In Time

  • Record Label: Valory
  • Release Date: Feb 26, 2013
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    To say this album is a return to form wouldn't be quite correct. It's an extension of it.
  2. 90
    As diverse as ever, this is the kind of comeback every once-defunct act strives for but few deliver with the consistency and sheer enthusiasm exhibited here.
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    78
    In Time is the best kind of band reunion, honoring and expanding the Mavericks' legacy rather than exploiting it.
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    70
    There’s enough ambition here to elevate The Mavericks’ comeback above the perfunctory.
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    100
    They've captured a sound as tangibly uplifting as pop music gets. The Mavericks are back and indeed, just in time.
  6. Magnet
    Mar 15, 2013
    90
    A rousing, energetic exploration of the Roy Orbison-influenced rock 'n' roll, classic country and Latin influences--that blows all the damn mall-folk clogging up our inbox out of the goddamn water. [No. 96, p.57]
  7. Feb 27, 2013
    78
    The Mavericks understand the potency of a band that plays as a solid unit and embellishes that sound accordingly--not quite brazen, but flaring with machismo.
  8. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    There are no wasted words or melodies, noodling frills or mindless riffs. Everything is present for a reason; to create an effect or sustain a mood.
  9. Q Magazine
    Feb 8, 2013
    80
    [The Mavericks'] sound refreshed, recharged and better than ever. [Feb 2013, p.106]
  10. They're back now, all troubles set aside, and the results are good.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    Although I've listened to a lot of music over the past 30 years, for some reason I was never turned to these guys. The high metacriticAlthough I've listened to a lot of music over the past 30 years, for some reason I was never turned to these guys. The high metacritic ratings caught my interest, and I'm glad I gave it a listen. The first three or four tracks were quite impressive. After that, unfortunately, it settled into a sameness that keeps me from rating it higher. But I'll definitely be going back to check out their earlier stuff. Full Review »
  2. May 20, 2013
    6
    Sorry, while this effort is okay, the older Mavericks albums were infused with more energy and better songs. I miss the innovative stylingsSorry, while this effort is okay, the older Mavericks albums were infused with more energy and better songs. I miss the innovative stylings of those records.

    This album contains far too many knock offs of old riffs and songs that just plain sound alike. Born to Be Blue and Come Unto Me are virtually identical aside from the lyrics, and come right after one another on the record.

    In Time contains too many of Raul Malo's slow ballads in the style of Roy Orbison. Nice, but nothing worthy of praise or note. Check out Raul's solo work for more of the same if this is your thing.

    My playlist of Mavericks tunes will remain stuck in the 90's.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    This is a much realer album that I expected. It's simple, kind of raw, and to the point. No messing around. I'm hearing bits of variousThis is a much realer album that I expected. It's simple, kind of raw, and to the point. No messing around. I'm hearing bits of various genres being blended together, as that's how it goes these days with progressive artists. Not bad. Full Review »