User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 583 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 583

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Wake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines in the best tracks of the LP.
    Best Tracks:
    Heard 'Em Say (Feat. Adam Levine)
    Gold Digger (Feat. Jamie Foxx)
    Hey Mama
    Drive Slow (Feat. Paul Wall & GLC)
    We Major (Feat Nas & Really Doe)
    Diamonds From Sierra Leone (Feat Jay-Z)
    And all the Skits.
  2. JJTeda
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    "Kanye is killing the game very bad" Excellence, brilliance and genius are some words that come to mind when listening to Late Registration. Production, top class and lyrics shaped perfectly to the tracks with meaning to spar. Whether you want to "Touch The Sky" or just call you mom and say "Hey Mama" Late Registration has it all, and does it well.
  3. onelove
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Is Kanye West arrogant?--Yes. But, it Late Registration a classic?---Hell, emphatically yes! Although, he is arrogant Ii applaud and respect him as a musician because Kanye is extremely creative and fearless--when it comes to expressing his thoughts in his music. Jesus Walks!!!! Come on, how many rappers would have the courage and aptitude to express themselves about such a sensitive Is Kanye West arrogant?--Yes. But, it Late Registration a classic?---Hell, emphatically yes! Although, he is arrogant Ii applaud and respect him as a musician because Kanye is extremely creative and fearless--when it comes to expressing his thoughts in his music. Jesus Walks!!!! Come on, how many rappers would have the courage and aptitude to express themselves about such a sensitive topic. We Major (featuring Nas) is absolutely flawless! H Expand
  4. Kev
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    College Dropout was probably better, but this is more listenable in the long run. Selected tracks: Heard Em Say, Touch The Sky, Drive Slow, Addiction, Diamonds (remix and bonus), and Gone.
  5. KanyeFan
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This amount of effort deserves as much praise as possible. This is a perfect album.
  6. TheLove
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    great album...so more sublime and mature then the first one and well thats what hip-hop needs instead of club bangers and talking about beefs between artist and drugs.
  7. ryant
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    Pure genous. I dont get why people dont like his lyrics, they are still so much better than a lot of other rappers. Not to mention the production,which is amazing.Great album
  8. CaitM
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    This album continues to revolutionize the hip-hop world. the instrumental aspect is amazing and includes instruments that have never been found on a hip-hop album. and with kanye's lyrics... easily the best hip-hop album of this year and probably for a real long time. multiple grammy winner? i believe so
  9. delond
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    I like this album for the different beats and lyrics. Kanyes delivery in roses and celebration show that he has gotten better as an artist. I love the beats for there uniqueness and originality. The instruments in heard em say and touch the sky are great and slow down and we major are two of the best songs ive heard this year...Kanye may have got passed the sophmore jinx and made a better I like this album for the different beats and lyrics. Kanyes delivery in roses and celebration show that he has gotten better as an artist. I love the beats for there uniqueness and originality. The instruments in heard em say and touch the sky are great and slow down and we major are two of the best songs ive heard this year...Kanye may have got passed the sophmore jinx and made a better album then his first Expand
  10. MBerner
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    "10" doesn't even put into perspective the quality of the album...The best album of the year and one of the best over the past decade in any genre...A true album that you can pop in the cd player and just let it play through without having to keep hitting skip after every other song...The best production possibly ever on a hip-hop cd and the lyrical content isn't far "10" doesn't even put into perspective the quality of the album...The best album of the year and one of the best over the past decade in any genre...A true album that you can pop in the cd player and just let it play through without having to keep hitting skip after every other song...The best production possibly ever on a hip-hop cd and the lyrical content isn't far behind...The first time i heard it i almost couldn't believe this music was created for rap because it almost sounds like a piece of classical music...Each song flows from one to the next but has its own identity as well as they each touch on a different topic...The only small piece i didn't feel on this album i did on College Dropout was the pure originality as this seemed more carefully crafted and in some ways almost too good if that's possible...Nevertheless definitly deserves all the hype and a grammy for album of the year!!! A piece of work that you will be able to play 20 years from now and still appreciate the music...Cant wait for "Graduation" and the song with John Mayer "Bittersweet"...A true gift of art that i will cherish for ever...God Bless Collapse
