Love Is Overtaking Me - Arthur Russell
Love Is Overtaking Me Image

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The album features 21 tracks never before released by the late singer/songwriter Arthur Russell.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    It features tracks recorded with rock outfits like The Flying Hearts which recall Jonathan Richman and Lou Reed; minimal, folksy miniatures that sound a ltttle like John Martyn or James Taylor; and a string of delicious, whimsical synth-pop songs that are as good as anything in the early-'80s canon. [Dec 2008, p.115]
  2. Love Is overtaking Me is just another reason to mourn Russell's far too early loss.
  3. The tracks currently being dusted off in his archive, however, have so far been dependably strong, despite being mostly unfinished tracks of incredible musical variety.
  4. This set has 21 unreleased folk and pop tracks, their conventional framework unable to contain the childlike dreaminess that marks their creator's best work, whatever the genre.
  5. Culled from the 1,000 tapes he left behind on his death in 1992, this collection showcases an immense, eclectic talent.
  6. In each of the 21 songs there is something to draw from, an instrumental colour to enjoy or a sentiment with which to relate.
  7. It's clear Russell was a true renaissance man, as at home with thoughtful guitar pop as he was with New York disco. [Dec 2008, p.143]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of