Making Mirrors

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 66
  2. Negative: 3 out of 66
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This album is one of the best things of 2012 for me so far, there isn't a song i dislike on the whole CD. Also love how each song is very different from the last... GREAT ALBUM! buy now
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    When the opening track, which is only 1 minute long, started, I feared this album wouldn't be as great as I hoped, but it turned out I was wrong. Easy Way Out, Eyes Wide Open and Somebody That I Used to Know are some great indie pop songs that gave me the impression that this was going to be a good album.

    And then the great stuff kicked in. Smoke and Mirrors is a very classy song with a
    When the opening track, which is only 1 minute long, started, I feared this album wouldn't be as great as I hoped, but it turned out I was wrong. Easy Way Out, Eyes Wide Open and Somebody That I Used to Know are some great indie pop songs that gave me the impression that this was going to be a good album.

    And then the great stuff kicked in. Smoke and Mirrors is a very classy song with a progressive sound and one of my favorites on the album. After 2 songs that take inspiration from soul and George Michael, the album reaches its peak (at least for me), with the groovy, psychedelic State of the Art and the creepy, alienating Don't Worry We'll Be Watching You. From this point, the album builds off with Giving Me a Chance and Save Me, the first one being a soft, sad song and the second being a clear and fun song. Finally the album closes with Bronte, my favorite from the album, for Gotye really sings with his heart and the song is soothing yet sad. Overall a fantastic album, that shows a lot of different styles but never feels too inconsistent. I highly recommend anyone to listen to this album, I think anybody who likes music can find at least one song on this album that fits his/her style.
    Expand
  3. May 4, 2012
    9
    Making Mirrors is one of the best albums of the year.
    With amazing songs such as "Eyes Wide Open", "Easy Way Out", "I Feel Better" & "Save Me, Making Mirrors is a classic that will be loved for a very long time."
  4. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    I loved this album, it's pretty clear that Gotye is different from everyone else. With a voice that's a combination of Peter Gabriel and Sting. Gotye is probably one of the best artists today. with standout tracks like Eyes Wide Open, I Feel Better and his very first smash hit "somebody that I used to know" The Austrailan- Belgian singer could become one of the biggest artists on the indieI loved this album, it's pretty clear that Gotye is different from everyone else. With a voice that's a combination of Peter Gabriel and Sting. Gotye is probably one of the best artists today. with standout tracks like Eyes Wide Open, I Feel Better and his very first smash hit "somebody that I used to know" The Austrailan- Belgian singer could become one of the biggest artists on the indie scene. BUY THIS ALBUM NOW! Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    A really effervescent album full of songs that fizzle in your ears. The first half of tracks somehow flows nonchalantly, then it goes into the last half of mature and mellow songs. My favorite tracks: 'Somebody That I Used To Know', 'I Feel Better', 'In Your Light'.
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    Another of the greatest albums of this year, beatifully writing, good in the vocals, and with one of the most powerfull hits of the last times, but, i think that this album could be better, a good start but no a full circle, interesting but no intense. Good shot Wally.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Gotye lets his more commercially accessible music take the fore this time around. Previous albums were a mixture of texture & style and as such, new fans working backwards through his albums will be surprised by the lonesome trip-hop of Boardface and moody 80's experimentalism of Like Drawing Blood. Both previous albums contained some pop songs that could have had some mainstream successGotye lets his more commercially accessible music take the fore this time around. Previous albums were a mixture of texture & style and as such, new fans working backwards through his albums will be surprised by the lonesome trip-hop of Boardface and moody 80's experimentalism of Like Drawing Blood. Both previous albums contained some pop songs that could have had some mainstream success given the chance. But listeners put off by his varying styles might not have reached them. On Making Mirrors Gotye leads with three big catchy songs, all singles marking his intent to grab the listeners attention from the off. He drifts back into his familiar genre hopping and quieter moments for the second half of the album. Starting off I found myself skipping back to the start halfway through and gradually worked my way through to the end. Not that the latter half is weak, in fact once you get over the singles you actually start skipping those to find the less familiar tracks. With the album so front loaded with hits I wonder if it might work better on vinyl you could flip it depending on your mood. Expand
  8. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    I found Gotye through his chart smashing single 'Somebody That I Use To Know.' When listening to that song I was relieved, I finally found a chart track that had soul, meanings and full of expressive thoughts. After hearing this song I went on to google for more of his records and found his album 'Making Mirrors' and it was worth the money, best money I have ever spent, period. It hasI found Gotye through his chart smashing single 'Somebody That I Use To Know.' When listening to that song I was relieved, I finally found a chart track that had soul, meanings and full of expressive thoughts. After hearing this song I went on to google for more of his records and found his album 'Making Mirrors' and it was worth the money, best money I have ever spent, period. It has everything you want on an album, a gorgeous introduction followed by a smart and interesting outro, and in-between that pieces of gold chunks filled full of yummy waves and expressive sound chunks. Expand
  9. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    One of the most intersting artists pf the last few years. Fortunately, "Making Mirrors" is not just a great-single-with-a-lot-of-fillers album, but there are great tracks: "Smoke and Mirrors", "Bronte", "State of The Art" and "Save Me".
  10. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Oh Gotye, if only Australia wouldn't have hogged you all these years......

