User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1551 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. adamb.n
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    radiohead at their absolute best i dont recall having as many chills as that from an album since ok computer
  2. KeithR
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Simply beautiful! - Soulful, lush. Right up there with The Bends and Kid-A, combining many elements of both offerings in a decidedly mature release.
  3. nikv.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    A flawless album with lush and beautiful arrangements underpinned by Thom Yorke's exceptional voice. Stands up to OK Computer and The Bends. A masterful achievement.
  4. MagnusE
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Amazing. End of story. OK Computer II
  5. StacyH
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Absolutely love this album. From the awesome 90's college rock type songs like Bodysnatchers to the tranquil harmonies like All I Need, I am really loving this album. I'm on about my 20th listen now and I don't see my self stopping anytime soon.
  6. jasonz.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    This is starting to seem like their best album yet. I get the feeling that they are less afraid of pop music, especially based on Thom's latest quote on the blog. But this hasn't changed their obsession with making excellent and unique sounds. It just might make a little bit more sense to the average music lover than "Hail to the Theif", "Amnesiac", and "Kid A".
  7. bart
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    anyone who is not falling in love with this album simply does not have a soul.
  8. AnaG
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    No doubt, best album of 2007
  9. BenR
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Quite possibly the best record of the decade, maybe even since "OK Computer". Grab some headphones, put on "Nude", turn it up, close your eyes, and enjoy.
  10. GroovySpirit
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Their best since 'The Bends'! I'm a big fan but really didn't expect it to be this good! 'Reckoner' proves their superior originality - no other bands come close. 'Bodysnatchers' - love the way after the 2nd verse it turns from a standard catchy tune into a brilliant climax - all in 4 mins - love it! Best of all it sounds optimistic and happy - Their best since 'The Bends'! I'm a big fan but really didn't expect it to be this good! 'Reckoner' proves their superior originality - no other bands come close. 'Bodysnatchers' - love the way after the 2nd verse it turns from a standard catchy tune into a brilliant climax - all in 4 mins - love it! Best of all it sounds optimistic and happy - makes you wanna bop your head along to the multi-texture beats, grooves & guitar. Expand
  11. md
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    can't stop playing this cd. all i need is one of their best songs ever.
  12. AdrianB
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing album, Best album of the year.
  13. KD
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Honest, mature, so appreciated.
  14. luke
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    best album of the year!
  15. PaulC.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    What is Dusted Magazine and why does it get a vote? This is hands down one of the best albums of 007. Worth every penny you decide to pay for it.
  16. justinz
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Best Radiohead album since Kid A. Dare I say it even rivals OK Computer as Radiohead's best album...
  17. NikkiIkki
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Brilliant! Ive been waiting for a fifth of my life for this album... and it was well worth it!
  18. johnn.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    simply gorgeous!!!
  19. DanielL.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Emotional and darkness... Lindo, Radiohead.
  20. RobertV.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Amazing Album!!!!!!!
  21. [Anonymous]
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Best album ever!
  22. RyanT.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Listening to In Rainbows takes you from the bottom of the rainbow over the clouds and back down to earth at the end. Truly blissful.
  23. DD
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    This album contains some of the most beautiful music I have ever heard. About three of the songs hit an emotional chord that is equivalent to music from John Coltrane or Beethoven. Those tracks are sublime. The rest are very very high quality. I understand people who didn't like it. Most masterpieces sound awful the first time you hear it. A Love Supreme or The 9th Symphony by Ludwig This album contains some of the most beautiful music I have ever heard. About three of the songs hit an emotional chord that is equivalent to music from John Coltrane or Beethoven. Those tracks are sublime. The rest are very very high quality. I understand people who didn't like it. Most masterpieces sound awful the first time you hear it. A Love Supreme or The 9th Symphony by Ludwig Van isn't the most accessible on the first listen. It took me 3 times to get into OK Computer. The first time I heard it I thought it was trash. Sit through the album a couple of times while you are cleaning the house or checking email. It will hit you and you'll weep. Expand
  24. JoshW.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Elegant. Perfect.
  25. OlavJ
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Excellent ! ..all of it. Still, think twice before listening to this album when you're feeling down ..it could just drag you further
  26. MandyJ.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    This is their best album since OK Computer. I was skeptical at first, but I am glad I listened. Simply beautiful.
