Midnight Memories

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Personally, i love this album and there are no weak track. It is better than i expected and their vocals sound so good on this record, plus the playfulness of the sound confidently executed. Moreover, most of the songs are unquestionably lyrically superior than their previous albums. It is also good to know that they have co written most of the songs. Great great album. Therefore,Personally, i love this album and there are no weak track. It is better than i expected and their vocals sound so good on this record, plus the playfulness of the sound confidently executed. Moreover, most of the songs are unquestionably lyrically superior than their previous albums. It is also good to know that they have co written most of the songs. Great great album. Therefore, definitely worth buying. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    this album is just amazing i can't even describe how much i love it, it's just awesome. I'm so proud of these boys, our boys, they have never let me down and i know they never will.
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    5
    To be honest, being a Directioner, I was kind of disappointed with Midnight Memories. Although all the songs are good, only a few of them are really quite great. "You And I" is definitely the stand out track on the album. Amazing song, amazing vocals. One Direction's vocals are really good on this album. I still think that - sorry, Directioners - Niall and Louis should have less soloTo be honest, being a Directioner, I was kind of disappointed with Midnight Memories. Although all the songs are good, only a few of them are really quite great. "You And I" is definitely the stand out track on the album. Amazing song, amazing vocals. One Direction's vocals are really good on this album. I still think that - sorry, Directioners - Niall and Louis should have less solo parts. It's normal for a band that there are some brilliant singers and some good singers. Zayn and Harry are definitely the stand out vocals in One Direction and I think they should have more solo parts. Just listen to how Zayn sings in "Half A Heart". Wow. Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    it's so much better than the pervious album it's very catchy and one of their best album i love the combination between pop and rock and i love alive it's so catchy
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, this is without a doubt the best album they have ever made. Their sound has matured so much and they no longer sound like the stereotypical boy band. Immensely proud of them
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This album shows how the boys sound has matured, some songs are upbeat and catchy and some are more mature. They don't seem afraid to sing about love. This album is really good and the best one yet. I'm sure this isn't the last we hear from One Direction.
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I really really like their new album, I think the songs are more mature and rocky.
    It's such a good album and I don't understand any of you who gave it negative votes.
    They have really grown and I'm so proud of them. Gotta love 'em!
  8. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    I like the new One Direction sound a lot! There is a lot of glam rock on Midnight Memories, performed with fun and energy. The boys love music and show business. Many songs bring a big smile on my face. I respect One Direction for this new direction. They remind me of the young Rolling Stones. All their voices blend very nicely, and its defenitely a beautiful vocal album as well.
  9. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    Admittedly, the album is a bit incoherent since the inspiration of the songs can go British folk rock, classic rock, and mainstream pop. However, what I particularly like with this album is that many of the songs here pay tribute to a wealth of musical genres dating back as far as the 60s through the 80s. The imprints of the likes of Simon and Garfunkel, Baba O'Reilly, Mumford and Sons,Admittedly, the album is a bit incoherent since the inspiration of the songs can go British folk rock, classic rock, and mainstream pop. However, what I particularly like with this album is that many of the songs here pay tribute to a wealth of musical genres dating back as far as the 60s through the 80s. The imprints of the likes of Simon and Garfunkel, Baba O'Reilly, Mumford and Sons, Def Leppard, Van Halen, the Script, Kiss, and the Beatles have made their imprints through their songs. It may disappoint some of those who have been enmeshed in auto-tuned and repetitive music, but it surely caught the attention and respect of the older generation who remains grounded on the classic songs.

