Merriweather Post Pavilion

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2009
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 546 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 546

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CurtisB.
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Beautiful. Incomparable. Fresh. Fun. Ahead of our time.
  2. SF7
    Dec 23, 2010
    10
    This is not an accessible album to anyone. The strange, off the wall interwoven melodies and harmonies that at first appear as a hodgepodge of color and sound, eventually unravel into a masterfully crafted work of art. AC's 2009 effort will be seen as a landmark in music, and will pave the way for more musicians (as it already has for Ariel Pink) in the avant-indie world. In this world,This is not an accessible album to anyone. The strange, off the wall interwoven melodies and harmonies that at first appear as a hodgepodge of color and sound, eventually unravel into a masterfully crafted work of art. AC's 2009 effort will be seen as a landmark in music, and will pave the way for more musicians (as it already has for Ariel Pink) in the avant-indie world. In this world, it is often hard for people to discern honest emotion from radio tailored singles. The most striking feature about this work is that it IS catchy, and it IS innovative. If you're not into exploring and accepting new genres of music, broadening your perspective on displays of genuine human intent, or flat out trying something different, then go ahead and stick to your conventional go-to nickelback **** Enjoy your aimless, tasteless sing-a-longs and don't write your opinion, because it does not matter. Expand
  3. KurtC
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    Exceptionally solid album from beginning to end. More melody and harmonies than past albums. They're venturing out into more uncharted electronic territory (while still carrying their guitars and floor tom along). Great listen.
  4. JeremyC.
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Stunning. Simply stunning. Enough said. If you don't enjoy this album, either your ears are broken or you're dead.
  5. MattL
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. I've owned this album for around 6 months now and it has slowly made it's way into my top 5 favourite albums of all time. Like all good albums, the more you listen the better it gets. Merriweather Post Pavillion really shines in the way it evokes a certain feeling (sometimes many feelings within the same song) and transports the listen deep into it's hypnotic sound scape. It is a rare thing when an album truly sounds like nothing else happening in music at the moment without alienating it's audience completely. Animal Collective continuously prove to be one of the most important bands in music today and this album along with Strawberry Jam is further proof of that. Expand
  6. BobbyY
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Great album. Solid through and through. Only thing I miss is the prominence of Avey's screams.
  7. PatrickC
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    The beatles album of the new century. organic, sonic-filled, and deeply layered to make an orgasmic mix of beauty.
  8. HarryG
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    I hate voting 10s but when it is deserved, then it must be. Nothing else like it and more to the point not much near as good. This is one way to the future of music
  9. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    I had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simpleI had no idea who Animal Collective was before this CD and my expectations were blown. This is one of the most humbling and relatable albums I've ever heard; nearly every song touches on basic human emotions we experience throughout life. "My Girls" talks about supporting a family, "No More Runnin" deals with living without uncertainty, and "Summertime Clothes" goes into the simple pleasure of being beside a pretty girl. Each song is backed by a catchy beat, primarily singles like "My Girls" and "Brother Sport." Better yet, every track has a distinct sound, providing a ton of variety and playability. If you're a fan of alternative/electronic music, this album should be of interest. If the beats don't get you then maybe the lyrics will connect. As I said, I didn't know who the hell AC was before this record...but after many listens I think this is the best album of 2009. Expand
  10. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    An all-encompassing, perfectly layered, challenging and beautiful album.
  11. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best records of 2009. Finally their sound comes together in this Brian Wilson inspired album.
