Loud - Rihanna
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 241 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 241

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive like most albums and what I love is how Rihanna can always keep it fresh and with time she's becoming better and better.
  2. Nov 23, 2010
    5
    An average album compared to the rest of her work. This was one of my most anticipated albums and was not pleased in the end. The tracks are quite forgettable and boring at times. Very disappointed by this album. I expected so much more. However, Rihanna has shown some growth as a vocalist, with the welcomed improvements on her vocals on songs like Complicated, California King Bed, andAn average album compared to the rest of her work. This was one of my most anticipated albums and was not pleased in the end. The tracks are quite forgettable and boring at times. Very disappointed by this album. I expected so much more. However, Rihanna has shown some growth as a vocalist, with the welcomed improvements on her vocals on songs like Complicated, California King Bed, and Love The Way You Lie (Part II). Favorite Track: 'What's My Name' (ft. Drake). Least Favorite Track: S&M. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Wow, Im shocked at these reviews, Not too shocked because Critics Overrate & Underrate thing all the time. Poor Rihanna, She thought she could pull off another Bâ
  4. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Kinda good album... but definitively won't be in my top five 2010 albums, but probably in my top ten. Sometimes the album seems like it needs more work. Loud starts with a song called S&M, lyrically, this song is not that great : "I may be bad but I'm perfectly good at it/ Sex in the air, I don't care I love this melody" ; but I can't deny, this can be a huge success, especially for theKinda good album... but definitively won't be in my top five 2010 albums, but probably in my top ten. Sometimes the album seems like it needs more work. Loud starts with a song called S&M, lyrically, this song is not that great : "I may be bad but I'm perfectly good at it/ Sex in the air, I don't care I love this melody" ; but I can't deny, this can be a huge success, especially for the clubs. I'm looking forward to see S&M as a single (at least in the Top 10). Cheers (Drink To That), a good song to sing with friends a Friday night, actually not bad, I can't really tell if this song will be a success, but definitively will excite the crowd during Rihanna's next tour.
    California King Bed is my personal favorite song on Loud! Very touching ballad. Rihanna's vocals are great. Lyrics seems so real. I hope this song will get noticed and hit a #1!
    Man Down is a Reggae song. In my opinion, it's the weakest link of the chain. But i can't deny that the beat is awesome and that the lyrics may be some kind of a wanna be honor to Bob Marley.
    Raining Men: full of beat song. Very good beat! You probably even won't notice the lyrics. I can tell you that I really love the bridge and Nicki Minaj's part. If you love Rihanna in her debuts (Music Of The Sun) you will worship this song.
    Love The Way You Lie (Part II) is a song with strong lyrics. A great choice to conclude this 11-track album. Her vocals are good, but the Chorus should have stayed the same. Best part without any doubt: Eminem's rap.

    A great album in general. For me, Loud isn't as good as Rated R and Good Girl Gone Bad (Rated R being the best she made for me). If you love Rihanna you should love this album.
    Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    1
    Honestly Loud doesn't compare to GGGB or Rated R, total letdown. I don't understand the appeal of this album at all. I like Rihanna but these songs ain't cutting it.
  6. Nov 23, 2010
    7
    Vocally, it's what pop music should sound like with some R&B and rap-infused tracks. It's up to par with her other albums if not better in that regards. Emotionally, it's happy, sensual, provocative, and some tracks have some angst. But ultimately it's excellent at conveying her feelings. But it lacks the fire or the passion and the content, is just repetitive, cliched, corny. And I can'tVocally, it's what pop music should sound like with some R&B and rap-infused tracks. It's up to par with her other albums if not better in that regards. Emotionally, it's happy, sensual, provocative, and some tracks have some angst. But ultimately it's excellent at conveying her feelings. But it lacks the fire or the passion and the content, is just repetitive, cliched, corny. And I can't insert the "e actue" symbol without code-writing errors. Oh well. Expand
  7. dub
    Nov 22, 2010
    7
    after last year's foray to the dark side on Rated R, RiRi returns clearly aiming to emulate the considerable charms that led Good Girl Gone Bad to its massive success. while Loud doesn't disappoint, it doesn't exactly thrill as much as one might hope. though there are a couple stand-out club bangers [see: lead single, Only Girl in the World and album opener, S+M] the disc is mostly packedafter last year's foray to the dark side on Rated R, RiRi returns clearly aiming to emulate the considerable charms that led Good Girl Gone Bad to its massive success. while Loud doesn't disappoint, it doesn't exactly thrill as much as one might hope. though there are a couple stand-out club bangers [see: lead single, Only Girl in the World and album opener, S+M] the disc is mostly packed with Rihanna's signature Umbrella-style mid-tempo jams which, although impeccably produced, may leave some fans craving a little more of the Barbadian beauty's fiery sizzle for which we have come to know and love her. Expand
  8. Aug 19, 2011
    1
    A good album with tons of hits. What's my name is my favorite, followed by Love the Way You Lie. Some of the songs are filler though like Complicated and Fading.