    As far as songs in the album are concerned, Little Black Dress, which to me teases us who the lass they are so smitten about, is to me the album's anthem that opens the floodgates for the younger generation to look into 70s and 80s punk rock while the Story of My Life and Happily can introduce our younger generation to the world of folk rock. Other noteworthy songs include Alive, Diana, Midnight Memories and Through the Dark.
    Expand
  10. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    I really like this album and out of all three of their albums this is by far the best one. I think it's the best one partly because in some of the songs they ditched their pop sound but in some they kept it. The other reason that it's their best album is because of the slow songs on it. On their other albums I actually couldn't stand the slow songs but on this one I listen to them onI really like this album and out of all three of their albums this is by far the best one. I think it's the best one partly because in some of the songs they ditched their pop sound but in some they kept it. The other reason that it's their best album is because of the slow songs on it. On their other albums I actually couldn't stand the slow songs but on this one I listen to them on repeat. Now I am going to review each one of the songs.
    Best Song Ever was the song of the summer for me, and it never gets old. It's such an upbeat party song that I always put on with my friends and we dance because ugh it's amazing ok.
    Story of My Life came out shortly before the album and when I heard it I was instantly obsessed. It doesn't sound like anything they've ever done which makes it such a strong song by them and again, it will honestly never get old.
    Diana was not my favorite song off the album, but it does make me smile and it's message is clear. It's definitely a catchy song. Fun to sing aloud to.
    Midnight Memories actually made me so happy because when coming up with this song One Direction had a huge influence from rock music and that's what makes this sound so good.
    You and I is my favorite song off the album; it's so emotional and raw and sounds so good. I can't stop listening to it and whenever it comes on it makes me smile.
    Don't Forget Where You Belong is touching and at first I thought it was cheesy but then I really listened to the lyrics. It is really a very heartfelt song that makes you appreciate "where you belong" more. It's a good song for graduation or something.
    Strong is ugh my other favorite off the album and it's so perfect I can't even. There isn't really a way to talk about this song while giving it the credit it deserves because it is such an amazing song.
    Happily has a kind of Mumford and Sons feel to it and it is definitely a special song. It's really happy and bubbly, and the lyrics say so much.
    Right Now is not one of the standout songs but it is very, very good. Not much to say about it but its vibe is so positive and it makes me, I don't know about you, feel so happy.
    Little Black Dress is my least favorite off the album, I feel like when all the guys sing together for the whole song it just doesn't work. I still like it because the tune is catchy but it can get kind of old when I've played it so many times, unlike the other songs on the album.
    Through the Dark is another Mumford and Sons influenced song and like Happily it conveys a message that people are there for you in your darkest times of need. It is a feel good song and whenever you are down and need some support I would listen to this song.
    Something Great is also not much of a standout but I really do love this song. One Direction sings this song slowly which makes it all the more powerful.
    Little White Lies makes me plain happy. When I'm with my friends, one of us just has to say, "if this room was burning" and we all belt this song out. It's very pop but that is what 1D is so it's easy to love.
    Better than Words is an amazing song and actually all the lyrics to it are names of songs. It describes how love is better than words can describe and it is fun to listen to.
    Alive is a bonus track, and it is very rock influenced. The message it tries to convey is a bit confusing but it's so catchy and makes you want to get up and dance which is a plus.
    Half a Heart is another bonus track if you buy the deluxe version or whatever, and it's a really moving song about how when this girl is away they feel like a part of them is missing. I absolutely love this song because it's slow, and as I mentioned earlier the slow songs in this album are the best and can never get old.
    Overall, this album is such a fun one to listen to and makes you feel so happy because, as One Direction does so well, it makes every teenage girl feel like they are being sung to personally.
    Expand
  11. Apr 23, 2014
    8
    I'm of the fans of One D, and it's obvious that I like their songs in their three albums, which was released on 2011, 2012 and last year. For me, this year's One D album is definitely a catchy one, especially the songs You and I, Story of My Life, Midnight Memories, Diana and Best Song Ever. I feel hurt when someone is trying to criticize them, saying that their songs are "not catchy,I'm of the fans of One D, and it's obvious that I like their songs in their three albums, which was released on 2011, 2012 and last year. For me, this year's One D album is definitely a catchy one, especially the songs You and I, Story of My Life, Midnight Memories, Diana and Best Song Ever. I feel hurt when someone is trying to criticize them, saying that their songs are "not catchy, confusing, not memorable" and all the like. But when I think all of these criticisms, there are some points that they're correct. Fellow Directioners don't hate me, but sometimes I find the other songs "not very mature" and as they say, "not memorable". But in whole, I like "Midnight Memories", as much as I liked their two previous albums. Another two thumbs up for One Direction. But I want to suggest, maybe their circle of songwriters must write more straight-to-the-heart songs (i.e. Story of My Life. I love it very much), and they must look upon everything. Again, two thumbs up, and good job One Direction. :) Expand
  12. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Best album of the boy band, few songs on it are bad and they show why they are doing so successfully with great vocals.