  12. timmyd
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    f*ck pitchfork. i couldnt care less about what they have to say and started loving this album way before i even heard their review. this is easily one of the greatest albums of the decade; but it is totally not accessible by everyone. i hate to see this band's main fanbase being the hipsters i dislike so much, but then again what other group would pick this stuff up? anyways guys f*ck pitchfork. i couldnt care less about what they have to say and started loving this album way before i even heard their review. this is easily one of the greatest albums of the decade; but it is totally not accessible by everyone. i hate to see this band's main fanbase being the hipsters i dislike so much, but then again what other group would pick this stuff up? anyways guys eyes is an amazing song, and i have listened to this album a sh*tload since it has been released. Believe the hype. Expand
  13. EricC
    Jun 28, 2009
    7
    As an intensly devoted AC fan, this album is seriously perplexing. I list Here Comes the Indian, Sung Tongs, and Strawberry Jam to be among my all time favorite albums, but this one feels like one of their weakest efforts yet as a band. All the perfect scores from critics and users is bizarre. I in no way dislike this album, but they have way oversimplified their formula, leaving nearly As an intensly devoted AC fan, this album is seriously perplexing. I list Here Comes the Indian, Sung Tongs, and Strawberry Jam to be among my all time favorite albums, but this one feels like one of their weakest efforts yet as a band. All the perfect scores from critics and users is bizarre. I in no way dislike this album, but they have way oversimplified their formula, leaving nearly every song feeling underdeveloped and phoned-in. At times it felt like a mindless dance album, at others an even more mindless jam collection. Where once their music was sonically and lyrically complex it is now bland, straightforward, and often distressingly empty. It's not at all bad, and there are moments of exhilerating ecstasy, but as a whole... I don't know. It's really nothing to lose your shit over. This was the wrong album to champion a truly incredible band. Expand
  14. JohnnieT.
    Nov 12, 2009
    8
    There is some fantastic stuff here - when they nail the blissed out 22nd century Beach Boys style(particularly on Bluish, Guys Eyes, My Girls), then it plays like a dream. Infuriatingly however, at times its undermined by its own exuberant eclecticism and the need for sonic experimentation can occasionally get in the way of those melodies. If only we could hear them!
  15. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    these songs are just blanketed by repetitious sounds. each song blurring into the next. very annoying and unlistenable. (mind you i still enjoy their previous LP's :Sung Tongs and Feels). This is utter garbage. It sounds as if they mixed instruments into a blender, and this is what came out.
  16. NicoleV
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Absolutely wonderful! Best record of the 2000's I think for sure!
  17. AndrewL
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard in a long time.
  18. OllieH
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Best album of the 2000's so far in any genre of music.
  19. Baxter
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    I went in expecting something terrible, as my previous experience with the band was not something I enjoyed. But what I found was one of the best albums of the year. Nice and enjoyable music that reminds me why pop is still a genre worth considering. Not the masterpiece that oh so many Pitchfork readers are calling it, but still an extremely solid and fun album.
  20. nw
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Album to beat this year.
  21. TrevorL.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Merriweather consolidates nearly all of AC's developed strengths and sheds nearly all of their past weaknesses, yielding a virtually perfect work that most of us will look back upon in our old age as one of the best damn albums we ever had the pleasure of meeting. A landmark.
  22. ChrisK
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Everything they have done culminates with this album. A Classic, one of the best this decade.
  23. DrewH.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing, best album I have heard in ages, a completely new and orignal sound. I love it!
  24. Jeff
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    Some songs hit you immediately, some take a bit of savoring to warm up to, but ultimately each song on Merriweather is overflowing with music talent. Past Animal Collective was very eccentric but still good, this album really solidifies their place amongst important bands with a much wider and now grateful audience.
  25. AndrewC
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    This being my first listen of Any Animal Collective album, my initial impression was that it was a garbled mess. However, it remained a very interesting garbled mess; it showed some kind of promise. My second time through the album lead me to my current opinion, which is that this is probably my second favorite album of the decade in terms of pure solidness and innovation (First being This being my first listen of Any Animal Collective album, my initial impression was that it was a garbled mess. However, it remained a very interesting garbled mess; it showed some kind of promise. My second time through the album lead me to my current opinion, which is that this is probably my second favorite album of the decade in terms of pure solidness and innovation (First being Radiohead's Kid A). The melodies, background effects and variation from song to song, not to mention amazing verse to chorus progressions, are simply amazing, and any skeptical listener needs to give the album a second or third chance as this is what it may take to appreciate it. Simply amazing. Expand
  26. BolisG
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    Some great hooks got me started (Summertime Clothes, In the Flowers, Bluish), then each listen built on that foundation and before I knew i'm in love! This album is absolutely effen awesome!
  27. GB
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    I got this album in late January, and since the day of purchase i've listened to it every single day. This album is a landmark.
