User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    As DoctorKilla said, this is definitely an experimental album. The whole point of it is for each song to work almost like a sequence to tell a story. And Ne-Yo definitely achieved this. His goal was to make this track thought engaging, and in that front I think he succeeded. Pros: There are plenty of fantastic songs in this album that continue to show off Ne-Yo's talent as a singer andAs DoctorKilla said, this is definitely an experimental album. The whole point of it is for each song to work almost like a sequence to tell a story. And Ne-Yo definitely achieved this. His goal was to make this track thought engaging, and in that front I think he succeeded. Pros: There are plenty of fantastic songs in this album that continue to show off Ne-Yo's talent as a singer and songwriter. My personal favourites are "Champagne Life", "One in A Million", "Telekinesis" and "What Have I Done". They're either electrifying, emotional or a careful mixture of both. Cons: Unfortunately, a couple of the songs are a bit of a let down and I think it was because of the fact that he was trying to be experimental. Songs like "Cause I Said So" to me were kind of lacking, especially compared to songs from his other albums like Year of the Gentlemen. Also, it's a shame there are only 10 songs. I feel that the story could've been conveyed more if there were a few more songs. But overall, this is a triumph for Ne-Yo. Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    6
    No. I Expected something better listening to Beautiful Monster.I didn't enjoyed this album. By the way i recognize that Ne-Yo is a real artist. I hope for something better the next time
  3. Dec 17, 2010
    4
    I really dont understand how this album can get above a 5. I wasnt impressed with the album, Ne-yo has definitely done much better. I may listen to one or two tracks on the album but definitely not from start to finish. Next album needs to be considerably better than this.
  4. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    Good effort from Neyo. i didn't this it was as great as his previous albums but still very enjoyable and a great album and worth listening to for any r&b fans. This albums stand out tracks are also the 2 singles beautiful monster and one in a million which are both great songs.
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Ne-Yo is definitely experimenting with a new sound on "Libra Scale", but his attempt is successful. With production help from Chuck Harmony, Ryan Leslie, D. DoRohn Gough, etc, Ne-Yo presented a sexy sound. The album presents itself as an album for those living the fancy nightlife, those living the "Champagne Life"
  6. Nov 23, 2010
    8
    The album is somewhat experimental, Ne-Yo has added versatility to his original limited topic range. Vocally, it isn't an improvement, but it certainly does fit together well.
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    Neyo proves he is the true gentleman and one of today's hottest icons of R&B. From the melodies of each song, to Neyo's sweet and sexy vocals, Ne-Yo has made another album that is worth while. The album lacks a sense of major originality, leading me to believe that regardless of the fact that it's a concept album, in it's entirety, the flare isn't as noticeable.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    Libra Scale lacks the sparkle found in Ne-Yo's previous work. Much like "Champagne Life," there is still plenty to celebrate. Toast it up.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    The level of sophistication--arrangements with subtle details, the frequency of slow tempos, a couple well-trodden motifs--lends itself to a couple tepid tunes, but Ne-Yo remains a premier source of R&B that is both traditional and contemporary.
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    If a little dominated by this trio [Champagne Life, One in a Million, Beautiful Monster] the rest of the album also develops the cool soul player theme nicely, with offers of mind sex and a considered approach in slick fusion.