    Highlights: Happily and storng
    Lows: Something Great and Does He Know
  13. Mar 14, 2015
    7
    This is lowkey their best record, such a heavy change but a chance to get back the #1 spots the rock direction it's a clever choice this time they choose to have a personal record and not another mainstream one just for the label deal. The songwriting is exceptionally good and most of the songs are composed by the group, the sound is another thing actually very 21st century with old ageThis is lowkey their best record, such a heavy change but a chance to get back the #1 spots the rock direction it's a clever choice this time they choose to have a personal record and not another mainstream one just for the label deal. The songwriting is exceptionally good and most of the songs are composed by the group, the sound is another thing actually very 21st century with old age mix, the highlights? Diana, You And I (the vocals are basically their best effort in years) and Best Song Ever which claims their 2nd best trinity in 4 albums and remains 1 of the best bops and videos of the year. Even though I personally don't like 1D this album is not that bad and deserves a good review this time Expand
  14. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    “Midnight Memories” is one of the best boyband albuns.. there was a vocal evolution!! this is the best album of one direction and the most mature album
  15. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    Album is full of catchy hooks. But they try too hard to sound mature and sometimes steal from other real bands. These guys have a long way to go if they want respect from men musically.
  16. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Es el mejor album que he escuchado de One Direction, es muy entretenido, muy bailable tambien, es uno de los mejores del año, sin duda se esforzaron mucho esta vez, tiene grandes canciones con maravillosas letras
  17. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    I'm neither a fan nor a hater. I enjoy their music as long as it sounds good. Some of their stuffs have been praiseworthy, in my opinion, like More than This, Little Things, and One Thing. I didn't expect anything different from their third album at all, especially with Best Song Ever as the lead single. It was just sooo generic and formulaic. But when Story of My Life was released, I feltI'm neither a fan nor a hater. I enjoy their music as long as it sounds good. Some of their stuffs have been praiseworthy, in my opinion, like More than This, Little Things, and One Thing. I didn't expect anything different from their third album at all, especially with Best Song Ever as the lead single. It was just sooo generic and formulaic. But when Story of My Life was released, I felt like they've really matured to come this far and have really grown up as a group of artists. The albums is a little bit anticlimactic though for me as some songs appear to be very similar sonically. However, I'd still recommend the album for anyone looking for entertaining sound with light materials. Expand
  18. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    This album is a real trash. I hope the boy bands disappear in the near future, because the young girls need GOOG music. Multiple tracks of the CD is a plagiarism of the work of other artists.
  19. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Their best album yet..they have matured and so has their music. "Little Black Dress" was recorded 70's style...band, group all in one room in one take.,, very impressive.
  20. Dec 1, 2013
    6
    I cannot sayit is not good, because it is, but a lot of songs don't catch me. There are tracks that remember me why I really like One Direction, but there are other ones that disappointed me too. the lyrics of some songs are better that in the last two albums, but I cannot get used to the new sounds. 'Diana' and 'Strong' are one of the best. Tracks like 'Little White Dress' or 'LittleI cannot sayit is not good, because it is, but a lot of songs don't catch me. There are tracks that remember me why I really like One Direction, but there are other ones that disappointed me too. the lyrics of some songs are better that in the last two albums, but I cannot get used to the new sounds. 'Diana' and 'Strong' are one of the best. Tracks like 'Little White Dress' or 'Little White Lies' don't like me at all. Expand
  21. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its one of the best albums of the year its a little bit different of the other two. but with this album 1D again show us why they start to be so important in music industry Expand
  22. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    “Midnight Memories” sees One Direction make a surprisingly assured shift into a range of more mature sounds without losing any of the playfulness or balladry that distinguished the better offerings from their first two albums. It’s just as addictive, with least 10 of the 14 tracks capable of making good radio singles. While the mixture of styles is quite unexpected, after a number of“Midnight Memories” sees One Direction make a surprisingly assured shift into a range of more mature sounds without losing any of the playfulness or balladry that distinguished the better offerings from their first two albums. It’s just as addictive, with least 10 of the 14 tracks capable of making good radio singles. While the mixture of styles is quite unexpected, after a number of listens through you realise the songs are yoked together by a common theme. The core writing was clearly in the hands of commercially reliable experts, the boys’ lyrical contributions have ensured this is an album all about them and where they find themselves today (with plenty of scope to read between the lines on a number of love songs). What’s less pleasing is that so much of it sounds derivative it’s like a tour through Billboard 2012 with ‘80’s flashbacks thrown in. The One Direction boys are growing up, but they’re yet to find their own sound. That will come in time, and I’m really looking forward to seeing where these five adorable “idiots” (as they call themselves) take us next. Expand
