Lines, Vines and Trying Times

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 138
  2. Negative: 99 out of 138

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinJ.
    Sep 17, 2009
    0
    Ok guys, I admit our CD blows. We just happen to be short on some change so we had to put out a another turd. Now we made sales, we can pay for out clothes and new cars. I hope my other bros don't see this.....Or they will beat me! I love girls, I love talking to em! That's about it!
  2. D.S.
    Sep 19, 2009
    0
    This is what music has come to. It has "I make music for the industry" written all over it. If it wasnt for computers, these guys would be, - can you believe it? - even far worse. Notice how these are not the usual critics for these newspapers/review sites: meaning these sites looked really hard for a reviewer who liked this stuff probably because they were coerced my the music industry.
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    0
    the meaning of zero...! another teenage **** you kidding me !!!? And the exiting part is that their fans are even more annoying !!! All thanks to disney for giving us this geniuses...!
  4. TomP.
    Jun 17, 2009
    0
    I'm gonna be honest, didn't listen to a single song beside the single, and that was all i needed to give this a 0.
  5. DillonS
    Jun 20, 2009
    0
    Pure, utter drivel from a band that is everything wrong with music.
  6. JustinH.
    Jul 2, 2009
    0
    Brilliant.
  7. jason
    Jun 17, 2009
    0
    In 3 years all of their cds will be in landfills. disposable, useless music. Disney, may God have mercy on your soul.
  8. Tom
    Sep 16, 2009
    0
    Just terrible.
  9. HankJ.
    Jun 17, 2009
    0
    The Jonas Bros have no talent whatsoever. They populairity is based on money and wealth and not on talent.
  10. KyleT
    Jul 31, 2009
    0
    Okay I admit these pieces of shit can play instruments, well chords, fucking Kevin acting like it is aguitar solo when he plays 3 chords. Fuck him, Joe squeking his voice thinking he is hitting it. and Nick well fuck him he thinks he is so unfortunate for having diabetes piece of shit other people have it too. He also says he can play drums he is playing cymbsal snare with a crash cymbal Okay I admit these pieces of shit can play instruments, well chords, fucking Kevin acting like it is aguitar solo when he plays 3 chords. Fuck him, Joe squeking his voice thinking he is hitting it. and Nick well fuck him he thinks he is so unfortunate for having diabetes piece of shit other people have it too. He also says he can play drums he is playing cymbsal snare with a crash cymbal every chorus. This is not fucking music. I want The Beatles AC/DC Led Zeppelin The cure The Police Cheaptrick, and people like Vampire Weekend and the Killers the Kooks to be todays music not this please lil girls wake the fuck up. Expand
  11. xx
    Aug 17, 2009
    0
    This is what happens when we let children buy things: talentless hacks sell enough records to stay in business.
  12. AndrewA
    Jun 17, 2009
    0
    Absolute crap and a disgrace to the music industry.
  13. MurphyN
    Jun 18, 2009
    0
    Fucking Trash. The Jonas Brothers are a perfect example of why the state of music today is in shambles.
  14. 2ndOpinion
    Jun 21, 2009
    0
    F**K THESE A$$HOLES!!! They have brought nothing but shame to the pop genre! They should be called the Jonas Sisters, because these vocally talentless dorks sing through their f**king noses and it makes them sound like little girls! Their lyrics are the lowest form of syrupy sh*t and they can't play the guitar worth a damn. F**k, this sh***y album makes even Britney Spears's F**K THESE A$$HOLES!!! They have brought nothing but shame to the pop genre! They should be called the Jonas Sisters, because these vocally talentless dorks sing through their f**king noses and it makes them sound like little girls! Their lyrics are the lowest form of syrupy sh*t and they can't play the guitar worth a damn. F**k, this sh***y album makes even Britney Spears's Circus album look good! If you want good pop music, try The Fame by Lady Gaga or anything by Lily Allen. Stay the hell away from this goopy teen-pop sh*t. These "brothers", if they really are boys, need to get a life and get out of the music industry. Expand
  15. KeenanS.
    Jul 15, 2009
    0
    I believe this band is rubbish, they blister my ears. I hate the constant streams of power chords, whiny voices which without the aid of computer technology would probably be even worse. Yes, without computers these guys would be even worse! I am a fan of Lamb of God, Devildriver and bands such as. These guys claim themselves as pop-rock right? what an embarrassment to rock. Their lyrics I believe this band is rubbish, they blister my ears. I hate the constant streams of power chords, whiny voices which without the aid of computer technology would probably be even worse. Yes, without computers these guys would be even worse! I am a fan of Lamb of God, Devildriver and bands such as. These guys claim themselves as pop-rock right? what an embarrassment to rock. Their lyrics are mindless, gimicy and just typical. Megateen Sr. : "Puts everything else happening in music at the moment to shame". Is this how they managed to get 61 and not 100? The amount of records they have produced since they were known to the world shows they have put no thought into things and you girls, who are depressed teenage girls who get bullied at school, cry over dudes who don't date you and get low scores in your music tests are the reason these CURSES to music stay in business. Expand
  16. Grant
    Aug 11, 2009
    0
    Rubbish. Go listen to Merriweather Post Pavillion or Aeroplan Over the Sea if you want to listen to real music. Watch as no one but obsessive teenage girls give them 10s. I almost feel sorry for said girls for having subdued to trash like this.
  17. May 22, 2013
    0
    Do you wanna know the truth? Jonas brothers never could be called by a boyband. They will never get it, I'm so sorry for their fans. lalalalalalalalalalalalalala
  18. Oct 23, 2014
    0
    Worst... Band... Ever...
    This album sucks And It's even worse than their previous albums, i'm glad what those guys disbanded! I Can't stand it anymore!
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Vines and Trying Times the seams are showing, which makes it a little bit harder to enjoy, even if there are certainly moments where all their craft and charm click, resulting in some fine pop that points out what's missing from the rest of the record.
  2. On their fourth release in as many years, the boys don't entirely topple their Tiger Beat pedestal, but with Lines' PG-13 sentiments and wailing guitars, they try hard to leave their tween-dream innocence behind.
  3. Although the tunes are accomplished, Lines has a patina of smarm that's less smart than the music.