  9. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Who cares about this negative user reviews? They are just jealous for this amazing record!
    LOUD is so far the best album of 2010, Rihanna is the QUEEN!
  10. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    I must say, before I start that this album is FULL of surprises and great sounds...Her mixing of different genres and her great vocal is probably the reason why she's so successful in today's music industry.
    About Loud:
    I think it's great album but, honestly, I expected a little more great hit songs. I mean... it's gonna finish like Rated R... Only Girl made a big smash.... and also S&M
    I must say, before I start that this album is FULL of surprises and great sounds...Her mixing of different genres and her great vocal is probably the reason why she's so successful in today's music industry.
    About Loud:
    I think it's great album but, honestly, I expected a little more great hit songs. I mean... it's gonna finish like Rated R... Only Girl made a big smash.... and also S&M will do the same.... maybe Cheers take on some charts but the rest is just gonna fade and there will be many nice songs that are gonna get forgotten because she didn't make a good balance between those slow jams and those smashes....
    But still, it's a great album.... My favorites are Cheers, Skin, Only Girl & What's My Name... The weakest link is, at my opinion Complicated (she sang it very good but it has something that doesn't fit in this whole concept)....
    Expand
  11. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    Load is all about Rihanna's fighting side. It shows her rage and anger. My advice is to go and buy the album regardless of very few negative reviews.
  12. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very good album!!!!I like that every song is different and great at the same time!Definitely one of the best Pop albums this year!!!Favorites:only girl,what's my name,cheers,love the way you lie(part II),raining men, california king bed(great vocals),fading,man down,skin,complicated!!!oh,oh!Did i mentioned them all?yep,because every song worth a listen!!!And maybe,who knows,maybe every single song in this album be a top 10 hit, because every song is different and very "radio-friendly"!!! Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    While not her best album stylistically, the concept of the album is good and while the content may not be completely original, she is supplied with plenty of hooks and good beats. Tracks such as What's My Name, Cheers, and Only seem directed straight for the club and even the ballads hold some metallic rhythm. Her best vocal performances however lie in her ballads, California King Bed andWhile not her best album stylistically, the concept of the album is good and while the content may not be completely original, she is supplied with plenty of hooks and good beats. Tracks such as What's My Name, Cheers, and Only seem directed straight for the club and even the ballads hold some metallic rhythm. Her best vocal performances however lie in her ballads, California King Bed and her stripped down version of Love the Way You Lie. Nicki Minaj, Drake and Eminem make some noteworthy cameos on the album, but Rihanna takes center stage with her vocal performances. Solid album. Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    I know I am old, but I just got into Rihanna, not being one in the past to embrace pop music until now, thank the kids for that. But having loved Euro pop in the late 90's and beginning of the decade, i am finding now in modern American pop, we are seeing Euro techno influences in our American music and I quite enjoy it. I also have Rated R which i think is a great post break up girlI know I am old, but I just got into Rihanna, not being one in the past to embrace pop music until now, thank the kids for that. But having loved Euro pop in the late 90's and beginning of the decade, i am finding now in modern American pop, we are seeing Euro techno influences in our American music and I quite enjoy it. I also have Rated R which i think is a great post break up girl growing up album, however the horrid slow songs overkill the great throbbing industrial dankness and true heartbroken ager of the rest of the album. this album loses the darker industrial bad girl vibe and instead embraces Rihannas sexuality. You take the Cd out of the case and there is a picture of her naked groin with a white flower the only thing covering up her woo-hoo. So, this is an album full of sexuality, like Madonna in the early 90's, Rihanna has found her sound. I personally could have done without the California King Bed track that is so so corny lyrically, and the cheezy guitar pop production sounds like a horrible American idol itune download, just awful. But S&M, Only Girl, What's my Name, Raining Men, and Love the way You Lie pt 2 are absolute classics!! They embrace the world pop and electronic sound and is peppered with sexualy charged lyrics.