  23. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    This shows how these boys matured within three short years. Their voices have grown deeper and so have their songs. No longer are they singing sweet little pop songs, to the exception of "Best Song Ever", of course. Some lines are a bit random, but otherwise the songs are nice. I have to be honest, I am a super fan. It doesn't matter because I'd love it anyways. The music is in a wideThis shows how these boys matured within three short years. Their voices have grown deeper and so have their songs. No longer are they singing sweet little pop songs, to the exception of "Best Song Ever", of course. Some lines are a bit random, but otherwise the songs are nice. I have to be honest, I am a super fan. It doesn't matter because I'd love it anyways. The music is in a wide range too, which is interesting. Another thing is to keep in mind the target audience, since most negative reviewers are males(FACT.). I'm sure others may not enjoy it because it's by these boys, but just give it a try. I'm also proud of the boys having more parts within these songs, Louis has credits for nine songs! I also like that Louis and Niall have more sing more in this album since they all have very unique voices. They really do have talent, and they deserve some credit. Anyways, these boys have done a good job, all and all. I hope the fourth album will come out soon, haha. Expand
  24. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    After two albums of One Direction trying to find their sound, Midnight Memories proves that this is the sound they have been looking for. This album is very guitar driven and makes for a great start to end listen. I look forward to hearing more from these guys in the future.
  25. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    I just like the album. I think it has is an interesting mix and I can't wait to hear more of the boys. Love them or hate them... The album is much better than expected.
  26. Oct 15, 2015
    2
    Well I just listened to this album because Made in the AM is going to be released soon and I wanted tocheck their style.. al I have to says is that they tried to be rock and they're more pop than Katy Perry. STOP PLEASE. Why the **** are they so popular.. there are better artists, young audience. I hope their new album will be better...
  27. Nov 27, 2013
    5
    'Midnight Memories' would be a better album if it were the first, the bad luck of it, it came right after 'Take Me Home' which in any aspect is better.
    Most often, here, the error is the same that dominates the 'Up All Night', alone, the vocals flow, but together, do not work.
  28. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    One more from The X Factor, seems like if it's not enough to embarrass themselves on the show, Simon Cowell decides to make the world a worst place propagating their noise. With mediocre songs and a less charisma than a sponge, the band can't be compared even to a child making noise, much less with The Beatles, the biggest band in music history.
    One Direction released in the USA three
    One more from The X Factor, seems like if it's not enough to embarrass themselves on the show, Simon Cowell decides to make the world a worst place propagating their noise. With mediocre songs and a less charisma than a sponge, the band can't be compared even to a child making noise, much less with The Beatles, the biggest band in music history.
    One Direction released in the USA three albums in a row, making Rihanna and her annual album seems less desperate. And what i can say about the songs? Nothing more than ridiculous, like Best Song Ever with this pretentious name.
    After listen the album i need just one direction, the Otolaryngologist.
    Expand
  29. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    That album is just amazing!!!! I can't believe how great songs there are! Incredible. i think they are really grown up and their music too! You have to hear it you won't regret it
  30. Nov 30, 2013
    6
    There are around 18 songs on the Deluxe version but I can count in only one hand the number of songs which I think are worth listening to. We needed a One Direction evolution but what we are having right now is not just yet there.
  31. Nov 26, 2013
    2
    Al though, it had 16 tracks, most of them were plain boring except for the singles which were catchy. It is too rocky and common sounding lately therefore I am giving this low rating. Though, I loved the name of the album, it is wonderous. So, the album was a money waster and not worth it.
  32. Dec 6, 2013
    0
    midnight memories? shattered memories! this "album" (that i listened for error, a fatal error) is the worst nightmare of my life! and i'm a ungrammatical spaceship! now tell me why those five (they're five?) "singers" (who makes the music?) are soo famous.... music is going to die.
  33. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    Um Álbum comum e tentativa de continuar em alta não ligando pra qualidade musical, tanto que mistura refrões previsíveis a sonoridade comum na musica teen com letras mais comuns ainda.
  34. Dec 2, 2013
    0
    unfortunately it´s not a good album, it is very superficial and weak, there is not good vibes and influences,, it´s very cliche and not good, the songs aren´t great, it´s worse than take me home and up all night, so it´s not a good evolution for them, certainly one direction is walking in a wrong way.
  35. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    Sounds like an album of rejected songs from their previous album, Take Me Home. Nothing new. The only bearable song to listen to is 'Alive,' which sadly is only a bonus track.
  36. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    One Direction continue to shamelessly kill music. They represent what's wrong with music today and still can't even write their derivative pop crap on their own. Though like all groups like them they will be irrelevant in a year or two.
  37. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    My goodness, what a pathetic album. I could tell just by previewing each of the tracks on iTunes (each preview is around 90 seconds) that I wasn't going to like it at all. If you're a boy band, it's going to be really hard to move away from that sound, and 1D fails that transition here. Stick with the bubblegum pop and I'll give a 2 or a 3 next time.
  38. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    Before the release of 4 this November, I have decided to review all 3 of One Direction's albums: the first review being this one: Midnight Memories. I have listened to it multiple times and I have my verdict of this album (as always):