  27. JohnS.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    There's no doubt about the quality and genius of this album. Like all post-2000 Radiohead releases, it does take a few spins to begin appreciating, but the more you listen to it, the better it gets. Go ahead and treat yourself with Scotch_mist if you haven't already, it worth all your time. Best album of the year for me
  28. DaveP.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This is NEW, in the sense that Radiohead seems to consciously implode, then explodes again renewed. Great album, a graduate of their last.
  29. JackL.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    I'm a recent fan of Radiohead, and In Rainbows was the first one I listened, because of all the good critics about it. I can say this is THE best album so far. As I have read before in other coment: Album of The Year. Period.
  30. OsianL
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever listened to. Beautiful, innovative, smooth and deep- I just can't get bored of it.
  31. broj
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Seldom does an album actually deserve a 10, this one clearly does. It's a work of great beauty and shows the amazing talent of this seminal band. A great return after a slightly disappointing Hail To The Theif. Album of the year.
  32. ScottW
    May 5, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums ever made. Art rock at its best. Radiohead has always been one of the best artsy rock bands out. Few bands though other then Pink Floyd or Supertramp for example, get better and better when exploring them selves. In Rainbows is that kind of album and more. Like The Wall album or Breakfast in America, In Rainbows is a master of rock genius that shows just how One of the best albums ever made. Art rock at its best. Radiohead has always been one of the best artsy rock bands out. Few bands though other then Pink Floyd or Supertramp for example, get better and better when exploring them selves. In Rainbows is that kind of album and more. Like The Wall album or Breakfast in America, In Rainbows is a master of rock genius that shows just how priceless this group is. Expand
  33. PhillE
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Can't understand why more people dont look at this as their best album. I mean its absolute brilliant. Not only the 10 main songs, but also the ones on the second disk. I loved kida/amnesiac/hail but I just think this one has more of something, and not in complexity or groundbreaking whatever, I just think they play the instrument better in this, arrangement is better. For me its Can't understand why more people dont look at this as their best album. I mean its absolute brilliant. Not only the 10 main songs, but also the ones on the second disk. I loved kida/amnesiac/hail but I just think this one has more of something, and not in complexity or groundbreaking whatever, I just think they play the instrument better in this, arrangement is better. For me its like they have taken all the fantastic stuff they already had going on and just made it perfect. Album of the decade if you ask me. Expand
  34. kevinl
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    The sweetest, softest music ever music that impacts you as a human being and really makes you feel.
  35. FredrichL
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    The best album I have ever heard. Amazing.
  36. MichaelL
    Apr 1, 2010
    10
    Another brilliant album from Radiohead. A mix of alternative and electronic, a true collection of great hits. Although it may not be as good as some of their older albums it's nothing short of amazing with a new experience of songs waiting to be explored!
  37. JohnA.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    a great album
  38. MuSauce
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    I instantly fell in love with this cd. Its brilliantly simple, and relaxed. 10!
  39. MarkP.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Miles above everyone else.
  40. IselStocks
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    It makes me wonder what music sounded like before I heard this album.
  41. HaroldN
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    every element they create in the past you can find on these beautiful piece.. the best album of 2007.
  42. christopherk.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    DUH!
  43. ChrisA
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    I dig it baby.
