Making Mirrors

Making Mirrors Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kimbra guests on the single "Somebody That I Used To Know" from the first album in five years from the Belgian-Australian Wally De Backer as Gotye.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Universal Republic
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Electronic
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    90
    Unlike other overhyped albums that have achieved similar fame, Making Mirrors is the real deal.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    80
    Overall, the charms of the album make it more than a knockoff of more established pop brands; it often feels like Making Mirrors bounces their reflections into fresh focus.
  3. Q Magazine
    Mar 16, 2012
    80
    Quirky nods to power pop, jazz, and even sci-fi dub suggest a restless, Beck-like future. [April 2012, p.107]
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    Familiar they may be, but some credit has to go to De Backer for managing to weave these eclectic retro sounds into a cohesive affair.
  5. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    Sadly, this album has as many misses as hits.
  6. Feb 9, 2012
    60
    A maverick worth watching.
  7. The wan vocals and listless melodies conspire to render such eclecticism [on this album] as flavourless as a Cup-a-Soup variety pack.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This album is one of the best things of 2012 for me so far, there isn't a song i dislike on the whole CD. Also love how each song is veryThis album is one of the best things of 2012 for me so far, there isn't a song i dislike on the whole CD. Also love how each song is very different from the last... GREAT ALBUM! buy now Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    One of the most intersting artists pf the last few years. Fortunately, "Making Mirrors" is not just a great-single-with-a-lot-of-fillersOne of the most intersting artists pf the last few years. Fortunately, "Making Mirrors" is not just a great-single-with-a-lot-of-fillers album, but there are great tracks: "Smoke and Mirrors", "Bronte", "State of The Art" and "Save Me". Expand
  3. May 4, 2012
    9
    Making Mirrors is one of the best albums of the year.
    With amazing songs such as "Eyes Wide Open", "Easy Way Out", "I Feel Better" & "Save Me,
    Making Mirrors is one of the best albums of the year.
    With amazing songs such as "Eyes Wide Open", "Easy Way Out", "I Feel Better" & "Save Me, Making Mirrors is a classic that will be loved for a very long time."
    Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    Another of the greatest albums of this year, beatifully writing, good in the vocals, and with one of the most powerfull hits of the lastAnother of the greatest albums of this year, beatifully writing, good in the vocals, and with one of the most powerfull hits of the last times, but, i think that this album could be better, a good start but no a full circle, interesting but no intense. Good shot Wally. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Oh Gotye, if only Australia wouldn't have hogged you all these years......

    Wouter "Wally" De Backer (AKA: Gotye) is (for the most part) a
    Oh Gotye, if only Australia wouldn't have hogged you all these years......

    Wouter "Wally" De Backer (AKA: Gotye) is (for the most part) a pretty well known solo artist by this point. He currently has three albums out: Boardface (2003), Like Drawing Blood (2006), and his newest album and gateway into the "popular" in America, Making Mirrors (2011). The release of "Making Mirrors" also saw the release of the Grammy Award wining single of 2012 "Somebody That I Used to Know", which more than likely you've heard on the radio quite a lot. Now you may be thinking "He's probably not worth my time".

    Oh, and how wrong you are.

    First off, if there's one thing I would have to point out about "Making Mirrors", it would have to be the diversity of the album. One minute you could be listening to the heavy Beatles influence shone through "Easy Way Out", and then the other you could be listening to the great electronic song that is "State of the Art". Another pro to the album is the overall creativity to it. Gotye wasn't afraid to cross the line that most artist stay behind, the "label" line. And let me tell you, it payed off.

    That being said, there are some cons to this good album. In my opinion, "Save Me", and "Don't Worry, We'll Be Watching You" are the two worst songs on the album in that they just slow down the overall flow of the album. One of these songs should have been replaced with the bonus track "Dig Your Own Hole" and in turn, been made the bonus track. To sum it up:
    If Gotye decided at the very beginning of the recording of this album that he wanted something truly diverse, easy to listen to, and overall solid, then he sure did succeed in what he set out to do.

    Pros:
    - Diversity (can't stress that enough)
    - Good song structure
    - Easy to listen to

    Con(s)
    - Some of the tracks didn't really fit

    I'd like to end this review saying that if you haven't checked out any of Gotye's other stuff, you defiantly should. You won't be disappointed.

    - Alex
    Collapse
  6. Feb 8, 2016
    7
    This album is pretty delicious. There only might be one song on this album that I didn't enjoy because a lot of the songs here are veryThis album is pretty delicious. There only might be one song on this album that I didn't enjoy because a lot of the songs here are very flavorful but not so articulated. Some of these songs taste like a packet of crackers, with no salt at all. Still a very good album Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2012
    0
    The Australian Belgian-born Wouter De Backer became known in the world with the exceptional tube Somebody That I Used to Know, in mid-2011 andThe Australian Belgian-born Wouter De Backer became known in the world with the exceptional tube Somebody That I Used to Know, in mid-2011 and more recently with us, necessitating this year outstripped domestic . Third installment of the artist, Gotye Making Mirrors establishes that's not a shooting star: multi-instrumentalist, multi-genre, he demonstrates a mastery of dynamics and delivers a pop-rock expressive, lively and complex. Effective when he plays in left field (fuzzée Easy Way Out, prog State of the Art), it is however agreed when it touches the very soul (I Feel Better). In the end, alas Making Mirrors is a little smoother, but the multitude of angles explored gives personality Expand

See all 20 User Reviews