  11. johnniem
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    This cd is hot but it's not better than his first cd
  12. alice
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    amazin album
  13. lewanl
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    these songs were really god maybe because im a big fan lol so yeh its pretty good hope you get it its good
  14. dave
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    HADDOOOOOOOOGET
  15. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    From one of rap's best debuts to one of it's greatest follow-ups, not to mention, one of the best albums to ever spawn from the genre. Stylistically and sonically a step-up from it's predecessor, undoubtedly from the help of "Jon Brion on the keys". "Touch The Sky", "Celebration", "We Major", "Gone", an album all about showing off and livin' it up, in all it's glory and in all it's folly,From one of rap's best debuts to one of it's greatest follow-ups, not to mention, one of the best albums to ever spawn from the genre. Stylistically and sonically a step-up from it's predecessor, undoubtedly from the help of "Jon Brion on the keys". "Touch The Sky", "Celebration", "We Major", "Gone", an album all about showing off and livin' it up, in all it's glory and in all it's folly, it's jealously and it's unintended victims, "Gold Digger", "Addiction", "Bring Me Down", "Diamonds From Sierra Leone". From "putting those hazard lights on" picking up girls with "Drive Slow", to realizing and understanding that "Nothing lasts forever" and even though "it hurts", that "it may be the only way" on the street-poet-spilling-his-heart "Heard Em Say", to the soft, sweet, love-filled ode to his Mom "Hey Mama", this album found me really appreciating all the tracks not just for them in themselves, but what they added to the whole. Classic Album. 9.5/10 Expand
  16. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Late Reg is Kanye's greatest work.
    Best songs:
    Heard Em Say
    Touch the Sky
    Drive Slow
    Roses
    Addiction
    We Major
    Hey Mama
    GONE
    Diamonds from Sierra Leone
    But the whole album is incredible.
  17. CMac
    Sep 8, 2005
    1
    A "1" for effort. Kayne is OVER-HYPED... and overrated. This album has some cool music, but his rapping is annoying... like Method Man with a bunch of orange peels in his mouth.
  18. BradyD
    Aug 31, 2005
    0
    weak corny rap. the fact that this trendy crap is considered rap album of the year makes me sick. ya'll ain't lookin in the right place. peep edan, one be lo, or dangerdoom for best album. peace
  19. CNarcissus
    Sep 12, 2005
    5
    Not bad, but definetly not good enough to entertain me, lyricly or musicly, long enough to keep it rotating in my CD player. This one might not even make it into my 60G iPod. Kayne is typical.
  20. TP
    Nov 10, 2005
    4
    What the heck is all the fuss about? Seriously? Yes, Kanye West is one of the greatest producers in hip hop (see: Common's "Be") but really, is that enough of a reason to heap so much praise on a mediocre album??? Just because Kanye knows how to make some nice beats doesn't mean his album is automatically "fantastic!". His verses are, frankly, just garbage, and everyone knows What the heck is all the fuss about? Seriously? Yes, Kanye West is one of the greatest producers in hip hop (see: Common's "Be") but really, is that enough of a reason to heap so much praise on a mediocre album??? Just because Kanye knows how to make some nice beats doesn't mean his album is automatically "fantastic!". His verses are, frankly, just garbage, and everyone knows it. Yet people just pretend like nothing's wrong and call it "album of the year!", because he's a musical genius right?. Come on, be realistic. Expand
  21. ElliottM
    Aug 27, 2005
    5
    I dunno, but I find it to be pretty bland. And his ego really does get in the way of, well, everything else. And no hip-hop album this year even TOUCHES Edan's Beauty and the Beat. You want a 2005 rap classic? Look there, not here.
  22. kurte
    Aug 28, 2005
    6
    I'm not buying any of this hype and will not buy this lame cd. Come on..have you actually read the lyrics to 'jesus walks.' Nuff said.
  23. Gnarles
    Aug 30, 2005
    3
    It may actually be impossible for an artist to be as overrated as Kayne West. Even the Strokes would stand in awe of him.
