Kala

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 292

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BillyB
    Aug 30, 2007
    2
    Posh girl from a theatre school tries rapping, claims dad was a tamil tiger freedom fighter for a bit of respect...there is some creativity here but you're listening to a fairly posh londoner not someone particularly cool, bucky gun dun was an OK tune off the last album Arular but all in all fairly weak and not a hugely original artist imo...if she continues to sell not too many Posh girl from a theatre school tries rapping, claims dad was a tamil tiger freedom fighter for a bit of respect...there is some creativity here but you're listening to a fairly posh londoner not someone particularly cool, bucky gun dun was an OK tune off the last album Arular but all in all fairly weak and not a hugely original artist imo...if she continues to sell not too many records she'll stay cool, if she does sell records the cred will go in a second - that type of artist....anyone who releases an LP entitled piracy funds terrorism is a record company gimp...a collab with Will Smith would seem to make sense...don't download - buy the record. Expand
  2. MikeL
    Oct 6, 2007
    3
    Don't feel it. Don't like her voice, the beats annoy me. Not something I could listen to in any situation. I like Justice, Battles, !!!(chk chk chk), and this just does not work for me. I really tried to like it, but I can't.
  3. ByronG.
    Aug 30, 2007
    1
    I cannot believe that people actually consider this to be music. It brought to mind the children's tale "The Emperor's New Clothes."
  4. SparkD
    Sep 4, 2007
    2
    We hate UK rappers !
  5. JoeyK.
    Feb 14, 2008
    0
    The most OVER hyped, OVER rated album of the year. Combining obnoxious terribly off key vocals and contrived over thought out beats that are all painfully sporadic. The worst album of the year by far.
  6. ErikH
    Aug 21, 2007
    3
    "Kala" wants to be a politically-charged hip-hop album with heavy dance influences. It ends up being a mostly forgettable album with a few highlights ("Mango Pickle Down" as a hip-hop song and "XR2" as a dance track). The Streets proved with "Original Pirate Material" that an incredibly unorthodox hip-hop delivery combined with a dance influence could produce surprisingly great results. "Kala" wants to be a politically-charged hip-hop album with heavy dance influences. It ends up being a mostly forgettable album with a few highlights ("Mango Pickle Down" as a hip-hop song and "XR2" as a dance track). The Streets proved with "Original Pirate Material" that an incredibly unorthodox hip-hop delivery combined with a dance influence could produce surprisingly great results. Perhaps it's because Mike Skinner knew his limitations and rather than trying to ignore them, played to them to create a sound that was all his own and kept things relatively simple and effective. M.I.A. only knows how to set everything to kill and because of going too-far too often, this album is a convoluted mess. I really don't understand how her music deserves the merits it receives. She's the Joanna Newsom of hip-hop. Expand
  7. ProjectGSX
    Feb 27, 2008
    3
    Just terrible. I tracked down this album after seeing its glowing reviews and I have no clue what the fuss is about.
  8. McLovin
    Aug 27, 2007
    2
    Quite possibly the most over-hyped crap of the decade. This isn't genius. A least a couple publications aren't scared to lose critic-street-cred by calling it what it is. What a waste of time. Sad that folks think this is meaningful stuff.
  9. MattD.
    Aug 28, 2007
    1
    A nearly unlistenable mix of chanting and shrill music.
  10. MiloszD.
    Jul 30, 2008
    2
    I agree that this is overhyped. There *is* a big mix of styles, but that in itself doesn't really mean the album is great, even though some reviewers seem to have based it purely on this notion. It is like Vibe says unfocused, there's no poignancy and it ends up being something in between annoying and dull. 2 Points and that's even with some good will.
  11. JoeM
    Jan 12, 2008
    2
    Some of the beats are decent, but her voice tends to ruin them. Her lyrics are flat-out terrible. There is nothing interesting, deep, or creative about this music.
  12. MattC.
    Apr 15, 2008
    1
    Pure tripe.
  13. GraemeS
    Sep 13, 2007
    2
    Really don't get the great reviews that this album's been getting. I've listened to it several times and I'm just not feeling it. I'm surprised to because I love Switch (Dave Taylor) who produced most of the album.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Although there are a couple of failed tracks--like the tediously slow 'The Turn'--most of this stuff is groundbreaking.
  2. There are the terrible lyrics and more than a few moments where her one-style-fits-all MCing grates, but there's also the politics that no one else would touch, an intelligence, colour and humour, and the added benefit of centrifugally heavy production. Skip a couple, and you're in for a treat.
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    Everything here is a fantastic hybrid, M.I.A. and her platoon of producers thieving fashionable street sounds from Baltimore hip hop to Brazil's baile funk. [Sep 2007, p.89]