    I'm sorry Directioners, but it was one of the worst albums that I have ever heard. Let's go through all of the songs shall we? Best Song Ever: Wow,
    Before the release of 4 this November, I have decided to review all 3 of One Direction's albums: the first review being this one: Midnight Memories. I have listened to it multiple times and I have my verdict of this album (as always):

    I'm sorry Directioners, but it was one of the worst albums that I have ever heard.

    Let's go through all of the songs shall we?

    Best Song Ever: Wow, what a ripoff... the chords are like Baba O'Riley, in fact, THEY ARE! Lazy songwriting and just an overall annoying earworm...

    Story of My Life: This one has strong songwriting (from Ed Sheeran), but just god-awful lyrics (why the hell are you talking about a girl here?) it was just a missed opportunity...

    Diana: This was really lazy... Cliched throughout and once again, has weak songwriting (oh yeah, let's go for some electronic beats because it's the 21st century!).

    Midnight Memories: Once again, an attempt to be like Queen (like last album's Rock Me) and once again, they FAILED... Is it really necessary to let the boys censor themselves? NO! Once again, cliched lyrics and just lazy song-writing (this is one of the laziest pop-rock songs ever written)

    You & I: Many listeners say that this is the highlight of the album, of which I would disagree... Let me explain: Firstly, I feel that the songwriting here is very cliched and boring as well as the somewhat lack-lustre lyrics...

    I feel like the other songs are just not very good to be reviewed (either poor songwriting, poor lyrics and laziness in general)

    Final Verdict: 0.5/10: One Direction are maturing, but not the right way, learning to write lazy songs with cliched lyrics (songs about girls, songs about love etc.).