  24. JasonB
    Sep 12, 2005
    0
    This is one of the most disappointing albums in recent history. Rather than delivering a truly stellar piece of work, Kanye West turns in a trendy, melody-less, over-produced piece of crap. There might be people who don't know real hip-hop that might claim to "love it". I truly doubt they do. No real fan of real hip-hop would like this sanitized crap. If you're a trendy type of This is one of the most disappointing albums in recent history. Rather than delivering a truly stellar piece of work, Kanye West turns in a trendy, melody-less, over-produced piece of crap. There might be people who don't know real hip-hop that might claim to "love it". I truly doubt they do. No real fan of real hip-hop would like this sanitized crap. If you're a trendy type of person that likes anything that's popular, then this is the CD for you. If you like real music and real hip-hop, then I suggest you spend your money elsewhere. Expand
  25. rickf
    Sep 2, 2005
    3
    kanye west known how to make beats, kind of, but cannot rap to save his life. Anybody who thinks he can is only comparing him to fitty cent and the other garbage on the radio. This is not hip-hop.
  26. Finfrosk
    Sep 24, 2005
    1
    Kanye West is the most overrated artist in the world, this album is sh** and so was the college dropout.. Kanye can't rap, and his beats are about as boring as they come! The only highlight on this album is Gone. Ain't that ironic, cuz when Kanye is gone from music, I will be glad!
  27. pica19
    Sep 4, 2005
    1
    He deserves a zero, but I'm too kind for that. What an over-hyped piece of crap. The marketing God's will continue to hype this guy all the way to the bank. Congrats, Kanye, the industry has given you a silver spoon without just deserve. You shouldn't have 'registered' this disc, but I'm sure you'll be smiling all the way to bank in your Bentley.
  28. JohnM
    Sep 9, 2005
    2
    Wow..... apparently anyone who has claimed that this - or Common's album - are the best hip-hop/rap albums of the year obviously haven't heard Cyne's Evolution Flight. It's currently available on iTunes and is coming out stateside at the end of the month. Listen to that, and hopefully - unless you're a hopelessly insane individual - you'll have to rethink Wow..... apparently anyone who has claimed that this - or Common's album - are the best hip-hop/rap albums of the year obviously haven't heard Cyne's Evolution Flight. It's currently available on iTunes and is coming out stateside at the end of the month. Listen to that, and hopefully - unless you're a hopelessly insane individual - you'll have to rethink your claims....... And yeah, what Kanye did for hip-hop with The College Dropout was nice, but Late Registration is garbage. Pretty much disposable stuff. Expand
  29. PilotJ
    Mar 7, 2006
    4
    Bad poetry and beats that couldn't be any less interesting if they had been produced by a high school kid playing with a copy of fruityloops. Over-rated to the point that I find myself questiong my own sanity every time I read a good review of it. 2 points for the marketing department that continues to fool kids into thinking such boring ryhmes are profound biblical listening and 2 Bad poetry and beats that couldn't be any less interesting if they had been produced by a high school kid playing with a copy of fruityloops. Over-rated to the point that I find myself questiong my own sanity every time I read a good review of it. 2 points for the marketing department that continues to fool kids into thinking such boring ryhmes are profound biblical listening and 2 points because for such an over-hyped, bubble-gum-in-disguise waste of plastic - it sure does get the ladies dancing. Expand
  30. LadyofLeisure
    Oct 17, 2005
    5
    I expected more. He created a masterpiece for Common with "Be". I don't understand why he couldn't do that same for himself. he should take a cue from Common.......step up his rhymes......ALOT. Maybe he just didn't feel he needed to try as hard for his own album. I was dissapointed. The only track I can stand to listen to entirely is "Gold Digger". Everything else is I expected more. He created a masterpiece for Common with "Be". I don't understand why he couldn't do that same for himself. he should take a cue from Common.......step up his rhymes......ALOT. Maybe he just didn't feel he needed to try as hard for his own album. I was dissapointed. The only track I can stand to listen to entirely is "Gold Digger". Everything else is ultra-high quality beat-wise but severly lagging in the lyrics department. Kanye should stick to producing. I do commend him for his honesty. Expand
  31. Matt
    Oct 23, 2005
    7
    Overall it's good, but disappointing and somewhat boring. It's the best mainstream hip-hop you can get.
