It's Blitz

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 108
  2. Negative: 6 out of 108

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    9
    Awesome dance pop album, even better live. This is definately my favorite record from them and one of the best albums from that year.
  2. LukeW
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    An incredible return to all-conquering form, the Yeah Yeah Yeah's are back!!!
  3. SiddhartaK
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    It's been a long time since I've been so addicted to an album. This is amazing. Incredible. I love it! It's great with a little change, and just as Nick Zinner said: "You can't do the same thing over and over, or you'll end up being a parody of yourself".
  4. TroyT
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    Another triumph by the YYY's! Nick Zinner is still a guitar cannibal- utilizing classic, angular YYY guitar work that hits in the jugular. Only this time, masking it in a homage of 80's ether- bringing the punk grime of CBGB's to the pristine, ecstacy-laced dancefloors of the Lower East Side. Some tracks like "Skeletons" are a little weaker and "Dragon Queen" seems Another triumph by the YYY's! Nick Zinner is still a guitar cannibal- utilizing classic, angular YYY guitar work that hits in the jugular. Only this time, masking it in a homage of 80's ether- bringing the punk grime of CBGB's to the pristine, ecstacy-laced dancefloors of the Lower East Side. Some tracks like "Skeletons" are a little weaker and "Dragon Queen" seems completely unnecessarily placed in the package in order to seal up the 'cracks in the concrete'. However, overall, this is the most even YYY album of their career. Expand
  5. JenC
    Jun 20, 2009
    9
    Sure I miss Nick Zinner's guitars. I don't even typically like the dance music that influenced this album. But I can't pretend that I don't think this is the YYY's best album. And there's not an album I've listened to more this year so far. "Skeletons" is one of the most beautiful tracks ever. Well done NYC art poseurs...well done. Lydia Lunch can go F herself.
  6. BradJ.
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    It's Blitz is my 2009 CD of the year. It seems like the people that panned this CD gave it a low rating because it's not a rehashed Fever to Tell. Well, thats because Karen O. isn't 23 anymore. I respect the YYYs for not being complacent and trying to do something different.
  7. JackG
    Apr 12, 2009
    10
    Irresistible. I'd give it 8 but I want to rank the average higher ;)
  8. ellybelly
    Apr 22, 2009
    9
    As far as 2009 goes, this is the best album I've heard all year.
  9. Goose
    Apr 3, 2009
    9
    Some people may not like the fact that the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have changed their sound a bit. But I think this is the perfect direction they could've taken. The album contains some of the band's best material (e.g., Soft Shock, Skeletons, Hysteric and Little Shadow). This CD will only disappoint you if you're looking for "Fever to Tell Part II".
  10. JohnW
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    amazing and catchy!
  11. Sauce_Master
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    The best they've ever done. As of April, it's also the best album of the year.
  12. LeeL
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    Fantastic Album! The YYY's fresh take on their unique sound is superbly crafted and sounds great! Full of catchy tunes this album is sure to be a crowd-pleasing success!
  13. TobyH
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    Brilliant from start to finish- especially Heads Will Roll, Soft Shock and Dragon Queen. Only Dull Life lets it down.
  14. RichieF.
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    The best album of 2009. period. It's Blitz, It's Amazing! Because of this album, I am a diehard fan of the wonderful Yeah Yeah Yeahs, now. They show me why I love music so much! Thank you Karen, Brian, and Nick.
  15. DusanZ.
    Sep 7, 2009
    10
    This splendoriferous gem is 2009's finest! You'll probably find yourself wanting to 'dance, dance, dance till you're dead'.
  16. SimonS
    Apr 1, 2009
    9
    Great album, and it should have some billboard charting hits Im predicting. The album starts strong with 'zero' and 'soft shock' and especially 'skeletons'. From 'runaway' anwards there are NO lags in the album, all great songs. I haven't heard the 15 song special edition version of this album but im wishing that i paid the extra $3Cdn on Great album, and it should have some billboard charting hits Im predicting. The album starts strong with 'zero' and 'soft shock' and especially 'skeletons'. From 'runaway' anwards there are NO lags in the album, all great songs. I haven't heard the 15 song special edition version of this album but im wishing that i paid the extra $3Cdn on Itunes to get. Should be a fan pleasing album as well as commercial success. Expand
  17. FrankS
    Apr 1, 2009
    9
    Awesome path for the YYY's to take. Regardless of anyone saying that MGMT may have given them their script, MGMT cannot fathom the depth and range that Karen O has with her presence and vocals. The songs are all pretty great with even the not fantastic still being a great exercise in songwriting and production. For a band that has always scaled down to produce and explore other Awesome path for the YYY's to take. Regardless of anyone saying that MGMT may have given them their script, MGMT cannot fathom the depth and range that Karen O has with her presence and vocals. The songs are all pretty great with even the not fantastic still being a great exercise in songwriting and production. For a band that has always scaled down to produce and explore other sounds is always a treat. I highly recommend this for anyone that was a fan, and am expecting great things from this tour. To imagine this music with the tracks from Fever, and Show, well it's going to be a fantastic tracklist! Expand
  18. KC
    Apr 1, 2009
    9
    At first It's Blitz is jarring in that its sound on the surface is a lot different: more electronic/beat heavy, more restrained and cleaner. However, after a few listens I have fully warmed up to it and feel it's one of their most mature and well-written albums. "Hysteric" is a chill and beautiful gem. There's still a lot of the grit and edge that made the YYYs so appealing At first It's Blitz is jarring in that its sound on the surface is a lot different: more electronic/beat heavy, more restrained and cleaner. However, after a few listens I have fully warmed up to it and feel it's one of their most mature and well-written albums. "Hysteric" is a chill and beautiful gem. There's still a lot of the grit and edge that made the YYYs so appealing before, but it's been tweaked so that they're still interesting yet moving forward. Expand
  19. TomP
    Apr 18, 2009
    9
    So the Yeah Yeah Yeahs make a electronic/dance album, totally unexpected, and it's still amazing. Easily some of their best songs to date, and possibly their best album. Nice. (The acoustic tracks are worth downloading too, if you want to get a grip on some of the songs, but aren't quite into the new sound.)
