I Am...Sasha Fierce

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2008
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 487 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 487

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KiraB.
    Nov 30, 2008
    5
    I Am thoroughly disappointed with this attemt at a classic album from Beyonce. To be the Queen she professes herself to B should have came with the A game and not this C sub par music. To say you recorded over 70 songs but give your fans 10 on standard and 16 on deluxe is awful. There was no need to make a dual disc when all the tracks could have easily fit onto one, even the deluxe I Am thoroughly disappointed with this attemt at a classic album from Beyonce. To be the Queen she professes herself to B should have came with the A game and not this C sub par music. To say you recorded over 70 songs but give your fans 10 on standard and 16 on deluxe is awful. There was no need to make a dual disc when all the tracks could have easily fit onto one, even the deluxe edition. And a deluxe is needed b/c of what . . .? Release it right the first time. Or better yet, go back to the studio and pour your heart and soul into your music like you did w/DIL, it won't sound the same b/c you've grown since then but at least it will have some substance. I purchased the deluxe and even still there's an album that has bonus songs ontop of that.!! 3 albums, but you made this for your fans. If you're going to have other ppl right your music for u at least get good ones, like the lady that worked with Christina and Pink not your cousin Angie. I wasn't ready for her to come back (even though she never left) b/c she hasn't been out of the spotlight long enough. Even Usher knew better than to try and compete w/JT was slayin us with FSLS. Her clock is ticking and she wants to start a family with her new hubby and is trying to satisfy her . I'm so fed up with this alter ego nonsense. Its gotten out of control. Sasha didn't need her own album: SL, SD, Hello, Scared of Lonely and maybe Radio. That's it and the I AM side is so boring I haven't listened to it straight through. Completely disgusted with this attempt. Wait til you experience some more of life. Expand
  2. May 23, 2011
    5
    Sasha Fierce is on the whole more exciting, artistic and brave than its boring partner disc. Could do with more time being spent on creating two bold discs instead of one that'll undeniably be thrown in the scrap heap.
  3. May 31, 2012
    4
    Halo Makes You Think This Is The Best Album Ever..
    I Love Beyonce But Vocally And Music Wise She CAN DO BETTER!
    Sadly This Is Not The Beyonce I Love...
  4. DR.
    Nov 28, 2008
    6
    It's hard to sum up the existing musical legacy of Beyonce. I mean half the time, I don't know what she's thinking. She's said that she wants to be an icon and a legend...so it's kind of unfortunate that her "legendary status" can only be stamped on modern dead cert classics like Crazy In Love and Irreplaceable. You get occasional glimpses of Beyonce's genius It's hard to sum up the existing musical legacy of Beyonce. I mean half the time, I don't know what she's thinking. She's said that she wants to be an icon and a legend...so it's kind of unfortunate that her "legendary status" can only be stamped on modern dead cert classics like Crazy In Love and Irreplaceable. You get occasional glimpses of Beyonce's genius at work, but then it gets lost in a sea of medicore and forgettable creations. It's the same case for this double album. Regular Beyonce is actually pretty solid. IIWAB, Halo, Satellites and Ave Maria all stand out like elegantly wrapped gifts waiting to be explored. The spanner in the works is this so called Sasha Fierce side. In all honesty, most of the tracks on this disc sound like leftovers from B'Day. Sasha Fierce isn't terrible (though Diva and Video Phone are!!), but desperately lacking in creativity. Overall it is an inconsistent collection. Potential for a very good record is weighed down by a hasty collection of club bangers! Expand
  5. AloiseM
    Dec 9, 2008
    6
    The CD is a good attempt. I really like "Halo," "Radio," "Scared of Lonely"....some songs you can tell where very her for right now. Some, I wasn't sure were really talking about herself. You can tell the songs that really are about her and or just songs she sings...the songs that are reall are real good, her ballands on songs like "Hello" show that she can really sing in her way. I The CD is a good attempt. I really like "Halo," "Radio," "Scared of Lonely"....some songs you can tell where very her for right now. Some, I wasn't sure were really talking about herself. You can tell the songs that really are about her and or just songs she sings...the songs that are reall are real good, her ballands on songs like "Hello" show that she can really sing in her way. I thinks she really is growing as an artist, sometimes it seems as see wants to give fans to me instead of just be herself which...Sasha Fierce reflects...those are the songs that make you go "Oh, oh, oh, excuse me...go girl." Expand
