Love in the Future - John Legend
Love in the Future Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the R&B/soul singer features guest appearances from Rick Ross and Stacy Barthe as well as production from Kanye West and Dave Tozer.
  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Genre(s): Pop, R&B, Soul, Urban, Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Neo-Soul, Adult Contemporary R&B, Contemporary R&B
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    John Legend captures the intimacy of the R&B genre without sacrificing the core music, which keeps it interesting for everyone.
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    80
    Love in the Future is among Legend's best work, made for couples who are into one another for the long term while feeling a little daring and crazy.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    80
    All of Legend’s strengths are present: keen melodies, smooth vocal understatement, and artful arrangements.
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    60
    At 16 tracks, the album moves surprisingly fast, with few songs outstaying their welcome, but it ultimately fails to successfully push Legend into the future.
  5. Jan 27, 2014
    60
    It's a hit-and-miss affair. [Oct 2013, p.105]
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    60
    [The album] is not in the same league as his magnificent 2004 debut, Get Lifted. But Love In The Future, boasting production and writing credits by Kanye West, still has plenty of beautiful moments.
  7. Sep 3, 2013
    50
    Legend is content to adopt a croonerific sound that doesn't challenge existing soul genre parameters in the least. That's fine, in theory, but rather yawn-worthy in execution.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    John Legend is one of the most talented musicians of the current generation and he never fails to deliver an excellent album. He weaves aJohn Legend is one of the most talented musicians of the current generation and he never fails to deliver an excellent album. He weaves a compelling tale about the many joys and perils of love. His voice sounds as good as ever and this album has made me realise how hard I've missed his music over the past few years. His previous project was a collaboration with the Roots and although I liked it, it contained just one original song. Luckily on this album we get plenty of brand new songs. One of the two covers on the album Open your eyes which originally was written by Bobby Caldwell was adapted by Legend with such tenacity and vigour that you'd think this song was written just for him. Together with All of me I think these two are the stand out tracks although the majority of songs are excellent. The only thing I didn't really like about this album was the Rick Ross feature. It didn't feel right on an album that's so pure R&B. A must listen for any John Legend fan and for R&B-lovers in general Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    Clearly Legend's voice has not deteriorated- it sounds as it did on his first album. Kanye stayed on as a producer on some of the songs, whichClearly Legend's voice has not deteriorated- it sounds as it did on his first album. Kanye stayed on as a producer on some of the songs, which matches Legend's style very well. 17 tracks and most of the songs could be strong singles for the radio. My only complaint with this record is that I would have liked more "uptempo" songs. As I listened to the album the word came to mind was "sappy." Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    Simply put: meh. One song was really great (All Of Me), and some were ok. Like I've read from other reviews, it's sappy and could use a bitSimply put: meh. One song was really great (All Of Me), and some were ok. Like I've read from other reviews, it's sappy and could use a bit more energy in most sounds. I would need to give it another good listen before setting my judgement into sand, but John Legend is not up my alley. Collapse