    Whereas Rated R was her true bad girl album this is her true NAUGHTY girl album. Gone are the excessive yet necessary cursing, but in it's place is fun and secretly dirty sexual innuendo such as Drakes rap " What's the square root of 69, oh yeah it's 8 sum" and Rihanna "Sticks and stones may break my bones but chains and whips excite me".

    If we could have had dance beats replacing the slow songs cheezy 80's guitars (California King Bed: BARF BAG) this CD would be a perfect example of a modern 22 year old girl finding her sexuality and independence and embrassing it in the digital electro age of 2010. Hopefully as she gets older Rihanna will realize how to make a perfect album, and hopefully will come to the understanding that ballads do not have to have production that sound like it came from a Roxette album, learn a note from Drake and Kanye, ballads can sound futuristic simple and beautiful without the over the top dramatics. Still this is a fun album, and up there with Rated R as Rihannas best 2 albums, i just hope she continues to grow and experiment as an artist.
    Expand
  15. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    The album as a whole is on par with Rated R; however, it does not meet her best work to date Good Girl Gone Bad. The standout tracks are: Complicated, California King Bed, Only Girl (In The World), S&M and Love The Way You Lie Part 2. Overall, the album is a solid effort from one of pop's finest.
  16. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Rihanna's Loud is probably a combination of her albums. The Caribbean music is present in some songs. The dance-hall/club music is the main element of each songs. R&B music is present in her ballads. Lastly, Love the Way You Lie (Part II) is a 'Rated R' song. I conclude that Rihanna combine all her album into one to produce an artistic and commercial success CD.
  17. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    Rihanna showed a different side to her on this album and it definitely paid off. It can be seen as a 'fun' album and theres no harm in that. For those that doubted that she could sing, i think theyve been proved wrong after listening to some of the vocals. Very good album from Rihanna.
  18. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    This album is amazing!!! I like it! This is her second best album after Good Girl Gone Bad! S&M, Only Girl, What's My Name?, Skin and California King Bed are the best songs on Loud!
    The best album in 2010. Catchy songs and beautiful ballads.
  19. Feb 20, 2011
    7
    This album is quite good. There are some great songs in this album (Cheers (Drink To That), Love The Way You Lie Part 2 (feat. Eminem) but it still isn't the best album ever. Still, definitely worth a listen.
  20. Jan 26, 2011
    7
    This probably leaves fans of Good Girl Gone Bad hungry for something else. I love her music and I was amused by her subtle attacks on Chris Brown ('Fading' [probably about his career as of yet], 'Man Down' [probably what she really wanted to do to him], 'Complicated' [probably how she felt about the situation overall with him], and 'Love the way you lie' [this one is about an abusiveThis probably leaves fans of Good Girl Gone Bad hungry for something else. I love her music and I was amused by her subtle attacks on Chris Brown ('Fading' [probably about his career as of yet], 'Man Down' [probably what she really wanted to do to him], 'Complicated' [probably how she felt about the situation overall with him], and 'Love the way you lie' [this one is about an abusive relationship]). Rihanna sings some interesting songs but none of these are quite the classics she gave her fans on GGGB (like "Rehab"). Look forward to whatever she does in the future. Expand
  21. Feb 4, 2011
    6
    "Loud" is different from the normal Rihanna. The difference is that it's much better. "Only Girl (In the World)" provides a massive, thunderous chorus that is sure to satisfy. "What's My Name?" has a lovey-dovey bridge and melody to it that will make your heart sink. "Raining Men" will make you want to dance, and "S&M" will get you in the mood. "Loud" is overall a pretty good album,"Loud" is different from the normal Rihanna. The difference is that it's much better. "Only Girl (In the World)" provides a massive, thunderous chorus that is sure to satisfy. "What's My Name?" has a lovey-dovey bridge and melody to it that will make your heart sink. "Raining Men" will make you want to dance, and "S&M" will get you in the mood. "Loud" is overall a pretty good album, despite some songs. Expand
  22. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    this this this this this this
    is is is is is is is is is is is
    so so so so so so so so so
    Amaizing amiazing amiazing!
    i buy i buy i buy i buy i buy i buy this this this this this this this this
    Album album album album album
  23. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    Hmm...Rihanna did a pretty (not bad) job this time. Loud is 1 of her best album that contain great tracks like Only Girl(in the world), what's my name, s&m, fading and california king bed, but others are not gd at all!! Especially Cheers (drink to that), and Raining Men. These 2 are like "terrible", this album attracted me to listen to Rihanna, Keep Going, Rihanna!!
  24. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    I like this album. Rihanna stepped her game up with this. Sounds like a pop album, hit songs. wish it was more than 11 but oh well. Skin is my favorite song.
  25. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I love this album, this is Rihanna the way that I've grown to love and appreciate her, this album showed a different side of her, despite her lack of envolvement with songwriting and production, she makes up for it when you hear the final product and she delivers vocal perfomance better than she have in the past showing that she is truly improving as a vocalist. This was by far, myI love this album, this is Rihanna the way that I've grown to love and appreciate her, this album showed a different side of her, despite her lack of envolvement with songwriting and production, she makes up for it when you hear the final product and she delivers vocal perfomance better than she have in the past showing that she is truly improving as a vocalist. This was by far, my favorite album of 2010 and still listened to it throught 2011. Expand
  26. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    A good album with lots of hits and has shown to be extremely successful so far selling 6 million copies , making Rihanna one of the most successful pop stars out there today
  27. Mar 28, 2012
    7
    After the complicated and amazing "Rated R" Rihanna, with "Loud", returns to the world of the simple pop, dance and R&B music. "Loud" is Rihanna fifth studio album and for the fifth time Rihanna changed her character for her album. With a simply and engaging music "Loud" is perfect for dance on the Dance Floor in an amazing night. ( sorry for my English )
  28. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    One Of The Best Album Of All Time! Every Single Song Is Perfection Beyond!
  29. Nov 19, 2010
    6
    Rihanna's 2010 "Loud", sounds like an rushed effort after the lukewarm commercial reception of 2009's "Rated R". Tracks like "What's my name?" and "Man Down" feel like fresh standouts on the otherwise generic album. Tracks like "Cheers(Drink to That)" and "Raining Men" sound unfinished and need a lot more work. The sonically unremarkable album is filled with "copy and paste" songs fromRihanna's 2010 "Loud", sounds like an rushed effort after the lukewarm commercial reception of 2009's "Rated R". Tracks like "What's my name?" and "Man Down" feel like fresh standouts on the otherwise generic album. Tracks like "Cheers(Drink to That)" and "Raining Men" sound unfinished and need a lot more work. The sonically unremarkable album is filled with "copy and paste" songs from artists like"Alanis Morissette" and "Grace Jones". "Loud" isn't an bad album but it's not great and not great isn't good. (I'm sorry tracks like "S&M" inspired me to write that ending. Expand
  30. May 23, 2011
    8
    I was disappointment not because it's a bad album - it's actually really very good - but because it didn't even begin to compare to Rated R. Rated R was bold, dark and exciting whereas Loud can more easily be put in the RNB bucket bin.
  31. Jan 27, 2011
    8
    After Rihanna's "Rated R' and transformation, I was looking forward to the albums release. I received this album for christmas and tracks such as "S&M', "What's My Name", and Only GIrl (In the World) are enough to get any party started. I was dissapointed though to find out that Rihanna did not write or co-write any of the tracks on the album. Still this album is quite good and shouldAfter Rihanna's "Rated R' and transformation, I was looking forward to the albums release. I received this album for christmas and tracks such as "S&M', "What's My Name", and Only GIrl (In the World) are enough to get any party started. I was dissapointed though to find out that Rihanna did not write or co-write any of the tracks on the album. Still this album is quite good and should be listened to. Expand
  32. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This album is really good i like the lyrics of the song and it has also got a nice beat suiting the lyrics of the song. This is definitely going to be in my top 10 for this month where as i preferd her last album a lot better.
  33. Nov 22, 2010
    6
    Rihanna's 5th album proves to me that she has great vocals, and she is able to sell records. The downfalls of the album though are the tracks "Only Girl (In The World)", and "Cheers (Drink to That)". Another low on the album is "California King Bed". Corny lyrics, and vocals that prove she can sing, we know that. We get the picture. Give us something else to work with.
  34. Nov 25, 2010
    3
    "Loud" was a mistake in comparison with Good Girl Gone Bad and Rated R. The only track who was good was Love The Way You Lie (Pt. II). And when Rihanna said: "I wanted songs that were all Rihanna songs, that nobody else could do. I didn't want the generic pop record that Ke$ha or Lady Gaga or Katy Perry could just do..." that shows that she thinks she's better that the three artists. And"Loud" was a mistake in comparison with Good Girl Gone Bad and Rated R. The only track who was good was Love The Way You Lie (Pt. II). And when Rihanna said: "I wanted songs that were all Rihanna songs, that nobody else could do. I didn't want the generic pop record that Ke$ha or Lady Gaga or Katy Perry could just do..." that shows that she thinks she's better that the three artists. And that egomania it showed in Only Girl (In the World). There are not Rihanna songs, they will be if she wrote or co-wrote it. Forgettable Expand
  35. Nov 27, 2010
    3
    Didn't Rihanna say she didn't want to make "generic pop records"? Well, she failed terribly. Such a boring, unoriginal album. Nothing special, really. There are some tracks that are decent but, well, they're forgettable. I've already forgotten what they're called and how they go. "Only Girl" has nice music, but Rihanna kills it by completely screaming the chorus, which is uncomfortable toDidn't Rihanna say she didn't want to make "generic pop records"? Well, she failed terribly. Such a boring, unoriginal album. Nothing special, really. There are some tracks that are decent but, well, they're forgettable. I've already forgotten what they're called and how they go. "Only Girl" has nice music, but Rihanna kills it by completely screaming the chorus, which is uncomfortable to hear. Also, she needs to stop singing songs about how she likes rough men and getting hurt. First there was Russian Roulette, Rude Boy and Love the Way You Lie, and now there's songs like S&M, which I hear will be a single. My God, she really seems to like it rough, doesn't she? Expand
  36. Nov 30, 2010
    5
    With songs like "Whats My Name?" & "Only Girl (In The World)" you would think this album would be SPECTACULAR! but... its just average. She may have nice catchy fun songs like "Raining Men" (ft. Nicki Minaj") but its nothing i haven't heard before from Rihanna. To me this album is kind of verging on "Generic POP"! I have heard better records from Rihanna.
  37. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Loud is my best Rihanna album so far, is definitely puts her back into her comfort zone, doing great dance music, S&M is naughtily fun, Cheers (Drink To That) is a drinking anthem, Only Girl is a fantastic dance track and Complicated is a high powered dance ballad, however California King Bed is the ballad that don't really do it for me...it's too blah! but the stand out track for me theLoud is my best Rihanna album so far, is definitely puts her back into her comfort zone, doing great dance music, S&M is naughtily fun, Cheers (Drink To That) is a drinking anthem, Only Girl is a fantastic dance track and Complicated is a high powered dance ballad, however California King Bed is the ballad that don't really do it for me...it's too blah! but the stand out track for me the Man Down, the reggae influenced track, I love it! 10/10 deserved Expand
  38. Dec 12, 2010
    6
    Me rating this album as 5 should sound strange, if you see on my Last.fm and realize that I have listen to it at least 250 times. "S&M" is Rihanna's masterpiece. One of the best (sex) songs I have ever heard. I mean, for me it's like a drug, if I listen once, I have to listen 4 times at least. There are other good songs "Only Girl" and "What's My Name" shows Rihanna and the quality of herMe rating this album as 5 should sound strange, if you see on my Last.fm and realize that I have listen to it at least 250 times. "S&M" is Rihanna's masterpiece. One of the best (sex) songs I have ever heard. I mean, for me it's like a drug, if I listen once, I have to listen 4 times at least. There are other good songs "Only Girl" and "What's My Name" shows Rihanna and the quality of her vocal skills. It's not the greatest vocal of all time, but it's good to hear. "Complicated" is a fun song, love the lyrics. But what can I say about the rest of the songs. OMG, I can even listen to them more than once. I know that some of them are grower, but it's not that good. But Rihanna shows on LOUD that she is one of the most amazing stars in the world. Expand
  39. Jan 2, 2011
    4
    Although the album isn't awful, it sure as heck isn't up to Rihanna's standards. Most of the tracks act as fillers for the occasional good song, with exceptions being Only Girl (In the World), What's My Name, and Raining Men. With these excluded, the album would just be a bland mess of white noise. An overall failure by my evaluation.