  6. MichelleS.
    Nov 18, 2008
    5
    I am a hardcore Beyonce' fan and I am dissappinted at her new CD to say the least. It has been too long since B-Day came out and I was looking for her to bring it...again. She has never let me down and I didnt think she ever had the capabilities of doing so but Ms. Sasha Fierce this was a mess. There was a lot of hype for no reason. The music is good but the majority of the lyrics I am a hardcore Beyonce' fan and I am dissappinted at her new CD to say the least. It has been too long since B-Day came out and I was looking for her to bring it...again. She has never let me down and I didnt think she ever had the capabilities of doing so but Ms. Sasha Fierce this was a mess. There was a lot of hype for no reason. The music is good but the majority of the lyrics and the way the CD came together as the final product was very sub par. I should have purchased it from my neighbor as a burned copy! Expand
  7. JarrellC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    5
    I am shocked at how bad this album is. It took her two weeks to record B'Day and she worked on Sasha Fierce for almost a year. With that said, B'Day is much much better than Sasha Fierce. The only decent songs (and when I say decent I am trying to be nice) are "Single Ladies" and "Radio."
  8. th
    Nov 21, 2008
    5
    This cd is sub par. The slow jams were nice but nothing really memorable as so with the fierce side. Dont doubt that she will still go platinum because of her name. I can see this been re- released to get those sales up.
  9. MissyM.
    Nov 20, 2008
    5
    The ballads went to European for me. Changing the disc is a waste of time for me. I am still a fan but I honestly only like 4 songs on the album. 1 from Disc one and 3 from Disc 2. Stick with you..Disc 2...
  10. Delspencerdeltorro
    Nov 26, 2008
    4
    The first disc is completely forgettable, but it's got some emotion, and a few high points. It's not bad background music. Lyrically, it's mostly duds. On this disc, the deluxe edition only offers more of the same. My understanding was that with such a slow first disc, the second disc would be a non-stop party, but the pace slows after the first song and when it does get The first disc is completely forgettable, but it's got some emotion, and a few high points. It's not bad background music. Lyrically, it's mostly duds. On this disc, the deluxe edition only offers more of the same. My understanding was that with such a slow first disc, the second disc would be a non-stop party, but the pace slows after the first song and when it does get back up, the quality sucks. The deluxe version adds a couple worthwhile songs and ends on a high point. This album should've been mixed together, and a lot of tracks should've been discarded. Out of the whole deluxe set (*excluding itunes bonus tracks) there's less than a half hour of good music anyway. Expand
  11. Cherry
    May 24, 2009
    6
    Yes, my advice to you as well it to skip straight to the second disc.
