Is Your Love Big Enough?

  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Aug 7, 2012
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    60
    Inoffensive to the nth degree, this is a sleeping pill, not the double espresso we ordered.
  2. Mojo
    Jul 19, 2012
    60
    La Havas sets herself apart from the coffee shop set with a rough-hewn edge. [Aug 2012, p.92]
  3. There are enough dreamlike melodies to sustain your attention rather than zoning out completely, but in reality it's all just very comfortable.
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    60
    Essentially, Is Your Love Big Enough? is a restrained, technically proficient showpiece for a gifted artist.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    The most appealing thing about Lianne La Havas' debut album is how imperfect it is. She is a work-in-progress, with lots of room to grow.
  6. 60
    The pleasures of Is Your Love Big Enough? lie in its subtleties, though: the way La Havas's vocals purr and pounce by turns, how Matt Hales's production refuses to be obvious. Showboating is kept to a minimum – as, indeed, is the threat of supermarket cheesiness.
  7. Uncut
    Jul 17, 2012
    60
    The singer runs out of steam in the second half, opting for a succession of cloying ballads that, despite her beguiling voice, leaves the listener unmoved. [Aug 2012, p.75]
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Man! This is fantastic! La Havas is definitely the most interesting artist I've found in months. The album is brilliant in every way possible.Man! This is fantastic! La Havas is definitely the most interesting artist I've found in months. The album is brilliant in every way possible. Sonically, lyrically, musically, even emotionally. This is definitely amongst five or ten of the best releases this year. From "Don't Wake Me Up" to "Forget" to "They Could Be Wrong", the feeling and concept deliver brilliantly in a very climactic sensation. Kudos! Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    This album is fantastic. I stumbled onto her music randomly and immediately recognized the talent. She is one of the rare artist that can doThis album is fantastic. I stumbled onto her music randomly and immediately recognized the talent. She is one of the rare artist that can do it better live than recorded. This is rare. She had the same effect on me that The Beggars Who Give did when I first heard them. Go Lianne! Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Here comes 'Is Your Love Big enough?' An amazing sweet debut by British singer, Lianne La Havas. As soon as I heard this album, I fell in loveHere comes 'Is Your Love Big enough?' An amazing sweet debut by British singer, Lianne La Havas. As soon as I heard this album, I fell in love with it instantly. The album is just Lianne with her guitar and heart-felt lyrics. In my eyes this album was a best of 2012 Full Review »