Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 13 out of 31
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    60
    LuLu is an album that will require many plays before the music contained within beings to make sense. [29 Oct 2011, p.50]
  2. 60
    It takes some commitment, and maybe a little homework, to get the most out of the album.
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    60
    Things can get ponderous once Metallica start impatiently stomping, but often they turn Reed's pretensions into something muscular.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, Lulu is a brave experiment for both Reed and Metallica, but it's one that falters as often as it succeeds.
  5. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    Reed's words dictate the musical structure. Often, Metallica simply fall in behind them in a free-form drone. Like much of Reed's late-period work, this is abstract and literary but even by his standards, Lulu is gruelling.
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    50
    It's not an especially good album, but its failures are noble rather than ignoble-byproducts of ambition rather than hubris.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    40
    Occasionally it's so insane that you can't help but be swept along with it. Mostly, however, it's so over the top the more likely reaction is to run it off and make sure you don't hear it again in a hurry. [Dec. 2011 p. 122]
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    40
    It's not truly terrible, but it does feel akin to a musical version of King Kong Vs. Godzilla, two monsters decimating everything in their path until there's nothing left, except the back catalogues.
  9. Nov 4, 2011
    40
    Up until Lulu, I didn't think it was possible to be both enamored and disgusted at the same time. Mind? Blown.
  10. Oct 31, 2011
    40
    It's not a successful union: the songs are too close to aimless, unfinished jams, Reed sounds as if he's trying too hard to be controversial and at 95 minutes it's far too long.
  11. 40
    It's not hard to see why both parties agreed to the alliance--Metallica gain artistic cachet, Reed gains an audience--but it is not an alliance that welcomes listeners with open arms.
  12. Oct 27, 2011
    40
    There's an insurmountable disjunction between the sound of Metallica doing their nut in the background and Reed's papery old voice rambling away upfront.
User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 61
  2. Negative: 42 out of 61
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    0
    I've seen several comments online where bloggers say we "don't get it". Anyone who says this is avant garde music has little experienceI've seen several comments online where bloggers say we "don't get it". Anyone who says this is avant garde music has little experience with that genre. Dangerous, abrasive and compelling are all hallmarks of avant rock. This is just an embarrassment made by two creatively bankrupt artists. Please stop your Metallica hero worship and hear this album for what it is: Crap. Full Review »
  2. WD2
    Nov 1, 2011
    4
    The only saving grace for this album may be that it is not the worst album of 2011; Theory of a Deadman already clinched that honor back inThe only saving grace for this album may be that it is not the worst album of 2011; Theory of a Deadman already clinched that honor back in the summer. But Lou Reed's nasally delivery just doesn't fit, it comes off as some uninspired old fart recording his voice in the living room while a metal riff plays in the background. As Allmusic wrote, this would have worked far better with an ambient band such as Sunn 0))) than with Metallica. Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    1
    I remember listening to this album for the first time and literally laughing. I thought it was a joke, I hope it is, because if Lou Reed andI remember listening to this album for the first time and literally laughing. I thought it was a joke, I hope it is, because if Lou Reed and Metallica seriously thought this was a good album then they BOTH need to hang it up. Terrible lyrics, horrible vocals, flat melodies, uninspired riffs, just about every misfire in the book is present on Lulu. I am giving it a 1 because, as I mentioned, it made me laugh, and that has to count for something. Full Review »