  20. DonovanS
    Apr 2, 2009
    9
    Easily the best and most infectious album of the year so far. The first 2 tracks, "Zero" and "Heads Will Roll" are simply amazing. Several other gems on this album to round it out.
  21. ChrisS
    Apr 21, 2009
    8
    Im glad i took art in high school b/c i met a cuul girl who turned me on to this ill band. 'Its Blitz' shows their sound so evolved and different, it is the same killer band--more tuned & polished, fantastic production, creative lyrics--hear for yourself !
  22. GavanB
    Apr 5, 2009
    9
    Genre mislabeled. Although the Yeah Yeah Yeahs are an Indie Rock group, the majority of this album is clearly dance music. Amazing album all the way through, although it does have that commercial gateway indie feel. The dance numbers are Lady Tron with a splash of Madonna. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs seem to be moving in the same direction of Kings of Leon: mass appeal, but still cool as a Genre mislabeled. Although the Yeah Yeah Yeahs are an Indie Rock group, the majority of this album is clearly dance music. Amazing album all the way through, although it does have that commercial gateway indie feel. The dance numbers are Lady Tron with a splash of Madonna. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs seem to be moving in the same direction of Kings of Leon: mass appeal, but still cool as a cucumber. Worth the price of admission of guilt. Expand
  23. RalphW
    Apr 6, 2009
    8
    Overall a good album. More accessible than fever to tell, certainly better than show your bones. There are a few dud songs like skeletons however the good songs are so good that they easily leave you with an overall positive impression of the album. If you like the YYYs then you will like this.
  24. Rachel
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    An amazingly captivating and danceable album. My new favorite of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.
  25. GreenJ
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    I've really gotten to liking the YYYs more with each album... Some will put it down and call it "overproduced," but that is just a narrow and ignorant stance on an extremely polished, lovingly crafted album. The band just keeps getting better... Their live performances are spectacular, and their music is lyrically beautiful. I can't wait to see what they do next.
  26. FR
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Pop Perfection!
  27. WK
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing, there is not a song on the album that I do not love.
  28. FredR
    May 31, 2009
    8
    Not a genre that I usuallly enjoy but It's Blitz is definitely in my top 10 so far this year.
  29. SeanD
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    A highly solid, exciting and different effort for this solid, exciting and different trio.
  30. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    This sounds nothing like Fever To Tell. Fever To Tell is a punk rock sounding album. It's Blitz sounds a lot more cleaner. It's better produced. And that is a great thing. It's Blitz really shows the beauty of Karen O's voice. It's simply stunning. Tracks like "Soft Shock" and "Heads Will Roll" are amazing. All In All, this album is just as good as their debut album Fever To Tell. A-
  31. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    A near perfect album and a diamond in its genre. The reason for not giving this a ten is due to some amount of filler-type of songs, but generally this album simply rocks.
  32. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This album is incredible, I love how their change from rock to a more electro/pop sound. I love every track on the album. In my opinion the best Yeah Yeah Yeahs album by far
  33. May 2, 2014
    7
    Good, yet not enough for the band's reputation, yes it has awesome songs, like Skeleton or Hysteric, but it fails to continue the magic of those songs.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Their third album offers an advance on the ecstatic dance punk of 2003 debut "Fever to Tell" and beefy rock of 2006's "Gold Lion," boldly pushing synths centre stage while sacrificing none of their vitality.
  2. Sure, it's easy to lament how fangless they sound here, with just hints of the skuzzy basement ferocity that has made Fever to Tell one of the decade's most enduring records. But the finesse they display here, on their most mature and stylistically coherent record, may ultimately serve them even better.
  3. After 10 songs, the digital version It's Blitz! is padded out with four acoustic renditions of songs on the album. But even with an acoustic guitar at the forefront and Karen O harmonizing with string sections and pianos, the songs--and, crucially, the melodies - still don't convey much.