User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1564 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonathanH
    Oct 21, 2007
    0
    Never thought I would say this of an album by these guys, its a piece of shit! This is not more terrifying than "OK Computer" and OK Computer was'nt even that terrifying. Personally I think "Hail to the thief" while a little bit patchy here and there, was this band continuing to improve greatly. So we were hoping for a more direct but also more interesting noise from them this time Never thought I would say this of an album by these guys, its a piece of shit! This is not more terrifying than "OK Computer" and OK Computer was'nt even that terrifying. Personally I think "Hail to the thief" while a little bit patchy here and there, was this band continuing to improve greatly. So we were hoping for a more direct but also more interesting noise from them this time around. And would it hurt to use a guitar for a rhythm??? Well all I can say, is that this album, with its lame title "In Rainbows" is nothing but.......why can't these guys just write proper songs. I know they're not a pop band for crying out loud, but , thats what makes a great band, great songs. Not long compositions with no real gel. Ugh!!! Is music getting worse or is it just me. No, its getting worse!!!! Expand
  2. LesH.
    Jan 5, 2008
    1
    Why so much hype? Bends rocks a bit, OK Computer combines haunting electro w/rock moments, Kid A is atmospheric electromood music that really should be an EP featuring optimistic, Hail to the Thief has 2 or 3 great moments. In rainbows (much like Kid A) feels like music made by a software company as an audio accompaniment to a revolving screensaver. 90% of the time I can't get past Why so much hype? Bends rocks a bit, OK Computer combines haunting electro w/rock moments, Kid A is atmospheric electromood music that really should be an EP featuring optimistic, Hail to the Thief has 2 or 3 great moments. In rainbows (much like Kid A) feels like music made by a software company as an audio accompaniment to a revolving screensaver. 90% of the time I can't get past thom yorke's gentle floaty whiny warble. I don't get this tedious spacey trainspottingesque band. Do I need to be on something to enjoy it? I keep buying and listening, trying hard to understand the acclaim and appeal of this disc and this band. I don't get the across-the-board praise. Expand
  3. PaulK
    Dec 9, 2007
    2
    Sound of heads disappearing up arse.
  4. GabiorA.
    Oct 22, 2007
    3
    Radiohead prove further that they can release anything to critical acclaim with this collection of elevator tunes and indie electronic college crap pop. Even if you argue that maybe this music just isn't for me just look at the lyrics to see the lack of effort here. Every positive user review is hysterically identical "haven't creamed my pants this bad since OK Computer." Either Radiohead prove further that they can release anything to critical acclaim with this collection of elevator tunes and indie electronic college crap pop. Even if you argue that maybe this music just isn't for me just look at the lyrics to see the lack of effort here. Every positive user review is hysterically identical "haven't creamed my pants this bad since OK Computer." Either way, fanboys will be fanboys. Expand
  5. DanielC.
    Nov 3, 2007
    3
    Terribly disappointing outing for Radiohead. Made me long for and choose their other material (any of it) over this rather dull set of songs. Sounds too much like The Rolling Stones meets Coldplay to be really considered anything at all. Every listen sparks more disappointment.
  6. ddd
    Oct 14, 2007
    1
    no good time
  7. mikek.
    Oct 15, 2007
    0
    sucks
  8. redpop
    Oct 14, 2007
    0
    Radiohead is dead!!
  9. RJM.
    Nov 4, 2007
    1
    i'm so sick of people busting their nuts over this band. ok computer has its moments, so does kid a. but the rest of their catalog, including this one, is rubbish. Radiohead make pretentious, over-reaching, non-sensical crap, and because you all minions can't tell what the fuck they're doing, you go ahead and assume it must be brilliant. uhh, that's a little i'm so sick of people busting their nuts over this band. ok computer has its moments, so does kid a. but the rest of their catalog, including this one, is rubbish. Radiohead make pretentious, over-reaching, non-sensical crap, and because you all minions can't tell what the fuck they're doing, you go ahead and assume it must be brilliant. uhh, that's a little fallacious. listen, thom yorke proved long ago that he has nothing to say: his lyrics have always been, and continue to be, terrible...just terrible. phil selway, while we're on the subject of terrible, is also terrible. probably the drummer with the worst feel i've ever heard. i urge you to stop telling yourself that this shit moves you, and realize that it's a bunch of trash. there are or otherwise -- don't waste your time with this rubbish. Expand
  10. sasaj.
    Oct 14, 2007
    1
    it realy isnt good
  11. ScottyT
    Oct 14, 2007
    0
    Radiohead sucks. The End.
  12. stevej.
