Ima Robot

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2003
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Ima Robot mines the dark recesses of metal, glam, new wave and electro, meshing its findings without a stitch to produce memorable choruses that stick in your head long after they're gone.
  2. Spin
    83
    Like Grandaddy, they know the future isn't glitch-free, but they're gonna throw a good party anyway. [Oct 2003, p.113]
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    Goofy out-of-time tunes. [Oct 2003, p.136]
  4. 70
    Off-kilter, irreverent and unbelievably addictive.
  5. Under The Radar
    70
    There's not much originality on this record, and cliches abound, but... [it] is so full of energy that it demands a listen. [#5, p.106]
  6. They won't matter in a year, or even six-months...but for the time being, Ima Robot are an utterly entrancing and joyously frivolous antidote to those pre-winter blues.
  7. Q Magazine
    60
    The overall effect is a little wayward at times, strangely touching at others, and nutso throughout. [May 2004, p.104]
  8. Mojo
    60
    [A] perplexing, 'is it irritating or is it glorious?' album that meshes the oddball with the serious in a quirky, plastic-punk manner not entirely unlike that of The B-52's and Devo. [Mar 2004, p.108]
  9. The end product is an enjoyable, though not enduring, debut offering.
  10. Ultimately too derivative to fully enjoy.
  11. Rolling Stone
    40
    [Alex] Ebert's voice is the most polarizing set of pipes this side of the Darkness' Justin Hawkins, and most listeners won't be able to get past it.
  12. Blender
    40
    An energetic, derivative genre exercise. [Oct 2003, p.118]
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. JesseG
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    my absolute favorite band on the planet, and this is a must buy!
  2. RyanA
    Sep 20, 2004
    10
    i don't know what the critics listened too, this album is great and i don't think it seems disposable at all. i just got turned on i don't know what the critics listened too, this album is great and i don't think it seems disposable at all. i just got turned on to them this weekend and so far i am lovin it. Full Review »
  3. Stella
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Best cd on earth.