by any stretch, that this is bubblegum music, since that term implies that this music is frothy, fun, and, most important, hooky, and I Am Me is none of those things.