In the Lonely Hour

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
In the Lonely Hour Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length release for the British neo-R&B singer-songwriter.
Buy On

Top Track

Stay with Me
Guess it's true, I'm not good at a one-night stand But I still need love cause I'm just a man These nights never seem to go to plan I don't want you... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    85
    Smith bares more than his vocal cords on this record. Every story of unrequited love that's been put to song is powerful in its own right.
  2. May 27, 2014
    80
    It’s universally accessible, and it’s the kind of pop that has the potential to dominate the charts and win over hearts during festival slots.
  3. May 27, 2014
    70
    This is an understated and promising first step from an unpredictable and distinctive talent.
  4. May 27, 2014
    60
    Smith's vocals are spot-on throughout, save for the odd Mariah-esque trickle towards X Factor auditionee theatrics, and find themselves paired with as pitch-perfect a production as has been heard all year.
  5. 58
    In the Lonely Hour is inexpressive and hard to sit through despite being built for easy listening.
  6. 50
    Smith’ sugary falsetto comes across a tad one dimensional and inexpressive on his solo debut In The Lonely Hour.
  7. 40
    It’s a shame to see a talented guy rushed into making the wrong record.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    This album is amazing! The truth is there are some songs that are not meant for his range but almost very song is extremely true andThis album is amazing! The truth is there are some songs that are not meant for his range but almost very song is extremely true and emotional! If people want something happy then go buy another album! His album is part of him and as fans we must listen to what he's saying not to tell him how we think he must do his albums! Love you Sam! Been a fan since the very beginning! Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    Sam Smith I will say is simply amazing his songs are so amazing that I wonder if its still music or something else,Like Seriously I 've neverSam Smith I will say is simply amazing his songs are so amazing that I wonder if its still music or something else,Like Seriously I 've never seen anything like in the lonely hour in my whole life.
    He's a phenomenon.Surely an influence.
    Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    Vocal masterpiece. All the reasons why I fell in love with R&B. Disconsolate yet it makes you understand a new level of pain which isVocal masterpiece. All the reasons why I fell in love with R&B. Disconsolate yet it makes you understand a new level of pain which is uplifting. Perfect use of falsetto. The album is coherent and follows a story about rejection and becoming okay with it. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    Música é feita para mexer com os sentimentos do ser humano. Quais sentimentos são esses? Isso tudo depende, principalmente, de quem ouve eMúsica é feita para mexer com os sentimentos do ser humano. Quais sentimentos são esses? Isso tudo depende, principalmente, de quem ouve e qual o seu estado de espírito que se encontra. Por isso, sempre é necessário deixar a guarda abaixada para ouvir uma canção e deixar se levar pelas emoções expostas pelos artistas. Infelizmente, no atual mundo cada vez mais cínico em que vivemos, estamos sendo transformados em cabeças pensantes destituídas de emoção em razão da massificação que transformam pessoas em seres "brancos" para se misturem perfeitamente na multidão. Uma das "raças" que mais sofrem desse mal são os "críticos": aqueles serem que servem para julgar o trabalho dos outros. Em busca da aceitação pelas cabeças pensantes, muitos esquecem que a música (a arte de uma maneira geral) é feita de emoção e, não, apenas, de razão. Por isso, seus julgamentos estão cada vez mais pautados em detalhes tão elitizados que o fator emoção se perde. Uma lástima abominável.

    Vocês leram essa introdução/desabafo tão grande para que eu possa explicar o que direciona o meu "trabalho" aqui e no blog: emoção. Claro, também preciso dar espaço para a razão, mas não é ela que está no comando no "frigir dos ovos". Então, vocês poderão notar que a critica que segue, provavelmente, deve ser bem distinta do que os "conceituados" críticos vão achar sobre o debut álbum do inglês Sam Smith: In the Lonely Hour é um trabalho muito bom, pois é um trabalho emocionante.

