Ima Robot

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2003
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 3 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. elisaf
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    awesome. i've listened to it seven times in three days.
  2. SeacaptainMcFisticuffs
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    This CD is a blast of salty sea air in the face, fresh and feels good and toughens your hide.
  3. NicholasT-M
    Apr 20, 2004
    10
    Awesome. A bit like band Devo and the Dickies.
  4. Stephanie
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    i love this cd its the best when i heard the first song i was hooked Ima Robot rock!!
  5. RyanA
    Sep 20, 2004
    10
    i don't know what the critics listened too, this album is great and i don't think it seems disposable at all. i just got turned on to them this weekend and so far i am lovin it.
  6. JGreen
    Apr 24, 2004
    10
    AMAZING
  7. jottz
    Nov 1, 2003
    10
    this is fucking straught. ilove it!!!
  8. JanisG
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    This CD kicks total ass! Can NOT stop listening to it :P Not 2 mention that they're great in concert as well ! 10 out 0f 10 YAY!
  9. turtleEnterprises
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    I love this Album so much , i will see them for the third time in concert in January =), they rock !
  10. keenanh
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    it's just so different from all of the other music i've been listening to, it's a great turn, i certainly recommend buying this cd.
  11. ImaRobothead
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    This album is the most original, uplifting release this year. No other band can reference from so many sources and still produce something totally fresh!
  12. AnthonyN
    Feb 10, 2004
    9
    This cd could be a new hit, for anyone that like electro sounding rock will love this cd and personilly I f**king love!!!!!!!
  13. PoobsMcDoobs
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    Sweet-ass..
  14. happysmilely
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    I love this cd, It's always in my cd player. I can't put it down. One of my top albums! Ima Robot is great and has me asking for more! If you?re ready for some fresh and original music that you can't get enough of get this cd! A big 10 for Ima Robot!!!!!
  15. manikmoon
    Apr 27, 2004
    9
    Just got this one yesterday...bloody fab!!! Nice one, lads!!!
  16. Stella
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Best cd on earth.
  17. YOYo
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    yo this cd is awesome...i bought it a couple days ago cause i couldnt find it in stores when it first came out...i reccomend this cd to anyone who has 10 dollars....ahhh soo different...ahhh soo awesome....
  18. Becca
    Jan 19, 2004
    10
    I first heard Ima Robot way back in...October? November? All I know is that from the first chord in Dynomite, I was hooked. These guys rock!
  19. colef
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    this is definately my number one cd right now, i cant stop listneing to it, and it never seems to get old, i highly recommend this cd, and i suggest you see them in concert, their off the wall
  20. JesseG
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    my absolute favorite band on the planet, and this is a must buy!
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Q Magazine
    60
    The overall effect is a little wayward at times, strangely touching at others, and nutso throughout. [May 2004, p.104]
  2. Ima Robot mines the dark recesses of metal, glam, new wave and electro, meshing its findings without a stitch to produce memorable choruses that stick in your head long after they're gone.
  3. Rolling Stone
    40
    [Alex] Ebert's voice is the most polarizing set of pipes this side of the Darkness' Justin Hawkins, and most listeners won't be able to get past it.