I Am...Sasha Fierce Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 286 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third solo album for the ex-Destiny's Child singer features songs attributed to her alter ego Sasha Fierce.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. I Am...Sasha Fierce does offer two compelling sides of the singer.
  2. 70
    Ironically, it's the more tame (and nameless) persona that's the most intriguing, commanding and sexual.
  3. 70
    She's not there yet, but the effort is fascinating, and hopefully she will keep on this path.
  4. I Am...Sasha Fierce is an admirable vie for artistic credibility (and for a last-ditch revival of the long-player format) but one that is muddled by the fact that the album is being offered in two configurations.
  5. While this LP is more painstaking than B'Day, the extra effort dulls any emotional wallop; "B'Day," in all its hectic glory, offered a much more vivid peek into the elusive mind of Beyoncé than Sasha Fierce, which often reads more like projection than reality.
  6. It's more a rescinded lesson in demographics, with disc one seemingly aimed at airbrushing out the last vestiges of Knowles' credibility in favour of a procession of lame pop ballads in a Shakira or even Shania Twain-ish mould.
  7. I am...amused. But it's sort of like the horrific fascination of seeing a train wreck.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 91
  2. Negative: 12 out of 91
  1. Jul 15, 2012
    This album is a favorite ! Beyonce has amazing vocals, beats, videos, and choreograpy that sets her work apart from anyone else! Beyonce is the modern Janet Jackson and she is dominating for good reason. If you do not like/love this album then you dont know how to identify good music. She goes from sexy to rage to fun in a heartbeat, its so diverse! Buy this album seriously if you havent already! No artist is touching this woman! Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2011
    I Am... Sasha Fierce is one of the best pop/r&b albums in recent years. She is really a living legend. She has the entire package. She is one of the very few to give you vulnerability, as evident in songs like "Satellites," "Scared of Lonely," "Smash Into You," among others, and at the same time give you sassy and commanding Beyoncé, that we all love, or should I say Sasha Fierce? Overall this album is EPIC. Her best to date. Standout tracks: Halo, Smash Into You, If I Were a Boy, Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It), Sweet Dreams, Ave Maria. Expand
  3. Ido
    Sep 3, 2011
    Amazing album. The "I Am" side is perfect, there is no one with voice like the one she has.
    Halo is one of the most beautiful songs that I ever heard.
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    This album is very much different from the sounds of her "Dangerously in Love" and "B'Day". And I happen to like this kind of Beyonce more. "Halo" is a masterpiece, so are "If I Were a Boy", "Single Ladies", and "Broken-Hearted Girl". The alter-ego concept works out amazingly fine in this album. I think she's just a genius artist for coming up with the album concept. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    Another solid album from Beyoncé and when combining all the editions that were released there were around 20 songs to listen to so you were bound to like some of them! There are a few duds that probably could have been left out but they are made up for by stand-outs like Sweet Dreams & Halo. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    the connection between the songs are way better on the I Am ... side; but the best songs are on Sasha Fierce; Nevertheless I Am happy she's singing less Urban music here; she needed that Record to etablish herself as iconic. It sounds like a WOMAN record (no longer the GIRL she was on previous albums).
    My favorite : Disappear / Hello is great performed live.
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    This record was filth. Trying to charge fans money for 2 cd's with only a handful of songs on each. The music is best on the ballads, but the "Sasha Fierce" side of the album besides "Single Ladies" is awful. IT seems Beyonce copped out and didn't want to have a bomb on her hands like the way the ballad-filled 4 was. It's clear the record label wanted Beyonce to re-write the album with uptempo songs when she obviously didn't want to. Expand

See all 91 User Reviews