  40. Jan 4, 2011
    5
    I was disappointed in "Loud", especially when they said Rihanna was "going back to her pop roots". I did not find too much pop in the work of the album. There are a few tracks I found myself liking and listening to more frequently, such as S&M and Raining Men; along with Only Girl. Sorry to the Drake fans, but I could not get into that track with him in it; I got a track without his verseI was disappointed in "Loud", especially when they said Rihanna was "going back to her pop roots". I did not find too much pop in the work of the album. There are a few tracks I found myself liking and listening to more frequently, such as S&M and Raining Men; along with Only Girl. Sorry to the Drake fans, but I could not get into that track with him in it; I got a track without his verse and like it way better. Overall I was not impressed and hope she does better next time. Expand
  41. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    Rihanna is back again with some strong work after her previous (disastrous, in my opinion) album. While Loud doesn't show a wide range of growth in terms of the sound of the music, the shrillness of her voice has declined and she's singing better than she ever has. Loud is far from a classic and you might not even be listening to it next year but for now, it's a collection of fun,Rihanna is back again with some strong work after her previous (disastrous, in my opinion) album. While Loud doesn't show a wide range of growth in terms of the sound of the music, the shrillness of her voice has declined and she's singing better than she ever has. Loud is far from a classic and you might not even be listening to it next year but for now, it's a collection of fun, well-produced pop songs that are a joy to listen to. Expand
  42. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    Overall (In My Opinion) Rihanna's Best Album!
    Love You And Ur Music!
  43. May 26, 2011
    6
    The album is ok, but she could have done much better - especially after "Good Girl Gone Bad" and "Rated R". Some of the tracks are good, but there is no evolution whatsoever.
  44. Jun 26, 2011
    7
    Overall a decent album with superb hits like whats my name,only girl and S&M,i like Man Down,Complicated and Skin as well.Good but not great except for a few songs.
  45. Jun 30, 2011
    6
    This album is really a step backward from Rated R, but is fun, catchy, makes you feel good. Perfect music for American industry. And, as I'm not the American industry, I'm not so pleased with it. Average to OK.
  46. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    Even though almost 8 months have passed since Loud saw the light in late 2010, I believe Loud is one of the albums that truly stand out, I could say is one of the albums of this decade that makes it worth commenting and reviewing. Almost every single track is club worthy and chart worthy, except for Raining Men with Nicki Minaj, this album is great to listen to. No wonder Only Girl (In theEven though almost 8 months have passed since Loud saw the light in late 2010, I believe Loud is one of the albums that truly stand out, I could say is one of the albums of this decade that makes it worth commenting and reviewing. Almost every single track is club worthy and chart worthy, except for Raining Men with Nicki Minaj, this album is great to listen to. No wonder Only Girl (In the World), What's My Name? with Drake and S&M made it on the Hot 100, hopefully Man Down and California King Bed make it on the top spot or in the Top 3. Let's wait and see if it's true if she re-releases Loud this fall. Expand
  47. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    From the dance floor born "S&M", to the hormone injected "Skin", this album is a potential hit from start to finish. From the club inspired tracks like "S&M", and "Only Girl (In The World)" to the hip hop "What's My Name?", and "Cheers (Drink To That)", to the island themed "Man Down", to the rock ballad "California King Bed" to the other rock, infuesed with hip hop song, "Skin", to theFrom the dance floor born "S&M", to the hormone injected "Skin", this album is a potential hit from start to finish. From the club inspired tracks like "S&M", and "Only Girl (In The World)" to the hip hop "What's My Name?", and "Cheers (Drink To That)", to the island themed "Man Down", to the rock ballad "California King Bed" to the other rock, infuesed with hip hop song, "Skin", to the hip hop infuesed ballad "Fading", to the pop ballad "Complicated, to the rap/hip hop song "Raining Men" (with an excellent performence by Nicki Minaj), this album jumps from genre to genre flawlessly. It doesn't once feel like she's ripping of anyone, and you people have to realize something! Do you all know how long music's been out? It may not be on purpose, but every album is going to at least accidently copy off someone. When you find an album out in the last five years that is completly 100% original then let me know! Expand
  48. Oct 16, 2011
    7
    Not a brillaint album, rather good songs, but yet there are some songs I feel ive heard on her previous albums! I do think maybe her next album will be a bit more exciting.