    Sam Smith não quer nada mais que apenas tirar um suspiro ou uma lágrima de quem ouvir sua música. E isso não é problema nenhum já que ele consegue fazer com maestria. Aqui, Sam não está em busca de sentimentos refinados e complicados, mas, sim, ele busca tirar os sentimentos mais primários e simples que um ser humano pode possuir. In the Lonely Hour é sobre corações quebrados, amores frustrados e decepções devastadoras. Nada mais primário que sofrer por amor. Nada mais simples que o amor, pois, em sua complexidade estrutural, ele é igual para todos os seres humanos na face da Terra. Porém, Sam não pretende elevar esses sentimentos aos píncaros da glória como fez a Adele em 21, mas, simplesmente, fazer você apenas sentir essa dor "agridoce" do amor. Como principal compositor, Sam entrega letras magistralmente delicadas, mas com uma emoção verdadeira e tocante. Desde os sentimentos mais platônicos até os mais melancólicos, In the Lonely Hour é uma viagem na mente de um jovem que coloca em músicas as suas experiências. Sincero e sensível. Essas são as principais qualidades das composições, mesmo não sendo trabalhos geniais no que tange a construção, conseguem cumprir seu objetivo com o máximo de louvor. E nada muda o fato que Sam revelou que o álbum foi feito para uma paixão não correspondida dele por outro homem. Amor é amor.

    Emoldurando todo esse turbilhão de emoções, Sam Smith também se mostrar um cantor com um potencial imenso. Ninguém melhor que o próprio autor das composições para interpretá-las, então, por isso, espere performances emocionantes e quase viscerais. Porém, Sam segue um caminho interessante ao entregar essas emoções de maneira contida, intimista e delicada deixando as canções mais leves sem cair no dramalhão desnecessário. Com ajuda de seu belíssimo tom, Sam entrega momentos inspirados como, por exemplo, em Lay Me Down, aqui em uma versão diferente do que foi lançada como single, em que a produção, aliada com os vocais magníficos de Sam, criam um trabalho impressionante trabalhando com as nuances e um clímax de tirar o fôlego. Infelizmente, nem tudo são elogios para In the Lonely Hour. O álbum é basicamente um trabalho pop com inspiração soul em que a produção faz um trabalho correto e bem, mas careta em sua sonoridade, sem apresentar nada de novo ou mais ousado. Ao menos, a produção acerta o tom das faixas ajudando positivamente o resultado final. Outros momentos de destaque, além do já citado, do álbum são Stay With Me, Leave Your Lover, Not In That Way e Make It To Me. O que eu não entendi é a canção Money On My Mind, a grande bola fora do CD. Contudo, o que importa aqui é que Sam Smith fez um álbum para ser ouvido de coração aberto. E que bom que tem ainda pessoas capazes de produzir esse tipo de trabalho sem se importar com as opiniões de críticos. Inclusive essa, que nada mais é que apenas mais uma opinião. Honesta, mas apenas mais uma.
    Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2015
    6
    This album has great lyrics but I feel that it's just like every other album. Nothing surprising it's all about heartbreak.... Even thoughThis album has great lyrics but I feel that it's just like every other album. Nothing surprising it's all about heartbreak.... Even though this of them has great number one song favorite is stay with me

    OVERALL GRADE 78 C+
    Album feels old
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2014
    5
    I really like this album but yes, I get really depressed and sad every time i listen to it lol! I wish he could just cheer up because hisI really like this album but yes, I get really depressed and sad every time i listen to it lol! I wish he could just cheer up because his voice really is good on the upbeat tracks. Sorry Sam. I like you but get happy! :) Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2014
    0
    There's far too much hype about this album, it's all over nothing. The opening track is quite possibly one of the worst UK number 1 singlesThere's far too much hype about this album, it's all over nothing. The opening track is quite possibly one of the worst UK number 1 singles ever. It just shows that **** over-hyped, pointless music sells. I wish this album didn't exist. I've heard a cover of the track "Stay with Me" by Florence Welch (Florence + the Machine) and her version is better by miles. As much as this may not help, steer clear of this album, even though it'll probably be amongst the best selling albums of 2014 at the end of the year. As for his Critics Choice win at the BRITs earlier this year, why are there so many mixed/negative reviews if he was the "critics" choice? I personally find that it's not even proper critics that make the choice. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews