Make Up The Breakdown Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This Sub Pop debut for the British Columbia band falls into the 80s/punk revival category occupied by the likes of French Kicks and Radio 4, although Cure comparisons are more likely (since lead singer Steve Bays' voice sounds, at times, almost identical to Robert Smith's).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Despite all this seemingly new wave-laden, impeccably cool, retrograde influence, 'Make Up The Break Down' is indisputably now.
  2. One of the more unique pop albums of the year.
  3. 80
    Like The Dismemberment Plan's Emergency and I, this seems to glide from one high-energy song to another, each one unique and fascinating by itself, echoing the sparse tones of The Police here and there, or INXS's Kick-era attention to beat in other places.
  4. 80
    One long indie/new-wave rave-up, all spring-loaded guitars, stabbing organs, and footloose drums. [Dec 2002, p.138]
  5. Splendid ramshackle pop corniness. [Dec 2002, p.81]
  6. Someone had to pick up where Oingo Boingo left off when Danny Elfman decided to grow old and rich composing film scores.
  7. 40
    In their desperate eagerness to please, HHH offer a few modest pleasures. [#12, p.143]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. AshlieW.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    I rate this album a 10 because it never gets old and I can listen to it over and over without ever getting tired of it. It is catchy and melodic, with fun tunes so no matter who you are, you'll want to sing along and maybe even dance some. I cannot even pick a favorite from this album, mostly because every song is so fun and unique and has a different reason for being well-liked. Talk to me, Dance with me will have you dancing and smiling with great instrumental solos and everything. Oh Goddamnit is a fun song that is many fans' favorite song. All in alll the album is great, I would recommend it to all over my friends and peers and it makes me happy to hear that someone new is listening to it! Collapse
  2. MichaelD
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    Very well done. Can't wait for their next album.
  3. Chris
    Oct 27, 2002
    10
    Perfect!
  4. MeganS
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    Make Up The Breakdown is amazing. Every song is dangerously catchy, and the lyrics are so witty. Each song is very different, and many have several different parts, so the listener is never bored. I can't say what the highlights of this album are, because every song is equally incredible. You'll want to dance when listening to this. This is definently worth your money, and if you like it, also check out Hot Hot Heat's EP Knock Knock Knock. Expand
  5. BrandonB
    Nov 29, 2002
    9
    Sure it's not sex, drugs or violence; but would you honestly use that as your judgement call for a "great album". Great lyrics, original guitar, and wonderfully constructed or rather deconstructed songs; more than fun, it's really- well done fun. Expand
  6. jao
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    this album consumed me for 2 months.
  7. briana.
    May 29, 2005
    0
    it sucked so bad i threw it out the window

See all 18 User Reviews