I Love You

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
I Love You Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length release for the Los Angeles-based indie rock quintet led by Jesse Rutherford.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    70
    While they could go darker, grizzlier, or even shinier, I Love You achieves what few debuts can, by making one hell of an opening statement.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    Although the words to the song Afraid might suggest the Neighbourhood's singer and main lyricist, Jesse Rutherford, can't be older than 14, this LA outfit are actually in their 20s. And there's more in the same pubescent vein as their debut album progresses.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    50
    Flashes here and there suggest that The Neighbourhood are capable of writing good pop music. It’s just that they miss the target far too much.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    50
    If the production had been a little more restrained and the band had written a few songs that didn't sound like they were meant to be played by U2 after a couple days spent listening to Top 40 radio, the album might not have been quite the heavy and ponderous thing it is.
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    50
    Ultimately, I Love You. is an extremely flawed debut with good intentions.
  6. Q Magazine
    May 13, 2013
    40
    Much as their guitars cascade and their lyrics have a dark undertow, there's too much heavy-footed stodginess, notably in the plodding Staying Up, to make them truly engaging. [Jun 2013, p.103]
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    30
    Lyrically, the album only deteriorates into further embarrassment.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    Well, musical metacritic can't rate any music.
    You should not appreciate the albums just because of lyrics as song rhythm, instrumental sound
    Well, musical metacritic can't rate any music.
    You should not appreciate the albums just because of lyrics as song rhythm, instrumental sound and singer voice are as important as lyrics.
    The album songs are soothing and enjoyable, they create some atmosphere that allows every listener to join such a beautiful musical trip.
    Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2015
    10
    This **** is so good. I love this album, because it sets the mood for a nice autumn day and for sweater weather of course. anyway, yea lol, iThis **** is so good. I love this album, because it sets the mood for a nice autumn day and for sweater weather of course. anyway, yea lol, i just wanted to give a rating not review Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I can't believe how incredibly facile the critics are that reviewed this album were.

    If you were to actually listen to the themes the
    I can't believe how incredibly facile the critics are that reviewed this album were.

    If you were to actually listen to the themes the reason for the apparently "immature" writing become quite obvious. This album is autobiographical, starting in the preteen years, the loss of religion/faith (How), pre-teen and teen relations and rivals(Afraid and Everybody's Watching Me), puppy love (Sweater Weather), still working on Let it Go. Then moves on to childhood reflection in Alleyways, where the teen starts to think back on simpler times in life. Then more mature relationships problems reveal themselves in WDYWFM, and first true love in Flawless. Female Robbery deals with depression in the aftermath of losing that first love. The songwriter then shows how they dealt with that depression through music in Staying up and reflecting on the childs past as they move on into adulthood with Float.

    You might notice that the use of sophomoric cussing and phrasing starts to change at the end of the album.

    All the songs are EXTREMELY strong musically, and the mix of Indie and hip-hop type beats really make for a fairly unique sound that fails to bore. The vocals are pleasing and the pacing of the album makes for a good full listen.

    What makes for a better freshman album than the actual freshman perspective?
    Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    Overall, The Neighbourhood’s debut attempt was not bad. They really do have their own creative sound and style. However, they should expandOverall, The Neighbourhood’s debut attempt was not bad. They really do have their own creative sound and style. However, they should expand more on these sounds and styles and especially lyrics Collapse
  5. Jul 15, 2014
    6
    Overall, The Neighbourhood’s debut attempt was not bad. They really do have their own creative sound and style. However, they should expandOverall, The Neighbourhood’s debut attempt was not bad. They really do have their own creative sound and style. However, they should expand more on these sounds and styles and especially lyrics Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2013
    6
    I like this album, but it didn't quite blow me away like debuts other buzzed up new indie-pop bands did. My favorite thing about this album isI like this album, but it didn't quite blow me away like debuts other buzzed up new indie-pop bands did. My favorite thing about this album is the sound. This band has a fantastically distinct musical style, creating this very moody atmosphere coated in reverb while still for the most part retaining a good amount of accessibility & pop appeal through some very catchy hooks. The vocals, while never absolutely incredible technically, are done in a nicely understated way that compliments what's going on around it, and the almost rap-like cadences are a nice touch. Meanwhile the drums sound huge & cacophonous, and the guitar is more meant to enhance the song through some high jangly leads that are a little buried in the mix rather than being the driving force behind it, which is a pretty interesting songwriting strategy for an indie-pop band. Admittedly though, the bad side of this is that in a few tracks (specifically in the verses) it seems like the production is doing more to make the song engaging than the band themselves, making for moments that are enjoyable to listen to but ultimately forgettable.

    I'd say the lyrics are easily this album's weakest area. Sometimes they're too vague & ambiguous to stand out from other “I'm depressed” songs, while at other times they're so irritatingly immature it's baffling why they weren't rewritten in favor of something with a little more subtlety or creativity. Even though these issues are pretty much opposites, I can link them to the same problem: trying way too hard to appeal to angst-ridden teenagers who act like they're in clinical depression to get attention in every negative situation. And considering that I'm a teenager, it's not a good sign that I was able to catch that bit of pandering to my demo. Some songs individually have their own little confusing messages that don't really know where they're going. “How” seems to start out questioning the logic of some atheists/agnostics, then by the chorus is whining about being an outcast. Then there's “Let It Go” & “Alleyways”, which detail growing up in a rich city & having fun as a kid, but don't really have as much to say relating to that as the depressive vibes & occasional vague claims of “struggle” want us to think.

    I honestly think the area of love & relationships is where The Neighbourhood work best in, as shown by “W.D.Y.W.F.M?” & “Flawless”. They explore a dysfunctional relationship in a way that can come off immature at times, but in a way that's understandable & kinda likable. And the topic of depression & self-doubt is occasionally tackled with some level of creativity. Like on “Female Robbery”, where the narrator reaches such a crippling low point that he wouldn't have a problem with being kidnapped in his sleep & removed from his apparently miserable life. You could say the background for this is a bit unexplained, but it's certainly more effective emotionally than other attempts at conveying despair found here. And other songs on the back half like “Staying Up” and “Float” do a decent job at showing imagery in this subject. While I wouldn't call I Love You. a bad album by any means, I was a bit disappointed after loving the first 2 singles. They're got a nice sound going for them that can serve them very well in the future, but they're gonna have to work on making the songwriting as a whole just as interesting.

    Top 5 tracks: Sweater Weather, Female Robbery, W.D.Y.W.F.M?, Flawless, Everybody's Watching Me
    Score: 68/100
    My Facebook review page: That Non-Elitist Music Fan
    Expand
  7. May 10, 2014
    3
    I think these songs had a lot of potential, but they are drowned out and diluted by over production, and a muttery vocalist. I mean, sure II think these songs had a lot of potential, but they are drowned out and diluted by over production, and a muttery vocalist. I mean, sure I love Sweater Weather for its originality, but you can throw away every other track on the album. The lyrics, especially to "Afraid" sound like a nursery rhyme. You can do two things: Hope there sophomore release is way better than this, or completely take the Neighbourhood completely off your radar. This is coming from an adolescent male. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews