Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 80
    Everything here roars. [May 2006, p.108]
  2. Hatfield tears through 12 songs, posturing and pouting over caustic guitars and leaving her singalong hooks raw and unedited. [13 Aug 2005]
  3. Her songs still revolve mostly around the adolescent hell of looking right and pleasing jerky guys, a shtick that would be old if Hatfield, well into her thirties, didn’t genuinely sound as if she were still living through it.
  4. Made in China is a raw, angry album that is difficult to endure at points due to the emotionally naked lyrics, but the lo-fi, almost punky, music is a perfect fit.
  5. There's clarity visible beneath the waterline, sharp lyrics and even some hummable choruses. [Oct/Nov 2005, p.141]
  6. The sour largely overwhelms the sweet on this set of metal sludge, repetitive tunes, and purposefully ugly vocal effects. [12 Aug 2005, p.77]
  7. Hatfield has nothing new to say besides "You don't know what it's like to be perfect," and it might explain her perfect-person tendency toward carelessness-- guitar solos, grating vocals, overdone crabbiness-- all signs that point to thinly veiled midlife crisis rock.
  8. A confused, sloppy, childish, conflicted mess.
  9. Made In China soon disintegrates into demo-quality slackness. [8 Sep 2005, p.116]
  10. The blandest rock n' roll record possible.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. DavidA
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard in a long time. Her sound has changed since the last album, which was a little sweeter. This One of the best albums I've heard in a long time. Her sound has changed since the last album, which was a little sweeter. This one's gritty, with more distorted guitar and less cutesy lyrics than some of her work. There really isn't a bad track on this disc, which goes by way too quickly. Tracks 1, 2, 5, 7, and 12 are my favorites. Full Review »
  2. EffEll
    Oct 26, 2005
    3
    I use to be in love with Juliana. I'm not anymore.
  3. davidh
    Sep 26, 2005
    8
    I'm juliana's stalker,so it's kind of hard to be unbiased, and i hate to compare it with other albums. she continues to amaze. I'm juliana's stalker,so it's kind of hard to be unbiased, and i hate to compare it with other albums. she continues to amaze. she's everything rock and roll should be. her songs don't beg to be liked. or do they?her records are never quite as good as you want them to be, yet they're still my favorite records.she's got nothing left to prove, but keeps proving it. Keep writing, jules!!!!! Full Review »