User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This album is one of the best things of 2012 for me so far, there isn't a song i dislike on the whole CD. Also love how each song is very different from the last... GREAT ALBUM! buy now
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    When the opening track, which is only 1 minute long, started, I feared this album wouldn't be as great as I hoped, but it turned out I was wrong. Easy Way Out, Eyes Wide Open and Somebody That I Used to Know are some great indie pop songs that gave me the impression that this was going to be a good album.

    And then the great stuff kicked in. Smoke and Mirrors is a very classy song with a
    progressive sound and one of my favorites on the album. After 2 songs that take inspiration from soul and George Michael, the album reaches its peak (at least for me), with the groovy, psychedelic State of the Art and the creepy, alienating Don't Worry We'll Be Watching You. From this point, the album builds off with Giving Me a Chance and Save Me, the first one being a soft, sad song and the second being a clear and fun song. Finally the album closes with Bronte, my favorite from the album, for Gotye really sings with his heart and the song is soothing yet sad. Overall a fantastic album, that shows a lot of different styles but never feels too inconsistent. I highly recommend anyone to listen to this album, I think anybody who likes music can find at least one song on this album that fits his/her style. Expand
  3. May 4, 2012
    9
    Making Mirrors is one of the best albums of the year.
    With amazing songs such as "Eyes Wide Open", "Easy Way Out", "I Feel Better" & "Save Me, Making Mirrors is a classic that will be loved for a very long time."
  4. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    I loved this album, it's pretty clear that Gotye is different from everyone else. With a voice that's a combination of Peter Gabriel and Sting. Gotye is probably one of the best artists today. with standout tracks like Eyes Wide Open, I Feel Better and his very first smash hit "somebody that I used to know" The Austrailan- Belgian singer could become one of the biggest artists on the indie scene. BUY THIS ALBUM NOW! Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    I found Gotye through his chart smashing single 'Somebody That I Use To Know.' When listening to that song I was relieved, I finally found a chart track that had soul, meanings and full of expressive thoughts. After hearing this song I went on to google for more of his records and found his album 'Making Mirrors' and it was worth the money, best money I have ever spent, period. It has everything you want on an album, a gorgeous introduction followed by a smart and interesting outro, and in-between that pieces of gold chunks filled full of yummy waves and expressive sound chunks. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    One of the most intersting artists pf the last few years. Fortunately, "Making Mirrors" is not just a great-single-with-a-lot-of-fillers album, but there are great tracks: "Smoke and Mirrors", "Bronte", "State of The Art" and "Save Me".
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    50
    [Making Mirrors] showcases a risk-taking, self-possessed artist, with mixed results.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    80
    Quirky nods to power pop, jazz, and even sci-fi dub suggest a restless, Beck-like future. [April 2012, p.107]
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    60
    Making Mirrors offers plenty of evidence the guy could be capable of just a little bit more if he'd focus in on pop music at the expense of his more esoteric impulses, or at least learn how to separate the two more efficiently.