    Oct 16, 2007
    1
    I guess I just continue to not get it... I guess Radiohead just isn't for me, but why is that you can get a guy to mumble into a microphone with largely disconnected melodies behind him and directionless, repetitive musical blips layered in and it's called genius? Lyrics? Hmmm... incoherent psychobabble. Must also be genius. Radiohead albums just continue to feel to me self I guess I just continue to not get it... I guess Radiohead just isn't for me, but why is that you can get a guy to mumble into a microphone with largely disconnected melodies behind him and directionless, repetitive musical blips layered in and it's called genius? Lyrics? Hmmm... incoherent psychobabble. Must also be genius. Radiohead albums just continue to feel to me self indulgent, devoid of energy, and unjustifiably revered. Expand
  13. Jones
    Oct 17, 2007
    0
    Sounds like Moby mixed with Amnesiac. Highly overrated and lacking contrast.
  14. Bored
    Oct 20, 2007
    1
    This is by far the most overrated and overhyped album of 2007. Radiohead has a long tradition of making overrated and overhyped music and this is their greatest achievement yet. In Rainbows is a duller and more boring version of Kid A. I've listened to it many times and there's NOTHING memorable about this album. It doesn't grow on you, it does not affect you in any way This is by far the most overrated and overhyped album of 2007. Radiohead has a long tradition of making overrated and overhyped music and this is their greatest achievement yet. In Rainbows is a duller and more boring version of Kid A. I've listened to it many times and there's NOTHING memorable about this album. It doesn't grow on you, it does not affect you in any way either positive or negative it does nothing at all. In fact, if you'd remove the vocals some of the tunes would make for a nice background music to play in an elevator. Expand
  15. jigsaw
    Oct 22, 2007
    0
    Radiohead is always over-rated!
  16. AC
    Oct 13, 2007
    1
    Mediocre
  17. okoko
    Oct 14, 2007
    2
    worst radiohead ever.
  18. UncleDougBigelow
    Nov 6, 2007
    0
    Over processed garbage. C'mon people, you're better than that.
  19. ookysoot
    Dec 23, 2007
    1
    "Paul K" hit it right on the head: "sound of heads disappearing up arse." radiohead is so full of shit. you pathetic provincial children actually think this is good music, and that is funny. the rest of us will think of your bastardized musical experiences, and feel sorry, when we're listening to some truly inspiring stuff. you all just have your heads so far up your arses that you "Paul K" hit it right on the head: "sound of heads disappearing up arse." radiohead is so full of shit. you pathetic provincial children actually think this is good music, and that is funny. the rest of us will think of your bastardized musical experiences, and feel sorry, when we're listening to some truly inspiring stuff. you all just have your heads so far up your arses that you can't hear what rubbish this band is, or, worse, what brilliant stuff other bands are making. you all are hopeless. Expand
  20. PaulR.
    Jan 29, 2008
    2
    For all the acclaim, this is an incredibly boring album. Somewhere in their quest to conquer the world of critical acclaim they mistook 'interesting' for 'quality.'
  21. DennisB.
    May 19, 2008
    1
    Radiohead fans are such idiots! Although obviously good musicians, these guys can't write to save their lives. Of course the cult-like fans explain that away with claims of depth and accusations of "you just don't get it man." Don't worry, I get it: This is the most over-rated band in rock history.
  22. SoundsLikeShit
    Oct 22, 2007
    0
    Most overrated band of all time. Like Ok Computer this album sucks too.
  23. AndrejsB.
    Oct 16, 2007
    1
    I am (was?) a huge fan of Radiohead, but this particular album sounds as a mediocre collection of B-sides penned by Coldplay (in other words, bad). Each time I listen to the album, this is exactly what I find myself thinking. The melodies are really weak and forgettable - those are the same two chords everybody else uses, and if their previous albums had these two chords plus something I am (was?) a huge fan of Radiohead, but this particular album sounds as a mediocre collection of B-sides penned by Coldplay (in other words, bad). Each time I listen to the album, this is exactly what I find myself thinking. The melodies are really weak and forgettable - those are the same two chords everybody else uses, and if their previous albums had these two chords plus something Radiohead-ish, which made the songs incredible, now this special part of it is gone. As if dilletantish melodies weren't enough, the string arrangements, which were supposed to be Greenwood's best work, are syrupy and standard and do not add anything to the tracks. Overall, the album is an unbearable listen and I frankly consider throwing away the CD I burned. Expand
  24. MIF
    Aug 17, 2008
    2
    Quite worthless. Except for the traces of an idea now and then. But all together, just a lame "radio-friendly" boring electrorock. A huge huge dissapointment.