  28. GideonA
    Aug 1, 2009
    8
    This is one of those albums that might mark a change in how music is going, or it may just be this particular band. I mean a number of songs don't have normal lyric structures, and the songs don't have chord changes so this collection differs structurally in a significant way. This is probably because of the availability of electronic instrumentation becoming somewhat mainstream This is one of those albums that might mark a change in how music is going, or it may just be this particular band. I mean a number of songs don't have normal lyric structures, and the songs don't have chord changes so this collection differs structurally in a significant way. This is probably because of the availability of electronic instrumentation becoming somewhat mainstream and affordable. I have to believe this kind of change is good thing even though it might take some getting used to...its unfortunate that you don't hear this kind of music on mainstream radio stations though. Expand
  29. ChrisM
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    It's otherworldly, the music and how good this album is.
  30. TroelsS.
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    THE masterpiece of the decade. There's so much to be said about Animal Collective through their career but being commercial isn't one of them. If the World is fair this album should be the ultimate, essential, mainstream breaktrough for AC. With Merriweather Animal Collective has finally find the perfect pop-melodies without giving up on the oddness of their music. It's THE masterpiece of the decade. There's so much to be said about Animal Collective through their career but being commercial isn't one of them. If the World is fair this album should be the ultimate, essential, mainstream breaktrough for AC. With Merriweather Animal Collective has finally find the perfect pop-melodies without giving up on the oddness of their music. It's epic, it's simple in it's complexity. Siply perfect. Expand
  31. robertf
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    One of "Those Albums" of the decade, Animal Collective really figured things out on this record. Feels may still be my personal favorite but this album is more full of hooks, emotion as well as an appreciation for love and music than may be more enthusiastic and hopeful than any "classic" album in a long long time. avey's songwriting keeps getting better (i.e. summertime clothes).
  32. FredR.
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    An interesting album which is grossly overrated. MPP is one of the better 21st century progrock albums. Now do a comparison test: If Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon was a 10 how would you rate this album? I would give this a 6 at best.
  33. Joe
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    This album could have been a complete disaster. It strives on its Beach Boyish vocals and music that doesn't drive you crazy like their Feels album. Not the best album of the year, but one of the biggest surprises.
  34. Jon
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Yes, it really is that good!!
  35. Jay
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    When In The Flowers explodes at the 2:30 mark, you know that you're in for an amazing experience. From the dreamy soundscape of Daily Routine to the pounding rhythms of Brother Sport, there's not a moment of weakness to be found in this 55 minutes. A very, very good album. Definitely worthy of all the hype.
  36. JeremiahM
    Jan 20, 2009
    9
    Hands down, one of the most enjoyable albums of the last several years. Animal Collective have found a rare groove, one which feels totally accessible and relaxed without losing any brilliance.
  37. DaveA
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Haha theres 37 user votes and this hasn't even been up on metacritic for a day! Its hard not to go ape shit over an album this amazing.
  38. TonyN
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Merriweather Post Pavilion is truly a masterpiece. Animal Collective has set the bar for 2009, and it's doubtful any other band will come close to releasing a record of this caliber anytime soon. The album stands out as Animal Collective's best, most immediate record. The production is flawless, and the record seems to be largely focused on bass and low end (this gives it a much Merriweather Post Pavilion is truly a masterpiece. Animal Collective has set the bar for 2009, and it's doubtful any other band will come close to releasing a record of this caliber anytime soon. The album stands out as Animal Collective's best, most immediate record. The production is flawless, and the record seems to be largely focused on bass and low end (this gives it a much more electronic feel than previous efforts). This is especially noticeable on tracks such as "My Girls" and "Brothersport," which some might argue are the stand-out tracks on the album. The record will surely draw a large number of new fans, but at the same time please those who have enjoyed their music for many years now. Avey Tare and Panda Bear's vocals are at their best on this record, and they compliment each other better than ever before. Merriweather Post Pavilion is a landmark achievement in music, and it must not be overlooked by anyone. Expand
  39. AlexM
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    One big thing that I've noticed is that there are no more "big hits." We're in a digital age where you can get a single song for a dollar and be on your way. No longer is there a strong focus on albums as a cohesive whole. Most everything that's mainstream popular is popular for a reason. It gives those that don't care about music something to listen to. As soon as One big thing that I've noticed is that there are no more "big hits." We're in a digital age where you can get a single song for a dollar and be on your way. No longer is there a strong focus on albums as a cohesive whole. Most everything that's mainstream popular is popular for a reason. It gives those that don't care about music something to listen to. As soon as they get bored of the song, the next big single from "X Band" is out on "X Music Provider." There's no waiting. It's all constant. And mostly garbage. But I've always wanted something to hold onto. Any band I tried to grasp onto when I was into Top 40 material dissipated before any substance was created. So I started paying attention to bands and their releases and started collecting albums that were listenable the whole way through. My collection grew and, as I began to understand the complexities and simplicities of music, I began to appreciate certain things about it. This new album from Animal Collective brings a large amount of what I appreciate about music to a concise, cohesive, and absolutely breathtaking release. Every song on this album has something to love about it and there's not one boring or "skippable" moment. While it may not be a contender for "Best Album of the Century," it certainly feels like a landmark and defining moment for this generation and decade of music at the least. Expand
  40. bradfordc.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    I get a hold of myself every night listening to this album. I love this band and special feelings they engender in me.