  32. shandram
    Dec 8, 2005
    0
    Kanye is a talented artist depending on what type of music you're into.I wouldn
  33. MikeR
    Aug 27, 2005
    5
    How anyone can say this approaches dropout is beyond me. There are a few great tracks, but most of this is glorified filler. The Adam Levine song is a complete misstep, and touch the sky is a retread of Jay Zs Encore. One of the most compelling tracks 'My Way Home' ends isnt even 2 minutes long...its a half song. His lyrical ability is average at best. For all the talking and How anyone can say this approaches dropout is beyond me. There are a few great tracks, but most of this is glorified filler. The Adam Levine song is a complete misstep, and touch the sky is a retread of Jay Zs Encore. One of the most compelling tracks 'My Way Home' ends isnt even 2 minutes long...its a half song. His lyrical ability is average at best. For all the talking and attention he has drawn to this album, and comparing it to his dabut, it is a sophomore dud. Expand
  34. MichaelS
    Aug 31, 2005
    4
    I have no words for the star-cuddling that is going on with this album. After his first album, which was an absolute classic, and one of the most important and maybe best hip hop albums ever made, he has made one of the biggest collections of garbage from an exceptional artist that I have ever heard. By my count there are 8 songs that are absolutely terrible and 7 songs that are range I have no words for the star-cuddling that is going on with this album. After his first album, which was an absolute classic, and one of the most important and maybe best hip hop albums ever made, he has made one of the biggest collections of garbage from an exceptional artist that I have ever heard. By my count there are 8 songs that are absolutely terrible and 7 songs that are range from good to passable. But I have no idea how so many of these songs actually made it to an album and why critics are pretending to like them so much. I don't understand how critics can rate this so high when they just heard what he is capable of with his production on Common's new album "Be". Which of course for some idiotic reason is rated lower then this heap of refuse. Expand
  35. DonH
    Aug 31, 2005
    4
    Man this dude THINKS he's better than he really is. This is a OK pop joint, and a subpar hiphop cd. Why people listen to this overrated kiddy rapper is beyond me. STOP IT WITH THE SAMPLES.
  36. zggee
    Sep 16, 2005
    5
    Suprised more mainstream press didn't smell the cheese in this.There are a couple good tracks, but really only because of the samples used. Bought it cuzza the hype, gave it away cuz it's so slight. Whereas tracks like "Hey Ya" by Oukast or "Shanghai Masai" by Shinjuku Zulu work in a rap-for-the-masses way, but still push hip hop forward, this CD doesn't at all.
  37. Mack
    Sep 17, 2005
    4
    Really a dissapointment. Like some others here, I purchased the album off of critical hype (bad idea). You really get about 3 to 4 decent tracks, with the other 17 tracks sitting there like useless filler. I will never understand the need for 6 skits on an album. Is this stand-up comedy or rap? Does anyone really purposefully listen to the skits thinking "wow, that's funny - and Really a dissapointment. Like some others here, I purchased the album off of critical hype (bad idea). You really get about 3 to 4 decent tracks, with the other 17 tracks sitting there like useless filler. I will never understand the need for 6 skits on an album. Is this stand-up comedy or rap? Does anyone really purposefully listen to the skits thinking "wow, that's funny - and important to the album!"? And is Bernie Mac stuttering about really that hilarious? Please, anyone, feel free to create a rap album completely void of the all-too-cliche skits! Nowhere near the genre-bending and forward thinking virtuosity displayed by OutKast. Kanye is obviously far to impressed with every word he emits, and nearly all of the lyrics are trite and superficial. A 100 rating from Rolling Stone? Please, could there be a more obvious attempt to be "cool"? And Adam Levine's inclusion - maybe Backstreet Boys could appear on the next album. If this album even receives further listening, I'll be sure to use the skip button liberally. Much of this music represents the mediocrity that prevents me from listening to much rap, and it might be one of the most overhyped for overhyping's-sake albums this year. How about attempting to break out of the genre-crippling shell (of rap itself) and making a real statement. Or just give Jon Brion the reins a little more to bring in a creative sound once and a while. Trimmed down to 5-6 songs, it could have been a wonderful stop-gap EP. Terribly dissapointing as it is. Expand
  38. DaneC
    Sep 3, 2005
    5
    Kanye can produce beats better than any other commercial artist right now, but his flow is pathetic and while his lyrics may have topics which are widespread, they are poorly written and big headed.