  25. JackS.
    Oct 17, 2007
    3
    The only "great" song on this album was written 10 years ago (while the band was busy making it's only "great" album). Let's face it folks, Kid A has not aged well. It sounds dated, pompous and self-important. How anyone with functioning ears can stand the bleeps and blips is beyond me. You get much of the same bleeps and blips that pass for music progress on this record. The The only "great" song on this album was written 10 years ago (while the band was busy making it's only "great" album). Let's face it folks, Kid A has not aged well. It sounds dated, pompous and self-important. How anyone with functioning ears can stand the bleeps and blips is beyond me. You get much of the same bleeps and blips that pass for music progress on this record. The first 2 tracks are typical of this album and of what Radiohead has become - poorly produces electro-turd music. In Rainbows is mediocre at best. I would hate to see the music collections of all the sheep rating it a 10. Expand
  26. BenW.
    Feb 9, 2008
    2
    Frankly, I think that this is self - indulgent crap. I mean, come on people! This CD is nowhere near the greatness of OK Computer, or any of their other Cd's. Of course, all of you fanboys are going to immediately give this CD a ten just because it's Radiohead. Seriously, they could put out a CD of random noises, dull songwriting, and stupid lyrics and you guys would love it. Oh Frankly, I think that this is self - indulgent crap. I mean, come on people! This CD is nowhere near the greatness of OK Computer, or any of their other Cd's. Of course, all of you fanboys are going to immediately give this CD a ten just because it's Radiohead. Seriously, they could put out a CD of random noises, dull songwriting, and stupid lyrics and you guys would love it. Oh wait, they just did. Expand
  27. NickLove
    Jun 16, 2008
    0
    This disc of radiohead is a garbage, this group is a shit, I dial all they are bad(wrong). Not because in the critiques they put him with good puntajes.
  28. agusb
    Oct 13, 2007
    1
    this is not music it's just weird sounds and someone speaking
  29. StevenJ.
    Oct 30, 2009
    0
    Can anyone understand what the singer is saying ever? hes bad and the melodies and musical style is stupid and bizarre.
  30. TimmyT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    Radiohead is, to put it simply, way past their time. Stop making music for God's sake. Your done.
  31. Sep 22, 2010
    0
    Like all their albums, this is experimentalism gone bad. They have very little to say, so they keep repeating themselves. Yuck. Unfortunately my girlfriend likes this crap so I am forced to endure more often than I care to recall...
  32. KevinT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    3
    I just don't get Radiohead. I love the song Creep... but uh it stops there for me. I Have tried on numerous times and failed to see the genius. What the heck am I missing? Listening to Radiohead reminds me of the misery I feel when I have to listen to a Rush song on the radio.
  33. BigSteveO
    Dec 20, 2007
    1
    For the second album in a row (3 if you count the Eraser), Radiohead sound like either they've lost it, or are just phoning it in. Iceage coming, indeed.
  34. JohnE
    Oct 14, 2007
    1
    Boring, adult-lite rock. Vague.
  35. happyhappy
    Oct 26, 2007
    2
    When Radiohead is good they're one of the 10-20 best bands ever, and are one of a very few recent acts to have produced more than three albums that are "near-classic" or better. But that doesn't The lyrics and concepts are AWFULLY cliched. No, SHOCK, the music here isn't all that revolutionary or innovative either (if you think it is, that just proves you've ignored an When Radiohead is good they're one of the 10-20 best bands ever, and are one of a very few recent acts to have produced more than three albums that are "near-classic" or better. But that doesn't The lyrics and concepts are AWFULLY cliched. No, SHOCK, the music here isn't all that revolutionary or innovative either (if you think it is, that just proves you've ignored an AWFUL lot of stuff), but lyrics about "Cheshire grins" and a "house of cards" are just STUPID. There's no other word for it. Radiohead is at their best when expressing the confusion of the modern world. Here they only express their OWN confusion. That's a distinction listeners can only hear if they aren't the sort of "mindless sheep" (another cliched term) that Radiohead has loved to rail against the last few years. None of these songs aren't about anything. But use them if you're the sort of person whose personal psyche NEEDS Radiohead to always put out classic albums, or who NEEDS there to be at least one classic album every year, or quarter, or whatever. Here "the Emperor has no clothes"--another terribly boring cliche that Thom will probably use on his next album. I gave this a 2. That means it's still twice as interesting as most other albums I've heard. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. In Rainbows really does present Radiohead at their most full-blooded and confident.
  2. Overall, the material feels more human, more honest, more assured.
  3. Happily, In Rainbows is pretty, pretty good.