Love Is Overtaking Me

  • Record Label: Audika
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2008

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Uncut
    It features tracks recorded with rock outfits like The Flying Hearts which recall Jonathan Richman and Lou Reed; minimal, folksy miniatures that sound a ltttle like John Martyn or James Taylor; and a string of delicious, whimsical synth-pop songs that are as good as anything in the early-'80s canon. [Dec 2008, p.115]
  2. Love Is overtaking Me is just another reason to mourn Russell's far too early loss.
  3. The tracks currently being dusted off in his archive, however, have so far been dependably strong, despite being mostly unfinished tracks of incredible musical variety.
  4. The songs--and especially their alternately playful, pained, and purposeful delivery--sell themselves.
  5. This is one of the finest chapters yet in Audika's continuing retrospective. Let's hope there is still more where this came from.
  6. In each of the 21 songs there is something to draw from, an instrumental colour to enjoy or a sentiment with which to relate.
  7. This set has 21 unreleased folk and pop tracks, their conventional framework unable to contain the childlike dreaminess that marks their creator's best work, whatever the genre.
  8. 80
    Love letters, brief smiles, a touch on the arm, friends, and pets abound; throughout, Russell poignantly captures and echoes life's ephemeral delights.
  9. Culled from the 1,000 tapes he left behind on his death in 1992, this collection showcases an immense, eclectic talent.
  10. Mojo
    That these and a tranche of equally alluring gems were never released during Russell's lifetime only adds to their poignancy. [Dec 2008, p.104]
  11. Russell's lighter-than-air voice, murmuring about big-city love, recalls Nick Drake, and his filigreed melodies are stingingly gorgeous.
  12. Everything Russell recorded is worth a listen, but while 'Close My Eyes' will likely soon stand alongside 'This Is How We Walk on the Moon' and 'That's Us/Wild Combination' as one of the most instantly pleasing songs in his discography, this collection only occasionally captures him at the height of his powers.
  13. Depending how much you dig [Alt-Country], there are either one or two fairly splendid albums embedded in these 22 songs, running to 64 minutes in total.
  14. The Wire
    Once you make the adjustment and accept these songs for what they are, ther are moments of loveliness. But for the most part, one can onlyy wonder what attracted Russell to indulge in this sort of stuff given his more renowned output. [Nov 2008, p.68]

Awards & Rankings

There are no user reviews yet.