  41. Quillber
    Jan 26, 2009
    7
    Some of its great, some of it panda needs a slap for getting too self indulgent. avey is still making top tracks, but pandas good ones are great. gimme Feels anyday though, its still the most accomplished thing theyve done. i think they are sounding too 90's blind melon or something these days, a bit Shins.. weird cheap sounding production.
  42. TobyH.
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    Brilliant all the way through! My Girls may be the best song of the millennium!
  43. MattW
    Jan 31, 2009
    10
    As close to perfect as any artist has come in a long, long time. Ignore the hype. I hate seeing people come out against this album simply because they perceive as the "it" thing. This album transcends the current bullshit "scenes" bands are unfairly lumped into these days. What we have here is an album that's beyond all that. Something so well-made, so unique, so enjoyable - it As close to perfect as any artist has come in a long, long time. Ignore the hype. I hate seeing people come out against this album simply because they perceive as the "it" thing. This album transcends the current bullshit "scenes" bands are unfairly lumped into these days. What we have here is an album that's beyond all that. Something so well-made, so unique, so enjoyable - it simply demands to be listened to. Write this album off if you want (the minority of you who are it would seem), it's your loss. This a magical, wonderful album - truly one of the best I've ever heard. Expand
  44. EliJ.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Okay first off, if you love mainstream crap then dont listen to this. its way above you. this is the best album i've listened to in a long time. animal collective, you are a voice of a damn generation. i hope you get more popular so your music can touch people around the world. Im the only person in my whole school thats heard of animal collective but im spreading the word. Okay first off, if you love mainstream crap then dont listen to this. its way above you. this is the best album i've listened to in a long time. animal collective, you are a voice of a damn generation. i hope you get more popular so your music can touch people around the world. Im the only person in my whole school thats heard of animal collective but im spreading the word. summertime clothes is my new favorite song! yeah! Expand
  45. SebastianS
    Mar 23, 2009
    9
    You need to take just the same amount of mind altering substances you need to take when listening to The Beatles, Pink Floyd or Miles Davis. Nothing... Artists have been freaky for a long time, that doesn't mean you have to be on drugs to enjoy it... That is my opinion. There would be little music left for me to listen to if it was otherwise. This album is like what The Beach Boys You need to take just the same amount of mind altering substances you need to take when listening to The Beatles, Pink Floyd or Miles Davis. Nothing... Artists have been freaky for a long time, that doesn't mean you have to be on drugs to enjoy it... That is my opinion. There would be little music left for me to listen to if it was otherwise. This album is like what The Beach Boys and Pink Floyds folksong singing lovechild would sound like. Expand
  46. NeilL
    Mar 25, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. I received this album over a week ago and have been listening to nothing else since. From the evidence, it seems that those who dislike the album dislike it simply because of the overwhelming critical praise for it as well as the AC fanboy club's near mindless defence of it as "the greatest album ever produced by mortals". Which is really no reason to dislike the album in Brilliant. I received this album over a week ago and have been listening to nothing else since. From the evidence, it seems that those who dislike the album dislike it simply because of the overwhelming critical praise for it as well as the AC fanboy club's near mindless defence of it as "the greatest album ever produced by mortals". Which is really no reason to dislike the album in itself. I initially came across this album perchance, without any preconceptions. Until a month ago I didn't even know who Animal Collective were. But this is a seriously good album, despite the hype. Expand
  47. normf
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    This album is simply a great album of transcendent beauty. Their capacity to make electronic music warm and the astounding generosity of its sound and lyrics make this a great achievement
  48. ThomasW
    May 8, 2009
    9
    It took me a couple of listens to actually "take in" this album. It's... so... good. The beats and melodies are tremendous, and I love it oh so much.
