Manners

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 76
  2. Negative: 1 out of 76

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jimmy
    Jun 6, 2009
    4
    Despite a couple of decent tracks, I found this overall to be quite a frustrating, grating listen.
  2. MattD.
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    After a few plays this CD becomes a favorite, listening through all the tracks. Although some of the songs on the album do get repetitive sounding, each song is very good.
  3. alana
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    I think this is brilliant. Have listened over and over and still can't get enough. You uncover something new with every spin. Love the progression of tunes throughout. This is melody after melody of pure exuberance but once you delve into Angelakos' lyrics (poetry) you discover a brilliant, creative mind. Not just a run of the mill album with a bunch of fillers. Every tune I think this is brilliant. Have listened over and over and still can't get enough. You uncover something new with every spin. Love the progression of tunes throughout. This is melody after melody of pure exuberance but once you delve into Angelakos' lyrics (poetry) you discover a brilliant, creative mind. Not just a run of the mill album with a bunch of fillers. Every tune rates! Great writing! Expand
  4. BernardL.
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    After a couple of plays this album just becomes irresistible with its subtle and hypnotic electro-pop touch. Highly recommended.
  5. CarlF.
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    This album was absolutely astounding...it provided a good rotation of songs in a feel good style, yet they can pull of something darker like The Reeling and it still sounds great. Pure genius.
  6. SpencerD
    May 22, 2009
    9
    The album is undeniably catchy and the lyrics are a step above the traditional electro-indie fare. It's accessible enough to play at any party while deep enough to play for yourself when you're alone just looking to have something profoundly enjoyable enter your ears.
  7. WillF
    Jun 1, 2009
    8
    Don't listen to this expecting musical genius, because you'll be disappointed. But if you're wanting an album full to the brink with fun, catchy, upbeat songs, this is for you. From start to finish, each second of Manners is pure unadulterated pop bliss.
  8. Wai-HoiT
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Simply stunning! The Reeling has been constantly playing in my mp3 for the past summer.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    An amazing album. I'm surprised by the hate or dislike of some people. It's interesting the types of bands that people will flock to but the great ones will get shunned or be just shy of being called brilliant. Either way, an amazing album.
  10. PeterF
    May 19, 2009
    9
    Superb stuff. These guys are the next big thing. Real deal kinda stuff.
  11. BarkA
    May 28, 2009
    10
    Brilliant album. Absolute genius. The lyrics are spectacular, and the drumming is second to none.
  12. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    Passion Pit's debut album Manners is a wonderful little album. Every song sounds great. It's just so different from the mainstream stuff they have today. The drumming is also something that sounds great. The singer's voice sounds a little too high but All In All, Manners has great tracks and it's a great sound. B+
  13. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Amazing drum lines, especially in the song "Little Secrets". Overall it's an awesome album. However, I do feel like the singer over strains his voice a little. Very catchy beats and great use of electronics though. A solid listen for anyone looking for happy, energetic music.
  14. Jul 14, 2011
    8
    This will dig its way into your brain, featuring some of the hookiest synth-rock I've ever heard. Passion Pit's use of a real, live drummer instead of programmed beats adds a great layer to the sound and makes it more human and listenable. The layered synths perfectly complement the sky-high falsetto vocals to give the listener a feeling that everything, at least for the moment, is goingThis will dig its way into your brain, featuring some of the hookiest synth-rock I've ever heard. Passion Pit's use of a real, live drummer instead of programmed beats adds a great layer to the sound and makes it more human and listenable. The layered synths perfectly complement the sky-high falsetto vocals to give the listener a feeling that everything, at least for the moment, is going to be OK. If it wasn't for the over-use of children's choir backing vocals, I'd rate this even higher. Expand
  15. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Passion Pit shows their astounding amount of musical creativity in their debut studio release MANNERS, as well as their ability to sing very high notes. I loved this music so much that I went to see them in concert.
  16. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    The lyrics are deep, the melodies are catchy, and the synth rock arrangements are fully thought out and beautiful. A perfect album? No, but it's damn close. Just to nitpick: if they had eased off using the children's choir backing vocals so often, this would be a 9 out of 10.
  17. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Manners is much more than a bland electro-pop indie scene hype-fest, it is an extremely well-done and addicting album which delivers on all levels. Tasteful and fun electronica, interwoven instrumental recordings, and highly entrancing falsetto vocals all go into making this a highly thematic and enjoyable album. It rarely offers a dull moment, keeping emotions and energy high, while stillManners is much more than a bland electro-pop indie scene hype-fest, it is an extremely well-done and addicting album which delivers on all levels. Tasteful and fun electronica, interwoven instrumental recordings, and highly entrancing falsetto vocals all go into making this a highly thematic and enjoyable album. It rarely offers a dull moment, keeping emotions and energy high, while still ignoring empty over-popped indie hits with interesting song structure and true substance that goes past normal expectations. I've listened to this album for a long time, and it constantly maintains its position as my favorite album, a true work of art which is filled with musical expertise that you can hardly find anywhere else. I highly recommend this album. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. I could go song by song and come to the same conclusion with pretty much each one: the dedication to this carefree whimsy of youth ultimately stands as the most impressive thing about Passion Pit, and it wears thin quickly.
  2. Refreshingly free of pretensions and convolutions it's full of well-written songs with melody and fun at its big heart.
  3. 60
    Poptimist Michael Angelakos tried to hold onto his girlfriend with Passion Pit's first EP. That didn't work (blame the self-obsessed lyrics), but on his band's debut full-length, their squeaky indie-pop theatrics are more convincing.