Louden Up Now

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Allison
    Aug 24, 2004
    10
    One word: Amazing. ;D
  2. erike
    Jun 29, 2004
    9
    i've been waiting for this new full length since i caught them live last year. i would have to say it was worth the wait. upon first listen i was unimpressed, but i was then sucked in and after repeated listenings i am addicted and satisfied. not your typical "dance punk" or "electroclash" or whatever you want to call it, more like a mix of late '70's no wave, house music i've been waiting for this new full length since i caught them live last year. i would have to say it was worth the wait. upon first listen i was unimpressed, but i was then sucked in and after repeated listenings i am addicted and satisfied. not your typical "dance punk" or "electroclash" or whatever you want to call it, more like a mix of late '70's no wave, house music and early '90's industrial. pardon my freedom, hello? is this thing on? and shit scheisse merde stack up pretty well next to the flawless me and guiliani... Expand
  3. AD
    Jun 9, 2004
    9
    a couple of flat tracks, but its been on constant replay for me, so that spoke for itself. excellent music, asinine lyrics that can be either ignored or gleefully sung along to. makes you dance even when its not on. a majority of those dissing on it are just bringing up issues about what they expected after the guliani ep....
  4. wackyman
    Aug 1, 2004
    8
    Take Shrieckback, A certain Ratio, Gang of Four mix'em up into a groovy cocktail and serve it with 21th century production sugarcoating. In a way !!! is both retrospective and innovating at the same time
  5. Feb 10, 2005
    8
    absolutely great!
  6. EmB
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    uplifting and funky and definitely cool, 'Hello? Is This Thing On?' is so well put together, the Bass weaving through the riffs. love it.
  7. inesc
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    if this is even possible, they're even better live.
  8. HairPulley
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    !!! delivered "Louden Up Now", and it is certainly a great listen. The bass lines flow like milk and the vocals are softened, overpowered by the funk-punk that surrounds it. "Shit Sheisse Merde Pts. 1 & 2" and "Me and Guiliani..." serve great dance operations. Impress yourself with your listen of !!!.
  9. Alex
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    The cd is great although at times slightly repetitive. It's among my favorites. The cd has really grown on me.
  10. PatS
    Aug 12, 2004
    9
    The funkiest thing since hair wax.
  11. MacM
    Aug 2, 2004
    8
    Funky from the outset, froody from the inside.
  12. AlysinJ
    Feb 12, 2005
    9
    wicked fun.
  13. MichaelK
    Jun 16, 2004
    7
    Nothing could live up to last year's single, Me And Giuliani Down By The School Yard. And, sure enough, none of the material on this album reaches those stellar heights of groove and layers and sonic build. But there are still some great arrangements and tight grooves. Then again, some sections fall a little bit flat. Their eponymous debut seemed longer on ideas, but the angular Nothing could live up to last year's single, Me And Giuliani Down By The School Yard. And, sure enough, none of the material on this album reaches those stellar heights of groove and layers and sonic build. But there are still some great arrangements and tight grooves. Then again, some sections fall a little bit flat. Their eponymous debut seemed longer on ideas, but the angular melodies weren't as fun as the cool summer grooves on Louden Up Now. Good, but not great. Expand
  14. crasssnot
    Aug 14, 2004
    8
    i was shopping for Superjoint Ritual and track 2 was playing over the p.a. so i bought this as well. F'n love it!!!
  15. karlat
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    definately on my top ten albums this year. There are no bad songs. Glad I came across it. Good band to see in concert too.
  16. HollyP
    May 19, 2006
    9
    a great great one. really good dancing ice bass
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Planet
    70
    Resolutely bottom-heavy and abstract. [#7, p.73]
  2. !!! has put together an end-to-end burner here, full of songs that will move your ass and stick in your ear for weeks.
  3. Uncut
    60
    It's exuberant dorkiness, as well as fluidity of playing, that makes !!! stand out. [Jul 2004, p.106]