  44. georgeb
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    yes yes yes...this is radiohead
  45. Graham
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Cmon....still the best songwritier's on the planet....no need to explain....just listen
  46. jasonwl
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    best since Kid-a.enjoy it much more than HTTT, Radiohead just never stop to amazed us
  47. MikeS
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    One of the most beautiful records I've heard in a while. Yore's vocals sound better than ever, as they soar through lush string arrangements and ambient sounds. Some of the climatic moments on this record are so powerful that if you don't feel something you must have no nerve endings. Absolutely mesmerizing.
  48. PatriciaP
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    The most beautiful, honest, touching album I've ever heard.
  49. BaldurH
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Their best offering since Kid A. Just thrillingly beautiful!
  50. robynl
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    flipping brilliant
  51. KevinE
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Ghostly! RADIHEAD find's the peaceful median between KID A's shoegazing territory and Hail to the thief's Mournful guitar rock. IN RAINBOWS plays nothing like any of there previous efforts, but holds all there strenghts in it's pocket. In Rainbow's may very well go down in history as not only one of there greatest, but one of the greatest of our time. Standout Ghostly! RADIHEAD find's the peaceful median between KID A's shoegazing territory and Hail to the thief's Mournful guitar rock. IN RAINBOWS plays nothing like any of there previous efforts, but holds all there strenghts in it's pocket. In Rainbow's may very well go down in history as not only one of there greatest, but one of the greatest of our time. Standout track : ALL I NEED. What would this decade be without Radiohead. Sure we have some great bands. Arcade Fire, Beck, Joanna Newsom, Coldplay, Broken Social Scene, Sufjan Stevens, The white Stripes, and others ( Not gunna list them all) Point is 60's had THE BEATLES and STONES, 70's had LED ZEPPLIN, AND NEIL YOUNG, 80's had TALKING HEADS, REM, U2, 90's and 00's -JUST RADIOHEAD Expand
  52. EdwardM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing.
  53. TaylorW
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Enchanting, spellbinding, surprising. Radiohead's best yet.
  54. johnb
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. Not a track that disapoints at all.
  55. ErwinG.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Another Great one from Radio. Music full of feelings & emotion.
  56. Michaelshutyourmouth
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Next to Kid A. Pure genius.
  57. DamirR.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    A master-piece for generations to come.
  58. JoeG.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Radiohead always somehow makes the most meaningful music when the world isn't quite ready to understand it fully. At the same time it always seems perfect.
  59. GregB
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    A+++++This album is perfection. 10/10 What more can be said?
  60. JanuszG.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Their poppiest album since The Bends. Brilliant all the way.
  61. chuckg.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    This album is a grower that gets better with every listen. Its up their with o.k computer wich i love.
  62. pix101101
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    I love all previous Radiohead albums, but this is the one I'll play when people not too familiar with the band are around... This album is just Perfect on every level!
  63. JustinH.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  64. JustinH.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  65. JuanZ
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    After 4 years of "silence", In Rainbows represents, for me, the most accomplished album the band had in their discography. Every single song is just great.
  66. AshleyG.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Wonderful Album Radiohead's best since Ok Computer... should be listening to this for a long while!
  67. declanmm
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    simply superb an instant classic have to get the cd version of the cd which is a bit steep at 40 sterling but sometimes its worth bending over for the best album of the year
  68. LeoM.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, just beautiful. I cant imagine listening else for a long long time.
  69. BenK.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable
  70. RiazD
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    simply amazing. these guys know how to be original and sound great at the same time!
  71. ChristianM
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    I have a theory: Every single song on the album apty depicts a color. All I Need is a thermal song (red) while Weird Fishes is very aquatic (blue) and House of Cards has a smokey feel (indigo). Videotape ends the album perfectly, describing the core colors of a projector (red, blue, green), and successfully combines these colors to make a dark ambiance (black). There is virtually every I have a theory: Every single song on the album apty depicts a color. All I Need is a thermal song (red) while Weird Fishes is very aquatic (blue) and House of Cards has a smokey feel (indigo). Videotape ends the album perfectly, describing the core colors of a projector (red, blue, green), and successfully combines these colors to make a dark ambiance (black). There is virtually every mood you can think of on this album, and it all fits together in a beautiful rainbow. Expand
  72. headerfooter
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Radiohead makes more than music. They create atmospheres with their sounds that some people just cannot understand. It is more about the experience than individual songs with Radiohead. You have to hand it to them, no matter how complex their arrangements they always seem to keep it down to earth.