  49. GeoffreyG
    May 9, 2009
    10
    The way so many different, disparate sounds mesh to create beautiful, melodic songs blows my mind. The Beach Boys-esque vocal harmonies are gorgeous, the songs build wonderfully, I just love this album. And it just keeps getting better and better.
  50. mattm
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Okay for people to say that this is an intellectual album, instead of an album to enjoy the hell out of, you are just stupid and don't even seem understand music. This album is one of the few albums where I just want to get up and dance with friends. Come on 'summertime clothes'? How can you think thats a song to 'think about'?
  51. Bloo
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Everything importand is in the reviews, so I can only say I love this CD.
  52. DavidH
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    I am brand new to Animal Collective and this is the first album of theirs I've heard. I resisted a long time because I find the whole scenester thing pretty obnoxious and I don't typically listen to music by current groups. But I took a chance and this is GOOD. Fascinating music. The sound really strongly reminds me of the Beatles song "Tomorrow Never Knows" updated with modern I am brand new to Animal Collective and this is the first album of theirs I've heard. I resisted a long time because I find the whole scenester thing pretty obnoxious and I don't typically listen to music by current groups. But I took a chance and this is GOOD. Fascinating music. The sound really strongly reminds me of the Beatles song "Tomorrow Never Knows" updated with modern equipment and fleshed out into a whole album. I recommend this to anybody who can get past the scenester connection. They ruin EVERYTHING fun about music. Expand
  53. DougH
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    Great music. But when did it become the thing to invoke the Beach Boys every time a group sings harmony? This is a great album, but it doesn't sound even remotely like Pet Sounds or Smile so the comparison is just stupid. I agree with the previous reviewer that it sounds more like the Beatles "Tomorrow Never Knows"
  54. DerekP
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Once in awhile I hear a release that can actually change the way I feel and this is one of those. The 1st four songs in particular are a powerful 1-2 punch perfectly illustrating AC's method as hazy keyboards, hypnotic vocals and muffled beats go in and out of the listener's awareness. As other comments indicate this is polarizing music with listeners either loving it or hating Once in awhile I hear a release that can actually change the way I feel and this is one of those. The 1st four songs in particular are a powerful 1-2 punch perfectly illustrating AC's method as hazy keyboards, hypnotic vocals and muffled beats go in and out of the listener's awareness. As other comments indicate this is polarizing music with listeners either loving it or hating it with no middle ground. I fall squarely into the former and love this tripped out music. Expand
  55. stoma
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Vital--contains ancient, in-between-the-lines truths--like electronica played with dirt clods in stead of keyboards--thgis is genetically important music--some will need to morph new synapses to accept the revelations but it is growth worth the strain.
  56. VictorO.
    Jan 14, 2010
    7
    Unlike their transcendent, delightfully inaccessible treat Feels from 2005, this is either a commercial sell-out or an unabashed homage. The influences abound: A lot of The Beach Boys and The Mamas and the Papas, a smattering of the Flaming Lips and XTC, and a hint of Lindsey Buckingham/Fleetwood Mac. Where's my independently freakish genius band?
  57. Zoran
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    it's nice to see that somebody could record this after eight albums.
  58. Christopher
    Jan 21, 2009
    9
    First off, I'm not a huge Animal Collective fan. I found many of their previous albums nearly unlistenable. So, as you can imagine, I approached this album with a sense of caution. Much to my surprise, this album was fantastic. It is by far their most accessible album. They've taken many of the elements from Panda Bear and infused their own style creating a truly memorable First off, I'm not a huge Animal Collective fan. I found many of their previous albums nearly unlistenable. So, as you can imagine, I approached this album with a sense of caution. Much to my surprise, this album was fantastic. It is by far their most accessible album. They've taken many of the elements from Panda Bear and infused their own style creating a truly memorable experience. I'm impressed by the singing as well. Its more nuanced and doesn't test the listener. If this is where this group is headed, I'm very excited about the future. Expand
  59. WayneB.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Love most their stuff. But I can listen this one with my wife around!
  60. BenK.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    "Am I really all the things that are outside of me?" Groovy buddhist-beachboys-techno with didgeridoos. They are being compared a lot to the Flaming Lips. I like that band but AC are cooler by a mile.
  61. HarryS.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Perfection. This is it. When one talks about "being there" one talks about this.