  39. CabeM
    Jan 20, 2006
    7
    For the most part it's a good album until you get to Crack Music. What the hell is that it's the worst song i've ever heard in my life. This should not be a Universal Acclaim.
  40. SloopyDrew
    Sep 13, 2005
    2
    Bloated and overly confident, this album, as a whole, is a disaster. Kayne is a horrible MC and the music sounds more pop than it does hip-hop. There are a few good songs, but this is no College Dropout. Hugely disappointing. Easily the most overrated album of 2005.
  41. Apr 25, 2012
    3
    West attempted to polish his style in the follow-up to College Dropout and lost all of the charm that made his debut interesting in the first place. Outside of the introduction of Lupe Fiasco on "Touch the Sky", there isn't much on this album worth listening to.
  42. Kenny
    Sep 3, 2005
    7
    Kanye's back! When listening, I thought a lot of the beats were really great: new and not overdone. But, compared to his first album, The College Dropout, Kanye West fails to deliver the same lyrical impact and the 'all-star cast' that make appearances on Late Registration only lowers the album. Still it's a great album... and Rolling Stone is really messed up. Kanye's back! When listening, I thought a lot of the beats were really great: new and not overdone. But, compared to his first album, The College Dropout, Kanye West fails to deliver the same lyrical impact and the 'all-star cast' that make appearances on Late Registration only lowers the album. Still it's a great album... and Rolling Stone is really messed up. (College Dropout 3 1/2 stars; Late Registration 5 stars!!) They can't recognize true talent and rely completely on hype. Expand
  43. mikes
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    this is incredible!!
  44. pepef
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    a classic!
  45. JakobH
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Theres not a single track on this cd that you just skip by... All tracks are superb!
  46. JoeBlowJob
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    HOW CAN YOU ANYONE GIVE THIS LOWER THAN A NINE!!!!!! this is sure to be a classic album like his first album college dropout!!!! Can't wait for the next one
  47. GregM
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable Hip Hop Album. A new standard in Hip Hop excellence.
  48. antonl
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    amazing. musical genious
  49. FHarris
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    Kanye gives a solid approach at greatness but falls short. Many of the tracks are great, but a few too many are just blah.
  50. pepef
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    a classic!
  51. MaanB
    Sep 1, 2005
    6
    I excepted more of this album, better beats and lyrics. I think 'The College Dropout' was better.
  52. GLENDAM
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    In a class by himself!
  53. daniels
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    listen to this now, because once it hits the radio it will be played so much you might get tired of it.
  54. seanb
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    almost better than the first wich is about a 15 on my scale but sitl no one can touch him.
  55. s&b
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    this album surpasses what rap is to most people, and for that he deserves the high score
  56. PepaS
    Jan 10, 2006
    6
    Not nearly as good as the college dropout
  57. JustinW
    Apr 8, 2006
    8
    Kanye is back with a bang. This is a satisfying album, and a good follow-up to College Dropout. Most of the songs are written well. The only down point I can think of is that West's giant ego is evident in a few songs.
  58. pepef
    May 20, 2007
    10
    a classic!
  59. GregB
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    The production alone makes this the best album of 2005. Definitely better than College Dropout, and a lot more fun. Can't wait for Graduation!
  60. M.Adames
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    This is hottness at it's best! Kay Dub is on FIRE!!!!
  61. jaym
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    C L A S S I C
  62. JohnK
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Sufjan = good, but rehashed, purposely trendy, and obviously gimmicky (50 states, 50 albums, my ass! At the current rate, it'll take him 80 years) Kanye = relevant, different, possibly the most important mainstream rapper yet Don't let genre influence you. Free your mind; this album's better.
  63. obiokpo
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    most musically advanced cd to come out in a while..blows any other Cd that came out in the past 5 years out the water..including common's be! can i say album of the year!!
  64. kmoney
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    kanye delivers with this album.