  49. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    Loud is a commercial album. With the exception of a few songs, this is just made for selling. It's a good pop album, but I know that Rihanna can do much better. It's definitely not good enough for being the successor of Rated R, which is a work of art.
  50. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Even though the album was a bit rushed, it provided many types of music. Reggae, Pop, R&b, and even a bit of dance. It takes her back to the Caribbean roots she also had, and gains attention with the radio through her pop songs. All in all the album was AMAZING, very radio friendly.
  51. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive like most albums and what I love is how Rihanna can always keep it fresh and with time she's becoming better and better. DIVA!!!
  52. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    It clearly spawn great tracks. And to be honest, those tracks are pretty good. On the other hand, I can see no vocal evolution here. Instead, I witnessed a vocal fall down. With the consistent use of auto-tune in most songs, this album sucked vocally. But the lyrical and musical composition of some tracks like Love The Way You Lie, California King Bed, and Man Down are strong enough toIt clearly spawn great tracks. And to be honest, those tracks are pretty good. On the other hand, I can see no vocal evolution here. Instead, I witnessed a vocal fall down. With the consistent use of auto-tune in most songs, this album sucked vocally. But the lyrical and musical composition of some tracks like Love The Way You Lie, California King Bed, and Man Down are strong enough to carry the album to a higher rate. Expand
  53. Apr 30, 2012
    6
    I leave above the average for the songs are good, which there is no way to contest. However, it's just an album made â
  54. Mar 24, 2012
    4
    To me, LOUD is Rihanna's weakest effort since she got into mainstream music (not counting "Music of the Sun" and "A Girl Like Me"). After the great album that was "Rated R" is was expecting her to maintain her level of involvement in the making of the record, but she completely step out of it instead. She just relied on the help of "Stargate" and other usual collaborators to create her theTo me, LOUD is Rihanna's weakest effort since she got into mainstream music (not counting "Music of the Sun" and "A Girl Like Me"). After the great album that was "Rated R" is was expecting her to maintain her level of involvement in the making of the record, but she completely step out of it instead. She just relied on the help of "Stargate" and other usual collaborators to create her the album obvious hits: "Only Girl (in the World)" and "S&M". She was lucky to make the extremely average song "What's my Name?" a success. The rest of the album is forgettable, except for the curious "Man Down". It is just (which is unforgivable given the medium quality of it's songs) but also rides on the success of "Love the Way You Lie" with not only one, but two versions of a "second part". It is incomprehensible to me how could this album be more successful than "Rated R" or her more recent "Talk That Talk". Publicity must really play a bigger role than I thought in her career.

    Highlights: Only Girl (in the World), S&M, Man Down
    Expand
  55. May 31, 2012
    10
    This Is What Pop Music Is!
    Real Vocals Real Music.. No Auto Tune Crap..
    Love This Album One Of The Best Albums Of All Time!
    Best Song: S&M
    Worst Song: None
  56. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    This album is such a complete party. But I think some songs in this cd have more harmony and dancing than the singles. "Man Down" is boring, "Complicated" or "Skin" can replace this single, I think. But, in general, the album isn't so bad, I just think that a little more of work can transform this in something far better.
  57. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    This album is a unique pop album and seems like a effortless one-off. Rihanna goes a little back to her Carribean roots with songs like 'Man Down', 'Cheers' and 'What's My Name?' and also ploughs in a new musical direction, Overall the album is colourful and is like a bright day down at the beaches. Good On You Rihanna
  58. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Her best effort to date ! From S&M until Love the Way You Lie (Part II), the album is a complete masterpiece. One song that bothers me is Raining Men with the awful Nicki Minaj. Apart of that it's awesome!
  59. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    This is one of Rihanna's shorter albums but it also happens to be one of her best as I felt it delievred the best singles. All the songs bring their own little something to the album and it even has Rihanna's own take on the Enimem smash 'Love The Way You Lie'.
  60. Duu
    May 22, 2013
    2
    There are only 3 good songs on this album and the rest is filler. The good songs are S&M, What's My Name, and Only Girl (In the World). None of these songs are unforgettable, even though Only Girl the most solid song among the three worth listening to.
