Meteora

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 563 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 563

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CRL
    Sep 12, 2011
    6
    This is an album of singles, radio-ready, three minute songs that, while most are enjoyable for fans of the genre, blend together a bit and can leave you wanting something more. Still, there are some that stand out; particularly Numb (simply amazing in every possible way), Easier to Run (great blend of rap and rock), and Breaking the Habit (in my opinion the best song Linkin Park has everThis is an album of singles, radio-ready, three minute songs that, while most are enjoyable for fans of the genre, blend together a bit and can leave you wanting something more. Still, there are some that stand out; particularly Numb (simply amazing in every possible way), Easier to Run (great blend of rap and rock), and Breaking the Habit (in my opinion the best song Linkin Park has ever made), and make Meteora special. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    4
    The album has few good tracks that are Somewhere i belong, Numb and Breaking The Habit rest all the album is just a considerable squeal to Hybrid Theory which to me came as mixed record..............they are now being considered a band of fame...................Living Things is Better
  3. TrinhN
    Jul 10, 2003
    4
    More vague, bland, meaningless lyrics.
  4. lizh
    Mar 17, 2004
    5
    its ok but it aint that gud
  5. I.Lynch
    Mar 26, 2006
    4
    Theyre mixing rock (great) rap (ok) and dance (terrible) and it doesnt work....very well.
  6. roxy
    Dec 4, 2004
    6
    good - but didn't blow me away
  7. AndyG
    Jun 13, 2003
    6
    Decent enough for what it is. It's got the same hooks, the same lyrics, and the same middle-class snarl of the debut, but there are signs that Linkin Park can branch out and be a musically interesting band. The surface has only been scratched of what they can do with samples and a DJ, and Reanimation shows they are capable of more than repetitive radio metal. If they'd stop Decent enough for what it is. It's got the same hooks, the same lyrics, and the same middle-class snarl of the debut, but there are signs that Linkin Park can branch out and be a musically interesting band. The surface has only been scratched of what they can do with samples and a DJ, and Reanimation shows they are capable of more than repetitive radio metal. If they'd stop over-producing and over-writing their songs and let one feel loose and natural instead of forced and contrived, they'd be here to stay. Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2013
    4
    In my opinion, Meteora is just as indifferent as its predecessor and Linkin Park’s debut album, Hybrid Theory. Not only because both albums received the exact same average when I rated each song separately, but because their style didn’t change at all between those two albums. They put out some catchy and well-written singles that are also the best parts of the album, but re-used too manyIn my opinion, Meteora is just as indifferent as its predecessor and Linkin Park’s debut album, Hybrid Theory. Not only because both albums received the exact same average when I rated each song separately, but because their style didn’t change at all between those two albums. They put out some catchy and well-written singles that are also the best parts of the album, but re-used too many of the things they’ve already sung about on their first record. It’s mostly fun to listen to Meteora once or twice and maybe play songs like Numb or Breaking the Habit some times more, but the band didn’t provide enough new or unique things too persuade me into liking them. I’m not touched by the aggressive and emotional lyrics because, luckily, I’m neither addicted to drugs, nor was I ever bullied, nor was I ever abused. And if you’re looking for different themes than those on Meteora, you’ll have a bad time. As I’ve said in my review for Hybrid Theory, their style is better than practically every other nu metal band, however, nu metal is a genre and Linkin Park couldn’t make me enjoy it either. Mike Shinoda can’t rap really well and Chester Bennington isn’t especially good in the screamo parts and therefore, I depreciate Meteora just as much as Hybrid Theory. Expand
  9. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    Better than Hybrid Theory, but it's not enough. There are good songs (Numb, From The Inside, Breaking The Habit, Somewhere I Belong), but also bad tracks (Hit The Floor, Lying from You, Session) and Foreword that is absolutely useless. The others are OK.
  10. Aug 5, 2014
    6
    This album talks about very many subjects with the power of fusing different musoc genres. The lyrics are agressive with a attitiude to it. And the style is so distinct. But in some of the songs the vocals are "melodic". But the sounds and structures make it unconventional in not a good way but they do have some nice inspiration music genre "layered" on the songs. The rock instrumentalsThis album talks about very many subjects with the power of fusing different musoc genres. The lyrics are agressive with a attitiude to it. And the style is so distinct. But in some of the songs the vocals are "melodic". But the sounds and structures make it unconventional in not a good way but they do have some nice inspiration music genre "layered" on the songs. The rock instrumentals are really cool though. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Through it all, the guys stay just as tight (translation: radio-ready) as ever, offering up tracks in near-perfect three-minute doses.
  2. Coming from a group whose debut offered a glimmer of hope for the expansion of the genre's boundaries, such creative laziness is all the more disappointing.
  3. While being as well-crafted, catchy and dynamic as the first one, it leaves you feeling distinctly underwhelmed, as if the band had simply reprogrammed the Pro-Tools machine that they'd made the first album on and changed the lyrics and speed of the songs a bit.