• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 19, 2008
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. joej
    Aug 26, 2008
    9
    The album stands as a tribute not only to Campbell's timeless talent but also to the songwriters and producers Raymond & Willing. Great stuff.
  2. SethJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    A great return to form. Just wish it wasn't quite so commercial/radio ready. A few more darker/moving moments would've been nice.
  3. ta
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Glen Campbell's voice is an indelible part of the soundtrack of my youth. And this album captures that essence once again and evoked emotions in me that left me absolutely blown away. Somehow he manages to turn these songs into his own. Great orchestrations, great songwriting, and great vocal interpretation make for an album that brings back memories. It's as though I was Glen Campbell's voice is an indelible part of the soundtrack of my youth. And this album captures that essence once again and evoked emotions in me that left me absolutely blown away. Somehow he manages to turn these songs into his own. Great orchestrations, great songwriting, and great vocal interpretation make for an album that brings back memories. It's as though I was listening to a Glen Campbell album from thirty years ago. I'm so glad they chose NOT to reinvent something campy and inauthentic, but rather tried for a sound that is familiar and new at the same time. Expand
  4. Eclipse754
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    I really like this CD. I listened to Glen Campbell in the back seat of my Dad's Oldsmoblile back in the day. This CD really hit some olld chords in my soul. My Dad's birthday was one week after the release of this CD. I really enjoyed sharing this CD with him.
  5. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    A very satisfying, melodic set of old and new music interpreted by Glen Campbell in his unique way. The standouts are These Days, Sadly Beautiful, and Angel Dream. But, really, all of the songs are heartwarming, if not quite heartrending, in their way. Glen doesn't seem to be going for overtly deep, dark emotion. But somehow it's there in the timbre of his voice, in his calmness born ofA very satisfying, melodic set of old and new music interpreted by Glen Campbell in his unique way. The standouts are These Days, Sadly Beautiful, and Angel Dream. But, really, all of the songs are heartwarming, if not quite heartrending, in their way. Glen doesn't seem to be going for overtly deep, dark emotion. But somehow it's there in the timbre of his voice, in his calmness born of seeing and experiencing so much. It does make a difference that he's singing these songs at age 71 and not at 31. A song like These Days, written by a 16-year-old Jackson Brown in 1966, has a world of other meaning coming from a Glen Campbell at 71. Yes, the orchestration across the album is something to get used to, as it does get in the way sometimes when you would rather just hear Glen and his guitar. But this album is nevertheless a unique experience if you haven't listened to Glen Campbell for a while or lost track of his career. Time to meet Glen Campbell again. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. There are more examples of cover albums gone wrong than gone right. Thankfully Glen Campbell's new set, which finds him ably putting his own twist on tunes from Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, Foo Fighters, U2, Green Day and John Lennon, among others, fits into the latter category.
  2. 60
    Julian Raymond's production gives the good-timey guitar-and-bajo sound a sharp kick in the butt. [Sep 2008, p.78]
  3. 60
    The arrangemnts are smartly constructed, Campbell's guitar is economical and crisp, and his interpretibve skills and singing are as sharp as during his commercial peak. [Sep 2008, p.112]