Is Your Love Big Enough?

  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Aug 7, 2012
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    It isn't often that audiences are given so much all at once from such a young artist, and listeners will find Is Your Love Big Enough? worthy of many repeat listens.
  2. 88
    Repeated listenings only prove how strong and artful this collection is.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    86
    Like her fellow countrywomen, Is Your Love Big Enough? has a core of strong songwriting that helps La Havas elbow her way into a field packed with talented women drawing from the deep well of American soul.
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    80
    The pleasures of Is Your Love Big Enough? are unquestionably immediate, but the real excitement is in wondering where her curiosity takes her next.
  5. 80
    It's rhythm as resilience and life force, an innate sense of confidence that makes even her bitter songs somehow reassuring.
  6. Q Magazine
    Jul 25, 2012
    80
    There's a lot going in here, but it's delivered with an effortless charm that trusts listeners to pay due attention in their own sweet time. So far, so swimmingly. [Aug 2012, p.94]
  7. Not a perfect debut, but one that leaves you with the feeling that we're dealing with a living, thinking artist here, not just another Brit School waxwork.
  8. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    By releasing a debut with such honesty at its core Lianne will find a nation falling in love with her.
  9. 80
    Sonically adventurous and genre hopping.
  10. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    The lyrics dwell on troubled romance, but the cool, pretty, expertly arranged music washes over you like a healing wave.
  11. Aug 7, 2012
    70
    There are some great tracks--a standout being gorgeous opener "Don't Wake Me Up"--but, at times, it veers a bit too far into the saccharine, with the playing, unlike the singing, lacking a bit of soul.
  12. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Some of the songs are restrained and bare to the point of being plain and easy to disregard, but they succeed in accentuating La Havas' thoughtful and often sharp words.
  13. 70
    Perhaps at times the material is a bit too perfectly, and a few raw edges might not go amiss. But that's little by way of criticism.
  14. Jul 9, 2012
    70
    The album is solid from start to finish
  15. Jul 9, 2012
    70
    Despite these weaker moments of Is Your Love Big Enough?, it's La Havas' gorgeous voice and gifted string fingers that'll make the biggest impressions. This might not be a home run straight out of the gate, but it's an extremely promising first swing of the bat.
  16. Aug 9, 2012
    60
    Inoffensive to the nth degree, this is a sleeping pill, not the double espresso we ordered.
  17. Aug 9, 2012
    60
    Essentially, Is Your Love Big Enough? is a restrained, technically proficient showpiece for a gifted artist.
  18. Mojo
    Jul 19, 2012
    60
    La Havas sets herself apart from the coffee shop set with a rough-hewn edge. [Aug 2012, p.92]
  19. Uncut
    Jul 17, 2012
    60
    The singer runs out of steam in the second half, opting for a succession of cloying ballads that, despite her beguiling voice, leaves the listener unmoved. [Aug 2012, p.75]
  20. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    The most appealing thing about Lianne La Havas' debut album is how imperfect it is. She is a work-in-progress, with lots of room to grow.
  21. 60
    The pleasures of Is Your Love Big Enough? lie in its subtleties, though: the way La Havas's vocals purr and pounce by turns, how Matt Hales's production refuses to be obvious. Showboating is kept to a minimum – as, indeed, is the threat of supermarket cheesiness.
  22. There are enough dreamlike melodies to sustain your attention rather than zoning out completely, but in reality it's all just very comfortable.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Man! This is fantastic! La Havas is definitely the most interesting artist I've found in months. The album is brilliant in every way possible.Man! This is fantastic! La Havas is definitely the most interesting artist I've found in months. The album is brilliant in every way possible. Sonically, lyrically, musically, even emotionally. This is definitely amongst five or ten of the best releases this year. From "Don't Wake Me Up" to "Forget" to "They Could Be Wrong", the feeling and concept deliver brilliantly in a very climactic sensation. Kudos! Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    This album is fantastic. I stumbled onto her music randomly and immediately recognized the talent. She is one of the rare artist that can doThis album is fantastic. I stumbled onto her music randomly and immediately recognized the talent. She is one of the rare artist that can do it better live than recorded. This is rare. She had the same effect on me that The Beggars Who Give did when I first heard them. Go Lianne! Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Here comes 'Is Your Love Big enough?' An amazing sweet debut by British singer, Lianne La Havas. As soon as I heard this album, I fell in loveHere comes 'Is Your Love Big enough?' An amazing sweet debut by British singer, Lianne La Havas. As soon as I heard this album, I fell in love with it instantly. The album is just Lianne with her guitar and heart-felt lyrics. In my eyes this album was a best of 2012 Full Review »