• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Justified Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Aw... little Justin's all grows up. First Mickey Mouse Club, then 'NSync, and now this, his solo debut. Can he be a success on his own? Well, having Timbaland and The Neptunes along as his producers certainly won't hurt.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Few songs on the album are as perfect as [the opening] two, but many of them are nonetheless excellent.
  2. Michael Jackson's probably thinking, "Man, this is the album I should've made last year!"
  3. 80
    Much of the album is like 1980 revisited and updated. [Jan 2003, p.115]
  4. Justin Timberlake's solo debut is good.... Was this the same Justin Timberlake from that boy band *NSYNC? Could it be? Better asked, how could this be?
  5. Timberlake, having failed to imprint his personality on 'Justified', simply stands or falls on the strength of the songs. Luckily for him, half a dozen of them - mainly Timbaland's - are brilliant.
  6. 60
    Unlike some other singers, Timberlake never seems a puppet of his hot producers. [#12, p.154]
  7. He's an even limper pastiche of [Michael] Jackson than Jackson himself. [Jan 2003, p.123]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 56
  2. Negative: 6 out of 56
  1. May 4, 2015
    10
    whtfllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllwhtfllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll Expand
  2. AlexE
    Apr 22, 2003
    10
    it is a 10 he needs to work with The Neptunes again!
  3. JanetJ
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    this is good CD but if it was with his old band it would be a better CD
  4. Joe
    Dec 16, 2002
    9
    I just heard this album from front to back and I have to say that I'm pretty impressed. I have never been an NSYNC fan or cared for boy I just heard this album from front to back and I have to say that I'm pretty impressed. I have never been an NSYNC fan or cared for boy band artists trying to make it solo before, but after giving this album a good listen I felt like I was witness to the birth of a major solo career. I know that much of the success of this album is due to the savvy style and ear of the production talent, but Justin Timberlake's vocals and musical contributions can't be overlooked. He has strong references in his voice to Stevie Wonder and obviously Michael Jackson, without sounding like a Vegas impersonator. He also, unlike Michael Jackson, has a raw and natural sexuality that comes through on several tracks.Very few white male performers have this quality without coming off studied and self conscious. It's basically that "IT" factor that you can't really define. The best track for my money is "Cry Me A River" which is a powerful romantic revenge-filled piece with a hip hop flavor kind of song. It approaches an operatic tone that just haunts you even after one listen. I noticed several reviewers just writing this album off,and I have to ask them, "Did they even give it a listen"? Some of the criticism is about the lyrics being simple and immature. But what else would a young man write about given his background. Is he supposed to sing about living in the ghetto and pretend he's Vanilla Ice? This is still pop music people with a chocolaty outer shell. Justin Timberlake is just 21 and if this is his starting point as a solo artist, then I can't wait to see how his career and music unfolds in the years to come. He's a natural. Expand
  5. KWest
    Mar 23, 2005
    9
    jT once a typical boy band no beat boy, has struck us all by storm! Producers such as the infamous 'Neptunes' and jT once a typical boy band no beat boy, has struck us all by storm! Producers such as the infamous 'Neptunes' and 'Timbaland' create something a little urban/funk for jT. Totally different but it works! As it is his first solo album, people need 2 give it a chance! Beats, Lyrics and the Flow are immense! Whatta Cracker!!! Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    A decent first effort from the ex-N*Sync'er. Justin proves his commercial appeal especially in the second single, "Cry me a river", which isA decent first effort from the ex-N*Sync'er. Justin proves his commercial appeal especially in the second single, "Cry me a river", which is an letter to ex-girlfriend Britney Spears. Expand
  7. [anonymous]
    Nov 10, 2002
    0
    nono

See all 56 User Reviews