Lulu - Lou Reed
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 13 out of 31
  1. The whole thing comes off as either an expensive major label joke or nigh-impenetrable high art concept. Maybe both.
  2. 30
    Lulu is essentially a piece of shock art that's littered with vulgarity both lyrical and musical.
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    30
    Any message contained within Lulu is lost in the whirl of discordant guitar work, Reed's mutterings and the complete sense of abject disappointment that surrounds the entire album.
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    25
    An utter wreck that curiously, miraculously, might have been great.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    25
    LuLu is a work that invites derision, an album that wallows in a tarpit of ugliness.
  6. 25
    The bulk of Lulu sounds like your dad's drunk friend reciting his self-penned erotica over a melting ReLoad cassette.
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    20
    Lulu sinks to almost unimaginable lows.
  8. Nov 2, 2011
    20
    It turns out that "Brandenburg Gate" is one of the only songs with an actual melody. The rest of Lulu is full of recycled, repetitive riffs; endless drones; more sex and violence than a slasher movie.
  9. Nov 1, 2011
    20
    Lulu is a joyless mess, a grim, humorless record with no notion of when to say "when."
  10. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    The godfather of avant-rock and the popular metal band don't click on any level.
  11. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Audacious to the extreme, but exhaustingly tedious as a result, its few interesting ideas are stretched out beyond the point of utility and pounded into submission.
  12. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    At no point does Lou Reed sound like he is singing with Metallica, and the same is true the other way around.
  13. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    Not only is Lulu the worst thing any of the players have been involved in, it's quite possibly a candidate for one of the worst albums ever made.
User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 58
  2. Negative: 40 out of 58
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    0
    I've seen several comments online where bloggers say we "don't get it". Anyone who says this is avant garde music has little experience with that genre. Dangerous, abrasive and compelling are all hallmarks of avant rock. This is just an embarrassment made by two creatively bankrupt artists. Please stop your Metallica hero worship and hear this album for what it is: Crap. Full Review »
  2. WD2
    Nov 1, 2011
    4
    The only saving grace for this album may be that it is not the worst album of 2011; Theory of a Deadman already clinched that honor back in the summer. But Lou Reed's nasally delivery just doesn't fit, it comes off as some uninspired old fart recording his voice in the living room while a metal riff plays in the background. As Allmusic wrote, this would have worked far better with an ambient band such as Sunn 0))) than with Metallica. Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    1
    I remember listening to this album for the first time and literally laughing. I thought it was a joke, I hope it is, because if Lou Reed and Metallica seriously thought this was a good album then they BOTH need to hang it up. Terrible lyrics, horrible vocals, flat melodies, uninspired riffs, just about every misfire in the book is present on Lulu. I am giving it a 1 because, as I mentioned, it made me laugh, and that has to count for something. Full Review »