• Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2011
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. After we leave the forebodingly beautiful place of Little Hell one thing is certain--this is City and Colour's finest, most creative work to date.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    80
    On Bring Me Your Love Dallas Green laments, pines, and celebrates loves both won and lost, employing a dusky, electrified patina of old and new country with a tinge of soul that's miles (sonically) from his work with the post-hardcore outfit Alexisonfire.
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    80
    Though there's no radical change to his formula here, crucially, the consistent brilliance on display means there's no need for one. [4 Jun 2011, p.52]
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    Although his output as City and Colour is drastically different from the visceral post-hardcore of Alexisonfire, his following is huge; both his previous C&C albums have gone platinum in Canada. With his third effort, Little Hell, it's easy to hear why. [Jul 2011, p.107]
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    It doesn't shun country influences altogether, mind--when matched to the album's mood and Green's plain-speaking lyrics, they function to add a soulful feel to a set of characteristically lovely, melancholic songs.
  6. Aug 3, 2011
    70
    The heart- wrenching emotion is credible and convincing, even though the uneasy undercurrents find Green's brand of the blues seem somewhat tenuous at times. Nevertheless, at this point in the trajectory, City & Colour manages to provide a pleasing musical melange.
  7. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    Producer Alex Newport (Death Cab For Cutie, Mars Volta) captures a more complete and complex sound with lush acoustics and electric instrumentation that moves the album along, providing a live-show atmosphere recorded and mixed straight to tape.
  8. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    Just as his piercing voice and languid tunes echo Neil Young's rustic side, a Neil-like tough-mindedness runs through Green's stark meditations, which confront despair head on.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    The 3rd album of City and Colour is an amazing journey! It's definitely a different style than the first two albums, "Sometimes" and "Bring MeThe 3rd album of City and Colour is an amazing journey! It's definitely a different style than the first two albums, "Sometimes" and "Bring Me Your Love"- both of which are completely acoustic. "Little Hell", involving electric guitars, is another great album of Dallas, showing that he's experimenting with new things, and trying different styles.

    All in all, I highly recommend listening to this masterpiece!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    It's been amazing to hear all of Dallas Green's work and seeing how this man has evolved as a musician, songwriter, and singer. Going fromIt's been amazing to hear all of Dallas Green's work and seeing how this man has evolved as a musician, songwriter, and singer. Going from purely acoustic songs in his first solo album "Sometimes", to adding a variety of instruments in "Bring Me Your Love", and finally we are introduced to "Little Hell" which contains a bit of everything. "Little Hell" contains the same acoustic guitar songs that he is known for, intertwined with some faster paced folk rock songs that make you want to jump and dance, rather than cry. It truly is a deep album, full of meaningful lyrics about family, lovers, and personal insecurities. "Little Hell" is a treat for anyone looking for a bit of everything. Full Review »
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    After listening to this album extensively, I still put it on almost everyday. I am absolutely in love with this record. Every song is still asAfter listening to this album extensively, I still put it on almost everyday. I am absolutely in love with this record. Every song is still as enjoyable now as it was when the album was released. Full Review »