  62. ElliottM
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    A modern classic. Thank you, AC.
  63. OliverC
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    Animal Collective's best album and the best album of the decade.
  64. LeeM.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Their best album. Fuses what's so good about so many other more inconsistent bands into a euphorically brilliant whole.
  65. NickR
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    A giant sonic ball of pure beauty that fills you with all of God's love.
  66. AdamR.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    This album, from the first track, makes you realize that Animal Collective could be the band that takes weird, experimental indie music and turns it into a movement of new pop. My only complaint is that after listening to this album 3 or 4 times, I am so infatuated with the sounds and melodies and addicted to the journey of the album that I want another album. Now.
  67. AaronS.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    I doubt that I will hear a better album in 2009. A pivotal work for the Collective-it serves as a summation of their fascinating career to date as well as points to a new direction for the future. An important record that also happens to be catchy as hell.
  68. PatrickR.
    Jan 22, 2009
    10
    An album whose rich melodies and harmonies show themselves over time, Merriweather Post Pavilion is an album that will certainly be talked about for a long time. Everything fits in its place, and nothing is there that shouldn't. Brilliant, beautiful and perfect.
  69. KyleNelson
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    This is truly great. yeah, that seems about right.
  70. KasperH.
    Jan 22, 2009
    10
    It's a timeless, catchy and weird as hell. Great stuff.
  71. LeahT.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, considering that I'm not a fan of the older work. If any of their albums will convert you, this one shall. The other eight fade in comparison. GENIUS. Buy it. Hear it. Love it.
  72. BillW.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Somewhere between the best of Strawberry Jam and Person Pitch.
  73. AntonM
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    The best album since Kid A.
  74. S.H.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    This 10 is actually more of a 9.8. the only thing I miss is when Avey Tare just unleashes his voice and sounds like he might die. beyond that, this album is basically perfect. amazing low end, mind blowing melodies, complexities that sit just under the super polished surface that you only notice on the 20th listen, the numberless textures and colors all throughout this record. This 10 is actually more of a 9.8. the only thing I miss is when Avey Tare just unleashes his voice and sounds like he might die. beyond that, this album is basically perfect. amazing low end, mind blowing melodies, complexities that sit just under the super polished surface that you only notice on the 20th listen, the numberless textures and colors all throughout this record. un-fucking-believable. Expand
  75. MarcosB
    Jan 28, 2009
    9
    A record that begins and ends close to perfection, but with some obscure passages in between.
  76. RonaldM
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    I hope those initially disappointed don't give up so easy... it takes a few listens to unravel this one. Layer upon layers are revealed with repeat listening. Each song feels like a gift. I haven't loved an album this much in at least 10 years.
  77. stefanob
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Simply perfect. A real masterpiece.
  78. DolceAddict
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    This is what psych-pop perfection sounds like.
  79. ChuckNorris
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    For me it's AC's best album next to Feels, probably even better. Take some catchy tunes and lyrics, set them to electronic music, add a few avant-garde elements, and you have redefined the term "(neo) psychedelic". ten thumbs up!
  80. Bman
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    I'd never heard of Animal Collective before this album. I can't believe what I've been missing out on. It requires a few listens to really get into it but once you're there you won't want to turn back. Even though it's highly experimental you can't help but feel like these guys would dominate the airwaves of they so chose. The music actually creates I'd never heard of Animal Collective before this album. I can't believe what I've been missing out on. It requires a few listens to really get into it but once you're there you won't want to turn back. Even though it's highly experimental you can't help but feel like these guys would dominate the airwaves of they so chose. The music actually creates atmosphere and the lyrics actually tell stories. Summertime Clothes and My Girls are my favorites, but overall it's still an outstanding record. Expand
  81. PedroC
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    Its VERY CLEAR that they are the leaders of a new age. I didn't get their sound until it clicked and when it did i got infected. I mean... its been 5 days since i can't stop listening to this album, in loop. From hakward to Inspiring, like all the REAL NEW stuff. When something like this unravels hidden parts of your mind like this does, its just an Amazing feeling... I feel Its VERY CLEAR that they are the leaders of a new age. I didn't get their sound until it clicked and when it did i got infected. I mean... its been 5 days since i can't stop listening to this album, in loop. From hakward to Inspiring, like all the REAL NEW stuff. When something like this unravels hidden parts of your mind like this does, its just an Amazing feeling... I feel excited. Amazing. Expand
  82. PatN
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    Already chosen my top album of 2009.
