Kiss Of Death - Jadakiss
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 91
    He's one of the four or five best MCs breathing. [Aug 2004, p.103]
  2. Kiss of Death is the Jadakiss album that everybody's been waiting for, 'Kiss fans and critics alike.
  3. 80
    Jadakiss' flow is impeccable throughout. [Sep 2004, p.137]
  4. 80
    With Kiss of Death, Jada's well on his way to achieving hip hop immortality. [Jul 2004, p.136]
  5. Kiss... doesn't astound, but Jada flexes impressive muscles as he grinds his heels into a well-trodden dance floor. [9 Jul 2004, p.89]
  6. [A] balanced mix of streetwise, club-ready and bedroom-bumping cuts.
  7. Kiss Of Death is uneven: Like Kiss Tha Game Goodbye, it suffers from an apparent desire to satisfy every demographic at once.
  8. Kiss Of Death is certainly an improvement on its predecessor... However, what continues to bar Jada from the inner MC circle populated by Jay-Z, Eminem and even Kanye West is his lack of a broader vision.
  9. No matter the number of bright moments, you can't help but feel that Jadakiss has his best days ahead of him.
  10. When he's undone, it's by tinkertoy production on tracks such as the insipid Mariah Carey Vehicle "U Make Me Wanna." [5 Aug 2004, p.106]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    Jada's material was hot in 2004 and it's still hot now. Kiss of Death was my favorite album of 2004. I remember when I overplayed this albumJada's material was hot in 2004 and it's still hot now. Kiss of Death was my favorite album of 2004. I remember when I overplayed this album in my room and everywhere. This is a must have album. People under estimate Jada. His lyrics are insane and also his flow. Every project he drops is hot. I recommend this to everybody who loves Rap Full Review »
  2. Jan 25, 2011
    8
    Great mainstream material, an expensive sounding hip-hop album featuring electro and R'n'B styles to appeal to a wider audience. JadakissGreat mainstream material, an expensive sounding hip-hop album featuring electro and R'n'B styles to appeal to a wider audience. Jadakiss flows with finesse and his lyrics are of a high standard. What is significant is his ability to collaborate with a host of different producers whilst still maintaining his natural style and substantiating good musical direction. 'Why' is a stand out record and lyrically relevant 5 years later. 8/10 82/100 Full Review »
  3. VilleV
    Jul 16, 2005
    8
    It's a good disc.