Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Aug 15, 2012
    The ones that hit the bull's eye vastly outweigh the shank shots. [17/24 Aug 2012, p.112]
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    A tribute album that does what all tribute albums should set out to do--offer original takes on a great band's songs, while reminding listeners what made that band great in the first place.
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    This tribute album isn't strong enough to be awarded its own two-prong crown (the Fleetwood Mac equivalent of 10 stars), but it's got enough surprises and excitement to keep the genre interesting.
  4. Aug 22, 2012
    Few of the covers exceed the charms of the originals and a couple are a little too faithful, including Antony's lovely, heartfelt "Landslide." But the whole endeavor gets points for digging past the surface.
  5. Aug 15, 2012
    While there are some lackluster renditions of Fleetwood Mac super-hits the gutsy reinventions of deeper tracks like "Silver Springs" (Lykke Li), "Straight Back" (Washed Out), "Storms" (Bonnie "Prince" Billy and Matt Sweeney) and "That's All for Everyone" (Tame Impala) remind us of what set Fleetwood Mac apart from the beginning: stellar songwriting.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    An unusually satisfying tribute album.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    Wes Anderson's music guru Randall Poster produced this tribute with Gelya Robb, and it's as inspired as their 2011 LP Rave On Buddy Holly.
  8. Aug 14, 2012
    The last third of Just Tell Me That You Want Me is completely skippable, but at its best stretches, new obsessions complement those of the originals.
  9. Aug 13, 2012
    The choice to even out the songs throughout Fleetwood Mac's existence is a good move, one that will surely inspire fans of the group's many different to get ahold of the collection of songs included on Just Tell Me That You Want Me.
  10. Aug 13, 2012
    Just Tell Me That You Want Me does suffer from the lack of coherency caused by the inclusion of so many different artists and styles but fortunately, when the subject and the songs are so good, this matters little.
  11. 70
    If you don't already know the Mac, treat this as your way in. You won't be coming out in a hurry.
  12. Magnet
    Oct 4, 2012
    Many cover choices are deft... though others like the Best Coast's bouncy take on Nicks' "Rhiannon" and Karen Elson's on-the-nose "Gold Dust Woman" are less revelatory. [No.91 p.61]

There are no user reviews yet.