  83. AdamP
    Feb 17, 2009
    9
    A fantastic (although not quite perfect) album. It's style is similar to that of Panda Bear's amazing "Person Pitch" and it definitely benefits from that proximity. While I miss the occasional yelp from Avey Tare, like on "For Reverend Green," I don't think I could have asked for a better album from Animal Collective. Here's hoping that they don't quite while A fantastic (although not quite perfect) album. It's style is similar to that of Panda Bear's amazing "Person Pitch" and it definitely benefits from that proximity. While I miss the occasional yelp from Avey Tare, like on "For Reverend Green," I don't think I could have asked for a better album from Animal Collective. Here's hoping that they don't quite while they're ahead. Expand
  84. CMeezy
    Feb 26, 2009
    9
    Love love love this album. Can't stop listening. I can't fathom that this won't make it on my top 5 list of 2009. If they added one more stellar track on here, it would be among my alltime favorites. As it is, this record is pretty high up there.
  85. David
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    Amazing; a masterpiece of psychedelic pop, and Animal Collective's best offering thus far. In a way, this is the Sgt. Pepper of our generation.
  86. LewisG
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    This album is awesome all around, but it takes a few times around to get it and love it. Don't just listen to it once and give up.
  87. GeoffG
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    Listening to this through the first time, I thought: "What on Earth is this?" Despite my initial negative views, I felt that I missing something from the album, like I was having trouble grasping the album as a whole. Listening to it again, I realized that I just wasn't used to this kind of music. I've been so skewed to Popular Music's standards, I've forgotten what Listening to this through the first time, I thought: "What on Earth is this?" Despite my initial negative views, I felt that I missing something from the album, like I was having trouble grasping the album as a whole. Listening to it again, I realized that I just wasn't used to this kind of music. I've been so skewed to Popular Music's standards, I've forgotten what it's like to go "out of bounds" which is exactly what this album does. And it's effin amazing at it for that matter. I instantly fell in love with My Girls, Summertime Clothes, and Bluish, and it wasn't long before a couple others hit as well. The sound itself combines all sorts of elements, from pop to tribal, and ambient to folk, to make a surreal, dream-like avant-garde experience. Overall, it's one of the best albums I've heard in a long time. Expand
  88. WayneS
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Record of the decade!
  89. X
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    All the average reviews are complete nonsense, believe the hype.
  90. DeanB
    Mar 27, 2009
    9
    A thrilling roller-coaster ride of an indie-pop album, creating a maddening euphoric buzz in your head which stays with you - and grows.
  91. AiT
    Mar 31, 2009
    7
    I've continued to listen to this album for the last four days, the music is deep and overwhelming, in a really good way, this album keeps the mind and emotions on point.
  92. Mattydigs
    Mar 3, 2009
    7
    This is no masterpiece only the young kids are saying that. Thats why I call it "Dance Yoshimi for the Kids". Yes I dont think this as good as yoshimi. The subtleties arent there. See Akron Familys new album "Set em' Wild, Set em' free" for the real deal. After the 1st song you'll know why. And if you wanna hear them outdo MPP then tracks 3 and 7 should more than do the job This is no masterpiece only the young kids are saying that. Thats why I call it "Dance Yoshimi for the Kids". Yes I dont think this as good as yoshimi. The subtleties arent there. See Akron Familys new album "Set em' Wild, Set em' free" for the real deal. After the 1st song you'll know why. And if you wanna hear them outdo MPP then tracks 3 and 7 should more than do the job for that. Animal Collective are just popularizing the real pysch and indie movements/trends happening in the lower echelons. They aren't pushing the envelope or adding to the movement just mimicking those that are....like akron family. Plus they couldve taken MPP to a whole new universe but they left it repetitive and formulaic. So yea.... posers. Dont listen to the naysayers , IT IS semi-traditional in its song structures. Its not really outisde the box at all. Only when compared to mainstream crap but that stuff is 2d anyway. BTW its also spotty only bout half of the record is truly great. HYPE debunked. Highlights = My Girls, Also Frightened, brothersport, Daily Routine, No more Runnin, and taste which is my favorite track. -mAtt (mattydigs). Expand