  12. JoeB.
    Nov 18, 2008
    4
    Let's see, 1) Beyonce: one of the biggest artists in the pop world, check 2) All the best people and facilities at her fingertips-check, 3) One of the best voices in the industry-check, so what happened? EGO happened baby! Lot's of it. Here's the thing, who gives a shit about Beyonce's alter ego? Answer - Nobody. Who wants crazy beats with wild vocals doing things Let's see, 1) Beyonce: one of the biggest artists in the pop world, check 2) All the best people and facilities at her fingertips-check, 3) One of the best voices in the industry-check, so what happened? EGO happened baby! Lot's of it. Here's the thing, who gives a shit about Beyonce's alter ego? Answer - Nobody. Who wants crazy beats with wild vocals doing things nobody else can? Answer - Everybody. Depth and introspection do not suit Beyonce Knowles, she is not a "Lennon" type artist. It's actually quite sad to see someone who is supposed to be at the top of their field crawling around the AM radio bathroom floor looking for Shania Twain fans. Expand
  13. RoseS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    4
    I felt Beyonce's latest release lacked a lot of integrity and personality compared to her first several solo albums. "If I Were a Boy", "Radio", "Single Ladies" are all decent tracks, but the rest of the album seems to come across with generic ballads, seemingly in disconcert with her moniker of "Sasha Fierce", and varying in overall song quality throughout the two-disc set. Pity I felt Beyonce's latest release lacked a lot of integrity and personality compared to her first several solo albums. "If I Were a Boy", "Radio", "Single Ladies" are all decent tracks, but the rest of the album seems to come across with generic ballads, seemingly in disconcert with her moniker of "Sasha Fierce", and varying in overall song quality throughout the two-disc set. Pity because she sports a great vocal, but doesn't quite carry the conviction to make these songs work as well within her given scope. Expand
  14. de
    Nov 28, 2008
    4
    I just finished listening to Beyonce's new album, "I Am...", and all have to say is 'what in the world Beyonce!!!'I felt that her first two albums were much better than this one. I was very disappointed... Now I did enjoy three of the songs on the CD, but the rest was a different story. The songs were sad and depressing, not what I expected. I felt that the CD was a waste I just finished listening to Beyonce's new album, "I Am...", and all have to say is 'what in the world Beyonce!!!'I felt that her first two albums were much better than this one. I was very disappointed... Now I did enjoy three of the songs on the CD, but the rest was a different story. The songs were sad and depressing, not what I expected. I felt that the CD was a waste of money. I don't suggest that you buy this CD, because if your expecting Beyonce's CD to be similar to her three singles out right now, it's not. Expand
  15. Jun 29, 2011
    6
    After B'Day, I expected an improvement, but obviously, I Am ... Sasha Fierce just doesn't do it for me. Although it has some really good moments (If I Were A Boy, Halo, BHG, Hello, Ego, Radio, Sweet Dreams, Single Ladies), it really has some epically fails (Video Phone, Diva, Why Don't You Love Me). As a whole, an average album and the worst I've listened to from her ... so far.
  16. Oct 3, 2012
    5
    When I first got the album, I really liked because it was Beyonce's. Now, I realise that reality crashed all the "love" for her. The first half is pretty good, especially because of "If I Were A Boy" and "Halo", songs which we never thought Beyonce will make. The other half, is boring: boring lyrics, plain music ( I am comparing the facts with her latest album, "4" which is, her best albumWhen I first got the album, I really liked because it was Beyonce's. Now, I realise that reality crashed all the "love" for her. The first half is pretty good, especially because of "If I Were A Boy" and "Halo", songs which we never thought Beyonce will make. The other half, is boring: boring lyrics, plain music ( I am comparing the facts with her latest album, "4" which is, her best album in her entire career: she developed, not just lyrically, but also, musically). Too bad there are many stans, human beings who never know how to be realist ! Beyonce is a good entertainer, I met her in person at a concert, but all things have a limit. Expand
  17. Aug 16, 2017
    6
    I love her vocals on the I Am... side but some of the lyrics are overcome with soppy nonsense. The Sasha Fierce side has a few good songs let down by overly aggressive production.

    Favourite songs: Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It), Halo, Diva
    Least favourite: Satellites, Video Phone
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. 70
    She's not there yet, but the effort is fascinating, and hopefully she will keep on this path.
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    50
    While an interesting concept, neither CD contains enough strong material to match up to either of her previous releases, and at times, the constant barrage of R&B cliches and adult-contemporary production make it sound like Beyonce is rapidly transforming from hot, hip pop goddess to your standard bored diva.
  3. I Am...Sasha Fierce does offer two compelling sides of the singer.