  65. DannyV
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    This album is so much more then I expected it to be. It was so literally life-affirming listening to the first couple of tracks on my headphones walking home from the CD store I took a detour so I could take it all in while I strolled around my town. Holland may have had a terrible summer but damn did the sunshine that Friday afternoon...
  66. stephenl
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    simply amazing
  67. JayB
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    WOW, Simply Amazing !
  68. bundyb
    Sep 11, 2005
    9
    old school instrumentals are glorious. the mc tries to imitate 2pac, but it's definitely a good album.
  69. AshleyP
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    I LoVe KanYE's new CD its just as good as College Drop out and the instumentals are even better and if u dont think so then u nuthin but a true hatter !! halla
  70. Stan
    Sep 15, 2005
    9
    The first album for 2005 that I can't take out of my car CD player. Different songs grab me each play...another sign of a rock-solid work. This is very close to The College Dropout and that's more than anyone could ask.
  71. John
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Only people who are not true fans of music will consider this to be a poor album. Influenced by what others consider popular, they can't appreciate the talent portrayed on Late registration. Analyzing one aspect you may find flaws, but listening to again you will find overall this is a great CD. It's uniqueness is what "rap" fans don't like. In my opinion it's a Only people who are not true fans of music will consider this to be a poor album. Influenced by what others consider popular, they can't appreciate the talent portrayed on Late registration. Analyzing one aspect you may find flaws, but listening to again you will find overall this is a great CD. It's uniqueness is what "rap" fans don't like. In my opinion it's a classic and probably best album of the year. Expand
  72. tonyr
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    The best album of the year!!!
  73. Ta-KuanF
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Kanye has pushed the boundaries of hip hop again with "Late Registration." It's brilliant top to bottom, with only the skits being skippable. The sounds are so much different than what you hear in rap nowadays, hooking up with Jon Brion was definitely a smart move. Roses, Diamonds remix, Touch The Sky, Bring Me Down, Hey Mama are the standout tracks from this album. Just brilliant.
  74. TJRodriguez
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    One of my most favorite albums of all time! Kanye West improves on every aspect of his first album. The only thing wrong with this album are the skits. By taking the skits out, you probably have one of the best hip hop albums ever made.
  75. CaptainRob
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Another classic? Hell yes.
  76. Martin
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Kanye West joins Common as one of the best hip hop cds of the year. whoever gives it lower than a 10 doesn't know what they are talking about. this isn't just good rap, this is good music.
  77. DJWhoa
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Kanye is the scarily cool.
  78. adamd
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    Outstanding!
  79. BrianD
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    This is probably one of the best albums of 2005. It expands West's ear for socially concious hip-hop and powerful instrumentals. "Gone," "Heard 'Em Say" and "Roses" are three of the most powerful songs I've ever heard and the rest of the album holds true to West's excessive bravado. Again, if you haven't heard Late Registration yet, you're missing out on This is probably one of the best albums of 2005. It expands West's ear for socially concious hip-hop and powerful instrumentals. "Gone," "Heard 'Em Say" and "Roses" are three of the most powerful songs I've ever heard and the rest of the album holds true to West's excessive bravado. Again, if you haven't heard Late Registration yet, you're missing out on something huge. Expand
  80. GSJ
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Kanye west is what hip hop needs on both and MC and producer
  81. TomM
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant other great album from kanye west. Every song is different but great
  82. VictorB
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    Hip Hop has been the embarrasment of the radio waves for the better part of the last decade, this is saying alot when Lindsay Lohan has a platnum CD. This record though is the first hip hop CD that I can honestly say has been worth the money since...well ever! I gave a 9 because the skits are irritating (who's arent?) and his lrycism isn't quite on par with his brilliant Hip Hop has been the embarrasment of the radio waves for the better part of the last decade, this is saying alot when Lindsay Lohan has a platnum CD. This record though is the first hip hop CD that I can honestly say has been worth the money since...well ever! I gave a 9 because the skits are irritating (who's arent?) and his lrycism isn't quite on par with his brilliant production, but all in all get this one folks!!! Expand
  83. ChrisW
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    What can be said other than...excellent album. Best rap/hip hop/album of the year by far. Definate must listen.
