Light Up Gold - Parquet Courts
Light Up Gold Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length release on What's Your Rupture? for the Brooklyn-based rock quartet from Texas.
  • Record Label: What's Your Rupture?
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Pop, Noise Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    100
    It’s a pitching and yawing listen, and it’s compelling and punchy in a way that’ll have you bouncing straight out of your chair.
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    By intention or coincidence, the band's debut boils over with frustration. And all you crave is a piece of it.
  3. May 30, 2013
    89
    It's an album of brainy rock songs that state their claims then defiantly step out from beneath the ethereal haze.
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    80
    Parquet Courts' over-the-top energy, speed, and succinctness makes the combination sound fresher than anything the original elements have managed in years.
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The singing and songwriting mostly split between Austin Brown and Mr. Savage, who are astute enough to write taut, smart lyrics, and self-aware enough to arch an eyebrow while maintaining the pose.
  6. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    Most songs clock in under two and a half minutes but manage to say plenty.
  7. Mar 28, 2013
    60
    There’s enough that’s interesting and/or good about Light Up Gold to give it a solid recommendation, with the caveat that Savage’s voice is likely an acquired taste.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    This is the most exciting new band I've heard in years. The lyrics are as instantly relateable and as obscure as slanted and/or enchanted, theThis is the most exciting new band I've heard in years. The lyrics are as instantly relateable and as obscure as slanted and/or enchanted, the tempos are fierce, the beats relentless. Godspeed the future and the past all at once. Collapse
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    A like this album a lot. Reminds me of Kings Of Leon in their early days when they used to be good, can hear a bit of Pavement too. Very goodA like this album a lot. Reminds me of Kings Of Leon in their early days when they used to be good, can hear a bit of Pavement too. Very good debut album and hope to catch them live. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    If this album was a cocktail,it would taste like this:
    It is like "Is this It" "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not" and like some
    If this album was a cocktail,it would taste like this:
    It is like "Is this It" "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not" and like some old dad-countryrock band mixed with a touch of chili powder.
    Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2013
    7
    Like Beck or the Pixies, but not quite. Light Up Gold is a weird concoction of an album, with an inconsistent feel. It ranges from theLike Beck or the Pixies, but not quite. Light Up Gold is a weird concoction of an album, with an inconsistent feel. It ranges from the beautiful melodies on "master of my craft" to the rather annoying and repetitive "Borrowed Time". Tracks like "Disney P.T" verge far too near to the horrendous shouty lad rock genre we're too often used to experiencing from mediocre indie bands in Britain. On the whole this is a strong enough album. Although there are plenty of moments that cause you to hide your eyes behind your hands or press pause on your iPod for a second, feeling embarrassed for the band having to deliver this crap, there are more occasions where the listener is served up a refreshing slice of "cool". Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2014
    7
    Light Up Gold has its Clumsy moments, where perhaps the guitar solo's feel less as skilled, and the vocals get a little irritating, but asideLight Up Gold has its Clumsy moments, where perhaps the guitar solo's feel less as skilled, and the vocals get a little irritating, but aside from that, Light Up Gold not only has the occasional class song, but it sounds like a new heart and soul from a band that had an idea, and got through with it rather successfully. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    This is an album with potential. What I like about it is that they don't sound like they're trying too hard, They've got a cool, laid-back,This is an album with potential. What I like about it is that they don't sound like they're trying too hard, They've got a cool, laid-back, indie vibe about them. I expect good things from them in the future, Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    Are these guys for real? Sure I'll admit the style has a fresh edge to it, but is there any staying power? It seems like the hipster flavorAre these guys for real? Sure I'll admit the style has a fresh edge to it, but is there any staying power? It seems like the hipster flavor of the month to me, and I'd be surprised to see them ever forge their sound into something beyond what it is now. As I listen to Light Up Gold, I find myself thinking 'I'd rather be hearing Ween's 12 Country Greats' Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.