Long Road Out Of Eden

  • Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 77
  2. Negative: 22 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jjuveli
    Nov 1, 2007
    4
    horrible
  2. ToddN
    Nov 7, 2007
    6
    Words to describe the production: "polite", "Slick""clean", "flat". Really lacks dynamics. The songs are not strong on melody. They waste 10 minutes on the title track that goes nowhere. Joe Walsh gets 2 songs and he waste one of his chances on a weak cover. Henley comes off as a grumpy know-it-all. His better work on the album sounds like some of his more recent solo work. (How many Words to describe the production: "polite", "Slick""clean", "flat". Really lacks dynamics. The songs are not strong on melody. They waste 10 minutes on the title track that goes nowhere. Joe Walsh gets 2 songs and he waste one of his chances on a weak cover. Henley comes off as a grumpy know-it-all. His better work on the album sounds like some of his more recent solo work. (How many tracks does Henley play drums on?) They definitely miss the 2 guitar attack of Felder and Walsh. I wonder how much guitar Joe Walsh actually contributes to the album. Glenn Frey does well with the classic sounding "No More Cloudy days" and the somewhat dark "Somebody". Remember the studio tracks on "Hell Freezes Over" weren't very good either. Expand
  3. ToddV
    Dec 25, 2007
    4
    The track "How Long" fools you into thinking that you're getting the old Eagles sound. After what seemed to be 2 hours getting through the rest of the album - you find out you were tricked. I don't hear even one more radio track. Wish it was much better.
  4. HalS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    4
    I love the Eagles. I have been listening to the Eagles for over 20 years. I was really looking forward to this album. Then I listened to it. Very disappointing. This album is a shadow of the band's former work. Flat, sedate, cliche, and boring. Don't bother with it. I like to think it would have been better with Felder. But who knows?
  5. Tara
    Jan 8, 2008
    6
    The only really great song on the CD is How Long. The few songs sung for Glen Frey are good, and everything else is poor - average. Don't care for any of Don Henley's songs. CD1 > CD2. A double CD was just too much.
  6. ChrisK
    Nov 25, 2007
    5
    After nearly thirty years, you would have thought that maybe they'd reach for some new sounds, instead of pandering to those of us raised on their Greatest Hits. Blah.
  7. jims.
    Nov 4, 2007
    5
    Horrible, horrible, horrible...... Trite beyond belief, huge disappointment, disc two was a complete waste...
  8. JohnD.
    Nov 5, 2007
    5
    Not horrible but pretty lackluster effort. Essentially half a Henley solo album (and not a great one at that!) combined with subpar songs from Frey, Schmit and Walsh. Other than Henley, these guys really don't have much to say.
  9. TroyW
    Dec 22, 2007
    4
    The only time I listened to the album, I could guess the next lyrics. Good musically but poorly written lyrics.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. The album is savvier still, crafted to evoke the spirit and feel of the Eagles' biggest hits.
  2. It's all a testament to the durable Eagles footprint on the pop landscape.
  3. It is an auspicious beginning for a double album so strong it's almost irritating that it took so long to release it.