I Heart California

  • Record Label: The Ship
  • Release Date: Jul 13, 2010

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. It's not a shining example of the craft, by any means, but it's still enjoyable, a soothing late-summer soundtrack devotees of either parent band will particularly love.
  2. 72
    The songs border on self-plagiarism. That's not to say their Achilles' heel is unoriginality-fans of either band will definitely find some gems. But if Admiral Radley wants to transcend the predictable, they've got the weapons to do it-they just need to use them.
  3. More often they reinforce each other's introspection, turning thoughts of mortality into power pop or facing down loneliness with tentative voices but utterly sure-footed buildups.
  4. As it stands on this record, they sound too often like they're still feeling it out, which is too bad, because by the time we get to the end of the record, they seem to have hit their stride. Maybe that's where they should have started from.
  5. Under The Radar
    Mainly I Heart California is a series of love songs to California that play out like taunts to people who live in other places. Although, at times, it seems I Heart California is taunting itself. [Summer 2010, p.82]

There are no user reviews yet.