    Wouter "Wally" De Backer (AKA: Gotye) is (for the most part) a pretty well known solo artist by this point. He currently has three albums out: Boardface (2003), Like Drawing Blood (2006), and his newest album and gateway into the "popular" in America, Making Mirrors (2011). The release of "Making Mirrors" also
    Oh Gotye, if only Australia wouldn't have hogged you all these years......

    Wouter "Wally" De Backer (AKA: Gotye) is (for the most part) a pretty well known solo artist by this point. He currently has three albums out: Boardface (2003), Like Drawing Blood (2006), and his newest album and gateway into the "popular" in America, Making Mirrors (2011). The release of "Making Mirrors" also saw the release of the Grammy Award wining single of 2012 "Somebody That I Used to Know", which more than likely you've heard on the radio quite a lot. Now you may be thinking "He's probably not worth my time".

    Oh, and how wrong you are.

    First off, if there's one thing I would have to point out about "Making Mirrors", it would have to be the diversity of the album. One minute you could be listening to the heavy Beatles influence shone through "Easy Way Out", and then the other you could be listening to the great electronic song that is "State of the Art". Another pro to the album is the overall creativity to it. Gotye wasn't afraid to cross the line that most artist stay behind, the "label" line. And let me tell you, it payed off.

    That being said, there are some cons to this good album. In my opinion, "Save Me", and "Don't Worry, We'll Be Watching You" are the two worst songs on the album in that they just slow down the overall flow of the album. One of these songs should have been replaced with the bonus track "Dig Your Own Hole" and in turn, been made the bonus track. To sum it up:
    If Gotye decided at the very beginning of the recording of this album that he wanted something truly diverse, easy to listen to, and overall solid, then he sure did succeed in what he set out to do.

    Pros:
    - Diversity (can't stress that enough)
    - Good song structure
    - Easy to listen to

    Con(s)
    - Some of the tracks didn't really fit

    I'd like to end this review saying that if you haven't checked out any of Gotye's other stuff, you defiantly should. You won't be disappointed.

    - Alex
    Expand
  11. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    Excellent sounds, beats, and jaw dropping vocals..especially in "I Feel Better". Gotye will soon take over the worldbeat industry if he can keep creating albums like these.
  12. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    Incredibly underrated. A select few songs are slightly underwhelming, but the majority of the tracks were great. From bombastic symphonies to serene and beautiful lullabies, this album provides quality music from a highly under-looked artist.
  13. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    Though Gotye has disappeared now, if you look back at 2012, how can anyone over look Somebody That I Used To Know? Eventually I suspect people will know the song but they'll forget who sang it. The entire album is great too. Eyes Wide Open and Giving Me a Chance are quite brilliant. The entire album refrains from overdose on auto tune as well which I feel deserves a lot more credit now aThough Gotye has disappeared now, if you look back at 2012, how can anyone over look Somebody That I Used To Know? Eventually I suspect people will know the song but they'll forget who sang it. The entire album is great too. Eyes Wide Open and Giving Me a Chance are quite brilliant. The entire album refrains from overdose on auto tune as well which I feel deserves a lot more credit now a days than it ever did before. Expand
  14. Sep 27, 2015
    10
    Why the critics don't like this album? The songs pacify me, love the way Gotye makes music. A brilliant and exciting vision like this must be remembered for a long time. I will be waiting for more, Gotye.
  15. Sep 9, 2015
    7
    Though I really have a hard time getting through a couple of these songs on the album, it really makes sense to me that Gotye left such a ripple in 2012. I love Gotye's haunting yet smooth sound, the album makes me feel like my ears in the right direction.
  16. Feb 8, 2016
    7
    This album is pretty delicious. There only might be one song on this album that I didn't enjoy because a lot of the songs here are very flavorful but not so articulated. Some of these songs taste like a packet of crackers, with no salt at all. Still a very good album
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    50
    [Making Mirrors] showcases a risk-taking, self-possessed artist, with mixed results.
  2. Q Magazine
    Mar 16, 2012
    80
    Quirky nods to power pop, jazz, and even sci-fi dub suggest a restless, Beck-like future. [April 2012, p.107]
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    60
    Making Mirrors offers plenty of evidence the guy could be capable of just a little bit more if he'd focus in on pop music at the expense of his more esoteric impulses, or at least learn how to separate the two more efficiently.