• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Apr 1, 2008
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. On Last Night, Moby is as blissfully out of touch with modern club music as he is current.
  2. This is the definitive Moby album.
  3. 50
    He lacks [Daft Punk and Justice's] wit or personality, and the album turns into a sucession of flashy vocal cameos and samples. [Apr 2008, p.81]
  4. Last Night is a remarkably impersonal work.
  5. An intoxicating record from a re-energised Moby, for the first time in years he isn't struggling to work out how to follow "Play" and "Last Night" is all the more convincing for it.
  6. Last Night is sensible, clean, pleasant. But it lacks that essential injection of endeavour and emotion.
  7. Last Night feels like a cold academic exercise, as though Moby were compiling a collection of beats for future examination by an alien race curious about our after-hours ways.
  8. 60
    At it's best, it's a picaresque, altered-states voyage through old school hip-hop, black-leather electro and techno menace; elsewhere it's as invigorating as trying to get served at a bar. [Apr 2008, p.101]
  9. Overall this is an unpretentious and varied album of rave stompers, hands-up disco and sedate moments of beguiling ambience that combine to form probably his best and most cohesive album since "Play."
  10. Last Night is a cool idea and a mission almost impossible.
  11. In the end, lost amidst the faithfully reproduced house piano progressions and familiar melodies is anything signaling that those epiphany-filled late nights were actually, you know, fun.
  12. 'Last Night's' too slow--its jazzy chord progression doesn’t hold our attention. And so we come to the end of another Moby album. And, as usual, though momentarily incited to remember why we liked him, we’re disappointed again.
  13. And though it's doubtful that any of these qualities will duplicate the success that Moby had in 1999, Last Night is a surprisingly solid and fun listen for anyone who ever gets nostalgic for MTV's Amp.
  14. Last Night is a welcome return to the dancefloor following 2005's patchy rock-dance experiment "Hotel," though it still feels as if Moby is struggling to live down the 10 million-selling "Play." [Apr 2008, p.112]
  15. A concept album about an all-night bender, Last Night solidifies Moby's link in the chain that binds DJ pioneers like Todd Terry to slinky futurists like Justice.
  16. These songs aren't as transcendent as a Chemical Brothers comedown, but they'll suffice until the Chems reunite with Beth Orton.
  17. 60
    It plays like a retrospective of his signature sounds. [Apr 2008, p.100]
  18. Last Night is nonetheless an extremely warm, loving, moving album concerned with more than just vintage sounds.
  19. 40
    This finds Richard Melville Hall seemingly going through the motions. [Mar 2008, p.96]
  20. Stylistically the album is too spread out, with ambient, rave, dance, trip-hop, hip-hop, synth pop and just plain pop, that nothing really sticks, and the album feels like a bunch of randomly produced singles instead of a cohesive whole. [Winter 2008, p.90]
  21. 80
    For the first time since 1995's "Everything Is Wrong," the producer who cashes checks as Richard Melville Hall has made an album that, while not devoid of song craft, doesn't allow the pop elements to overpower the dance floor punch.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 13, 2012
    8
    I'm not crazy for dance music or eletronica, but I really like Moby's music for some reason. Even loved the Hotel album and how they used aI'm not crazy for dance music or eletronica, but I really like Moby's music for some reason. Even loved the Hotel album and how they used a song from that album for The Devil Wears Prada movie. Maybe it's because he's a vegetarian that I like him! Anyway, this one is a keeper for me. Full Review »
  2. CaseyE
    Apr 12, 2008
    9
    This is easily in his top 3 probably behind Everything is Wrong & Play. This is a real return to form for Mr. Melville, a great mix of old This is easily in his top 3 probably behind Everything is Wrong & Play. This is a real return to form for Mr. Melville, a great mix of old and new, with all that Moby charm. His last couple of albums were trash i felt but I am really loving this. Instead of trying to recreate Play you can tell he's got his musical soul back. Full Review »
  3. RickR.
    Apr 7, 2008
    9
    I agree almost completely with Julian L.'s review. Nicely said. "Last Night" oozes with a club/disco/retro feel. I love how the album I agree almost completely with Julian L.'s review. Nicely said. "Last Night" oozes with a club/disco/retro feel. I love how the album shifts in tone from the full throttle energy of the beginning of a night out clubbing to the slow, quiet, sedate songs that close out the album (as the night winds down). Personally, after the initial awesome "Ooh Yeah" cut, I find tracks 2-4 kind of weak. The album then kicks back in with track 5, and from then on it's a near perfect album. "Alice" and "Hyenas" are standouts, as are "Disco Lies" and "Stars." I also love how Moby channels Tangerine Dream in "Sweet Apocalypse." The quiet "Mothers Of The Night" and reflective "Last Night" round out this solid album. Nicely done, Moby! Full Review »