  73. chris
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    People are fucking stupid if they think radiohead sucks. I mean come on, they are the best thing since the beatles. This is their best work. I surpasses any of their other work, and in a close second is Kid A. What the fuck are people who say it's sucks, thinking? It is their first beautiful album. From start to finish, there is no ok song or some what good song, they are all People are fucking stupid if they think radiohead sucks. I mean come on, they are the best thing since the beatles. This is their best work. I surpasses any of their other work, and in a close second is Kid A. What the fuck are people who say it's sucks, thinking? It is their first beautiful album. From start to finish, there is no ok song or some what good song, they are all amazing. In Rainbows is a fucking masterpiece, any one who says otherwise are fucking retarded. And for those people who say it suck, how bout you start listening to good music. I'm sure the ones who say it suck probably listens to some bull shit like the kottonmouth kings. Great job radiohead. Expand
  74. RR
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Beautiful, haunting, moving, incredible, totally impressive musicianship, fantastic ideas, at home between the avantgarde and pop, multi-layered, peaceful, gorgeous, heart-breaking - did I cover it all? Radiohead do it again. Thank you for enriching our lives with this, your best record. @RJ M.: you obviously forgot that one needs to be able to FEEL in order to appreciate music. rest Beautiful, haunting, moving, incredible, totally impressive musicianship, fantastic ideas, at home between the avantgarde and pop, multi-layered, peaceful, gorgeous, heart-breaking - did I cover it all? Radiohead do it again. Thank you for enriching our lives with this, your best record. @RJ M.: you obviously forgot that one needs to be able to FEEL in order to appreciate music. rest assured: we all know why we love this band. we understand what they do, we know what they're about. sad for you if you don't. now crawl back into your spiteful little hole. Expand
  75. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Best album ever!
  76. darrens.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Brilliant album.
  77. carlosm.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    album of the decade.
  78. Francisco
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Thank you Radiohead.
  79. MattB
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Who knew they had yet another brilliant album up their sleeve? More excited about what the future holds for Radiohead than I have been for over half a decade.
  80. ChrisM.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Far and away the best album of 2007. RJ M. , if you hate Radiohead so much, stop fucking listening to them. That sounds like a personal problem, and one that I'm not sure why you keep handling by listening to music you can't stand. And yet you claim to have such an extensive knowledge of their catalogue! How odd. Anyway, Phil Selway's never sounded better (this is coming Far and away the best album of 2007. RJ M. , if you hate Radiohead so much, stop fucking listening to them. That sounds like a personal problem, and one that I'm not sure why you keep handling by listening to music you can't stand. And yet you claim to have such an extensive knowledge of their catalogue! How odd. Anyway, Phil Selway's never sounded better (this is coming from a drummer) and Thom Yorke's usually cryptic lyrics are surpisingly lucid. I am no minion--I resisted Radiohead for 10 years before I finally came around. I don't listen to music because everyone else tells me to; that's for people who listen to Nickelback...or any other completely insipid, uninspired, cookie-cutter band that is constantly played by MTV and on the radio. Radiohead challenges every facet of the mainstream rock audience by telling them it doesn't have to be similar to be popular. Thank God for bands like them. Otherwise I would be stuck listening to condescending pseudo-critics such as yourself who believe that by dismissing a critically-acclaimed band they are doing everyone else a favor. I appreciate it buddy. Oh, and yes, I do take this personally. Expand
  81. jv
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Subtle and brilliant. Their finest, most straightforward work ever. There is not a moment of filler here, and every single track is perfectly balanced and produced.