  84. AddyD
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    This album is REAL music, good music!!! Unlike the artist who made "Candy Shop" and "Just A Little Bit." I mean Mr. West had a whole ochestra through-out the album. lol Im soo glad we still have positive artist within Hip -Hop who are not afraid to discuss ANY topic. Kanye did not only skillfully rap, but he poetically pursued to grab the attention of his fans. In my opinon he is a This album is REAL music, good music!!! Unlike the artist who made "Candy Shop" and "Just A Little Bit." I mean Mr. West had a whole ochestra through-out the album. lol Im soo glad we still have positive artist within Hip -Hop who are not afraid to discuss ANY topic. Kanye did not only skillfully rap, but he poetically pursued to grab the attention of his fans. In my opinon he is a ledgend in the Hip-Hop Renaissance. P.S Rick F, "Did you listen to the album at all? Maybe you should change the battery in your hearing aid." Expand
  85. jerzyd
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    Grrrrrrrrrreat Cd!!!!
  86. jesuso
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    it is the best rap album in years
  87. kennyp
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    this Cd is off tha hooK!!! i LikE tha messages he sends out to tha listnerz his is tha SiKest Rapper.
  88. SeanC
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Lets be realistic here. Kanye West is RIGHT when he says he is carrying all of hip hop. He is RIGHT when he says that he is the best thing rap has right now. You can tell how his sophistication quintuples that of the guests on his album (Paul Wall). Who cares if he's cocky? How many times has he threatened to kill someone? Sufjan Stevens's mindless droning doesn't even compare.
  89. JDWilliams
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    A RAP CLASSIC. im not a rap fan at all but i loved college dropout. but late registration is a art rap album that makes his debut sound like a demo sometimes. its a classic and goes good with a rock fan(like me) CD collection. BUT IT
  90. aa
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Its simply the best
  91. ThomasFromCompton
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Like what S Latrelle said, don't bother to vote if you aren't givin it 10 because that is the only score it deserves. Marvelous, Brilliant, Fabulous, 10/10
  92. Anon-ymous
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    This albums non hits are not really that good but the hits are superb. I would recommend this to friends (if I had any) !
  93. JeremyE
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    This album is amazing!!!!! There isn't even one bad song! Best Hip-hop album ever made. You can tell he put a lot of work into his songs
  94. SeanP
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    Excellent album, and even though it's great artistically and lyrically, and all that high stuff, what puts this album over into "classic" is how purely ENJOYABLE it is. It's a cd i don't just have to listen to with headphones and all my close attention, but also one i can pop into my car. As good as College Dropout was, and after two great albums, kanye's rep should be Excellent album, and even though it's great artistically and lyrically, and all that high stuff, what puts this album over into "classic" is how purely ENJOYABLE it is. It's a cd i don't just have to listen to with headphones and all my close attention, but also one i can pop into my car. As good as College Dropout was, and after two great albums, kanye's rep should be established for now, regardless of his "ego". ALSO, i don't know why, but my favorite song on the album is Gone, a track which doesnt seem to get much attention. I personally think that song is genius, especially production-wise. Anyone else think Gone is one of the best songs? Expand
  95. CarlyQ
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    Not worthy of Rolling stones extremely rare 5 star rating but a very good album with great production. His rhymes are not worthy of a classic rating.
  96. HeyManManManMan
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    I do agree this album is musically superior to The College Dropout. But there are still too many filler skits taking up time, and some lyrics (like on Roses) are lacking. Still top notch though. Such a creative force.
  97. mikejoe
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    Yeah this off the heeeezeeey!
  98. XV
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    The ROC is still alive!
  99. RyanM
    Oct 1, 2005
    7
    Late registration is a fairly good album. Not quite as well put together as college dropout. I think this album lacks the same sence of urgency that college dropout had, however it is still pretty good and worth the purchase.
  100. ReyP
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    Best rap album in years. Kanye West seemingly could care less about doing what everyone else is doing. On Late Registration, he does his own thing and it is a masterpiece.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Late Registration's salvation (and, undoubtedly, Kanye's own) are when it basks in the sunshine after the rain.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  3. Late Registration can't replicate the novelty of last year's College Dropout, but otherwise, this is an impressively more mature and labored-over album.