  61. May 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incrível. Um Ano Após O Quarto Album "Rated R" Rihanna Conseguiu Cancões Muito Boas Na Maioria.
    Top Do Loud.
    1-What's My Name
    2-Cheers (Drink To That)
    3-California King Bed
    4-Fading
    5-Only Girl (In The World)
    Expand
  62. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Although "Good Girl Gone Bad" is album that Rihanna is best known for, it was "Loud" that established her as a pop and R&B diva and one of the biggest hit-makers on the world (and my favourite singer). Singles like "Only Girl (In The World)", "What's My Name" and "S&M" became the biggest hits of both 2010 and 2011. Reggae inspired "Man Down", vulnerable rock ballad "California King Bed"Although "Good Girl Gone Bad" is album that Rihanna is best known for, it was "Loud" that established her as a pop and R&B diva and one of the biggest hit-makers on the world (and my favourite singer). Singles like "Only Girl (In The World)", "What's My Name" and "S&M" became the biggest hits of both 2010 and 2011. Reggae inspired "Man Down", vulnerable rock ballad "California King Bed" (smash hits in Europe) and sensual 5 minutes of heaven called "Skin" are some of the best songs Rihanna have ever made. She also improved her vocal abilities on songs lik "Complicated" or "Love The Way You Lie II". During the promotion of the album she collaborated with some of the biggest names in the music industry like: Guetta, Drake, Eminem, Minaj and even the pop princess Britney Spears. It truly deserves this rating.

    9 out of 10
    Expand
  63. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Rihanna's best album, and one of my favorite albums ever. Every song is amazing, and she made up for her 4th album, "Rated R". The best song is "S&M."
  64. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    Serving as a lighthearted return to pop for Rihanna, Loud boasts salacious and provocative lyrics that offer more than gimmicks of "S-E-X". The perfection however lies in that this album was carefully calculated to the point of being front-loaded. The latter third of the album weighs down the pacing, and scrapes the bottom of the pop barrel (the same flaw with her third album, Good GirlServing as a lighthearted return to pop for Rihanna, Loud boasts salacious and provocative lyrics that offer more than gimmicks of "S-E-X". The perfection however lies in that this album was carefully calculated to the point of being front-loaded. The latter third of the album weighs down the pacing, and scrapes the bottom of the pop barrel (the same flaw with her third album, Good Girl Gone Bad.) Expand
  65. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    I must admit, I receive this album as the most commercial among all of her CDs. It means nothing, because it is still brilliant. Commercialism made by Riri is diffrent than stuff from Pitbull. My faves are "Cheers", "California King Bed" and probably the most influenced by Euro-dance "Complicated". I adore image of Riri while promoting this great album. She is just a lioness RAW:D
  66. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Her best album, DEFINITELY. The chorus are explosive, and she mixed many rhythms together, and they're all good. After Rated R, I think she put in a record multiple hits. Congratulations, Riri!
  67. Dec 6, 2013
    7
    This album for me was her best until I listened to the others more thoroughly and enjoyed this one less. The standout track has to be 'Man Down' as it takes her back to her Caribbean roots with the letdowns being 'Raining Men', 'Skin' and 'Complicated'. But considering that by averaging out the 11 songs scores I got 7.36 it shows that this album is actually pretty good.
  68. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    This will forever be a favorite pop album by many. It had the most #1 hits from all her albums, and it is still a forget-less album, the singles here were worthy, and still memorable.
  69. Nov 1, 2014
    7
    With "S&M" , "What's My Name ?",and "Only Girl (In The World)",Rihanna proves that she belongs to pop music, too. And most of the songs on this album sounds very interesting (happy) with both lyrics, rhythms , and the way Rihanna sings . Although the track "Skin" is not that great as others are...
  70. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    Best album of Rihanna, taking "Skin" all the songs are good, do not get tired of hearing this album, really good.
    Highlights: S & M and Only Girl
    Lows: Skin and Fading
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    70
    While each track on Loud is an audio Polaroid of past work, there's little evolution. It's evident Rihanna is working her way to the top, but she's been doing that for three albums now.
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    50
    At a brief 47 minutes, though, it's hard to see Rihanna fans walking away from Loud thinking she's anything other than the coolest girl in her field.
  3. Nov 30, 2010
    40
    The record's best moments aim low rather than loud, with spacious, skittery beats that let loose Rihanna's Caribbean cadence.