  82. DanC
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Dusted Magazine is clearly full of idiots. The best thing about Radiohead is that they do not write songs that are easy to digest. The beauty of this album is it's simplicity. Listening to In Rainbows is a completely different experience than listening to any of their other albums. Jonny Greenwood was clearly given the green light to use his orchestral skills and Radiohead have come Dusted Magazine is clearly full of idiots. The best thing about Radiohead is that they do not write songs that are easy to digest. The beauty of this album is it's simplicity. Listening to In Rainbows is a completely different experience than listening to any of their other albums. Jonny Greenwood was clearly given the green light to use his orchestral skills and Radiohead have come up with some of the most beautiful songs in their wonderful career (Nude & Reckoner). It's safe to say that this is a band who has not wavered. Thank you Radiohead for inspiring so many and having the courage to be unique in a world full of cloned, bubble gum crap. Expand
  83. AdamSD
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    A very worthy successor to Hail to the Thief.
  84. JTryptophan
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Please stop asking Dusted Magazine for reviews when they clearly just phone them in. If they are interested in reading books then have them rank books. A 40 is just laughable and probably out of spite. In Rainbows is a beautiful album that is groundbreaking not only in it's musical merit but in the way it changed the landscape of music commerce.
  85. IsaacR.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Truly amazing.
  86. MAUMEJEANP.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Awesome album as expected. The flaw is incredible. Nude is Radiohead emotional peak.
  87. JennieF
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    The most consistent, cohesive album my favorite band has released since Kid A. The most compulsively listenable since OK Computer. There has been nothing else in my cd player for a week.
  88. Marek
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Upstairs on the right, somewhere there is a Magical breakdown of assets. I fïnally recognize them.
  89. NicoleY
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Just brilliant!
  90. LeahT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Brilliant as usual. This double-album (arguably...), now extended to include scathingly beautiful bits such as "Last Flowers" and "Go Slowly," along with the mellow, inventive funk of of "Down is the New Up," is undoubtedly a masterpiece. This band continues to evolve while the rest of the world remains stagnant. Can't wait for LP8...hee hee.
  91. JustinH.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  92. TT
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Some of the people giving this album a 0 or 1 sounds like jellus Coldplay fans. Excellent record. Different from anything out there and anything they've ever recorded. It takes several listens to fully digest and to be fully appreciated. I hope this isn't their last record.
  93. ColmanM
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Chillingly beatiful.
  94. Nico
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Like all great albums, it gets better every time you listen to it.
  95. JulienGross
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Radiohead a bit more accessible than in the past work... beautiful album from the 1st track to the last one. Probably my favorite buy in the pas 2 years. I thought they were at the top, but I was amazed once more with this new release.
  96. IggyL.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year, and Radiohead's 3rd best album. No doubt about that.
  97. krzysztofziewacz
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Launched me into the space.
  98. Fred
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Priceless!!! Another masterpiece from Radiohead.
  99. TBone
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Umm, yes. Easily album of the year. I think you have to listen to it about 5 times. Watch the video for Nude on youtube. Mezmerizing and a pure work of art. Seriously there are about 7-8 songs on here that are beyond belief. I'm not just a fanboy spammer, I'm serious. I love "Weird Fishes". "All I need" has such incredible bass. They should put this album on voyager X and launch Umm, yes. Easily album of the year. I think you have to listen to it about 5 times. Watch the video for Nude on youtube. Mezmerizing and a pure work of art. Seriously there are about 7-8 songs on here that are beyond belief. I'm not just a fanboy spammer, I'm serious. I love "Weird Fishes". "All I need" has such incredible bass. They should put this album on voyager X and launch it into space so aliens can hear it. Expand
  100. MauricioE.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    This disc is one of the best.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. In Rainbows really does present Radiohead at their most full-blooded and confident.
  2. Overall, the material feels more human, more honest, more assured.
  3. Happily, In Rainbows is pretty, pretty good.