  93. VinceH.
    Mar 30, 2009
    9
    It is an amazing batch of songs. While I don't think it is a front-to-back masterpiece 6r life changing album like Strawberry Jam, it is still the best indie rock album of the year so far. This is also the best work that Geologist has ever done on any of their albums...in the Pitchfork interview he said he tried to contribute more melodic samples than on past LP's and you can It is an amazing batch of songs. While I don't think it is a front-to-back masterpiece 6r life changing album like Strawberry Jam, it is still the best indie rock album of the year so far. This is also the best work that Geologist has ever done on any of their albums...in the Pitchfork interview he said he tried to contribute more melodic samples than on past LP's and you can tell. The sonic maninpulations going around in these songs just add so much. Each song almost sounds like as it ends it is drowning in the ocean or something...it's hard to explain. Expand
  94. JeremyK
    Mar 5, 2009
    9
    Animal collective are masters of the art of looping and sampling. They are almost always "difficult" to listen to, but the rewards of a band like this make the initial confusion worth it. You have to let this beast swallow you whole before this album makes any sense. To a casual listener, this music comes across as jumbled mess of noise. It can be a layered and looped nightmare of a Animal collective are masters of the art of looping and sampling. They are almost always "difficult" to listen to, but the rewards of a band like this make the initial confusion worth it. You have to let this beast swallow you whole before this album makes any sense. To a casual listener, this music comes across as jumbled mess of noise. It can be a layered and looped nightmare of a record to listen to. I think you either love this band or you hate them. Some people just prefer a less abrasive sound. I'm not one of those people, and I love the mess of melodies. I hope this band continues to go absolutely crazy. There aren't enough musicians out there willing to take chances like this. Expand
  95. siml
    Mar 5, 2009
    9
    Pretty good. For me its pretty usual that a good album needs many listening so im not going to claim that again. Last time a heard a good album like this was Foals. Have a good time !
  96. AnthonyM
    Apr 12, 2009
    8
    If I could have, I would have given this album something between 7 and 8. At first, it was off-putting and it didn't feel like Animal Collective at all. Especially following Panda Bear's Person Pitch side project. It took me a few listens to discover the signature Animal Collective sound weaved in with some of the new style. Overall, it's a good album, but maybe not as good If I could have, I would have given this album something between 7 and 8. At first, it was off-putting and it didn't feel like Animal Collective at all. Especially following Panda Bear's Person Pitch side project. It took me a few listens to discover the signature Animal Collective sound weaved in with some of the new style. Overall, it's a good album, but maybe not as good as many people seem to be making it out to be. Definitely not crap as some people are saying. They probably listened to a song or 2 one time and didn't "get it" so they just gave up. Expand
  97. DaveL
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    Easily album of the year so far!
  98. PaulJ
    Apr 16, 2009
    7
    Loved it at first, particularly the first track, but I've tired of it relatively quickly. It made me return to Feels which was a real slow burner - and which I now on balance think I prefer.
  99. JodieL
    Apr 2, 2009
    8
    As always with Metacritic I can't understand all the 10 scores, a 10 should be reserved for the greatest albums you've ever heard, not just for the best album you've heard this year. That being said this is still a really good solid album, I didn't like it at first listen, as I had been listening to Strawberry Jam in the weeks leading up to release, and it is nothing As always with Metacritic I can't understand all the 10 scores, a 10 should be reserved for the greatest albums you've ever heard, not just for the best album you've heard this year. That being said this is still a really good solid album, I didn't like it at first listen, as I had been listening to Strawberry Jam in the weeks leading up to release, and it is nothing like that (repeated listening is rewarded though). But as with all good bands they can change their sound about and still make good music/albums. It is the front runner for my album of the year at the moment, but it has been a slow year so far, it will definitely be top 10 for the year though. Expand
  100. RonanS
    Apr 26, 2009
    9
    This album has so many gorgeous little details it's very hard to get bored of it. While the lyrics are often hard to make out Of those I have heard I totally love. A slow-burning and ultimately very rewarding album
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mojo
    80
    By far the most streamlined and purposeful Animal Collective record. [Jan 2008, p.98]
  2. 80
    In years past, Animal Collective have been cast as perpetual Peter Pans, forever stuck in childhood fantasias. But beneath the body-moving throbs and coruscating noises of Merriweather Post Pavilion, themes of domestic duty and devotion abound.
  3. 100
    It feels like one of the landmark American albums of the century so far. [Jan 2008, p.86]