    BONUS REVIEW: Steal My Girl: 7/10: The instrumentals are much better, uplifting, atmospheric pop music, but as they are mainstream, I expect the lyrics to be pretty lacklustre... they're good at best (I got it all / 'cause she is the one / Her mom calls me 'love', / Her dad calls me 'son', / Alright (alright) ) but at worst, well, they're cliched!
    Expand
  39. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay GayGay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay vvvGay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Gay Expand
  40. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I actually really loved the album more than their previous. Their singles (with the exception of Best Song Ever) were very well written, catchy and sweet. Tracks that were absolutely catchy and great to me were Happily, Strong and I also loved Don't Forget where you Belong. You get an indie-alt vibe to some of their tunes and others you can hear the oldies rock influence and since I'm a fan of those I really enjoyed this album. Not to mention they have great voices especially, Zayn, Harry and Liam. One of the best pop acts to me. Expand
  41. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    My favorite album, I do not why this note, this album is the best. WHY 5.0? They merit 10,because this album is the best. if you don't like, won't come to write here
  42. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  43. Jun 11, 2015
    0
    in one word : Alive Catastrophe. I don't think any music can get worse. WOW oh my god this is so bad. Soooo Bad. First I have to say that I despise boy bands in general but that is not because I think this is sooo bad. It's because it's 0 artistry. full of terrible lyrics. no direction and point. Just a bunch of songwriters and composers trying to compile a bunch of stupid lyrics andin one word : Alive Catastrophe. I don't think any music can get worse. WOW oh my god this is so bad. Soooo Bad. First I have to say that I despise boy bands in general but that is not because I think this is sooo bad. It's because it's 0 artistry. full of terrible lyrics. no direction and point. Just a bunch of songwriters and composers trying to compile a bunch of stupid lyrics and catchy tunes to temptate girls and women. A band (?) that does not even write their music and a group of performers that produce utter sh*t. Wow I am devastated. this was utter musical disaster. Expand
  44. Jun 15, 2015
    1
    eard. They're nothing more than 5 Justin Bieber's and they will never get to the level of previous boys bands they're obviously copying like Backstrehjjjjj
  45. Oct 26, 2015
    10
    melhooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooores idoloooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooos do mundoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
  46. Feb 13, 2017
    8
    Bom album, diferente daqueles 2 lixos chamados Up All Night e Take Me Home, esse album é maravilhoso, Amém foi ai que 1D ficou bom, Reis, Four Pisa mas esse album é hinario, 59 é o cu de vocês
  47. Jul 25, 2015
    6
    It's honestly not as bad as I expected, but it's also nothing particularly special. I'm no fangirl/boy but I am also no hater. I can take it for what it is, a fun pop album with nothing great and nothing terrible at the same time. Pretty much in the middle.
  48. Jan 24, 2016
    0
    With One Direction I didn't think their albums could get worse but there it is they did and this is shambolic at best. At times this album makes me ashamed to be British and very little achieves that feat.
  49. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    This album is amazing!! One Direction maked a big big big change in their style and in the music. This is my favourite! I'm not surprised that it was the most sold in the UK in 2013...
  50. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    This album is different than the other two, but it's better. It's more pop rock. I really love this album. This album has a little bit of folk too. Some dance songs, some romantic songs, is amazing how they can do different songs.
  51. Oct 24, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. HINARIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO melhor album da carreira, patrão do Four memso, merecia verde tour, injustiçado do pop Expand
  52. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    ESSES CRÍTICOS TEM DEMENCIA ESSE ALBUM É MARAVILHOSO, MELHOR DA CARREIRA, PISA MAIS ONED PISA MAIS, PQP É UM HINARIO TEEN CARALHO, OS VOCAIS TAO PISANDO DEMAIS, AS HIGH NOTE SENHOR JESUS, AMEI MUITO, MAS ODIEI O AMARELO TOUR, EXIJO RECONTAGEM E QUERO +70 PRA AGORA
  53. Aug 1, 2015
    10
    Best Song Ever: The song is fun, the vocals are sharp (Zayn's 7 second high note) but it possesses none of the individuality found later in the album. There's a sense of nostalgia, one day "I hope you'll remember how we danced..." is going to mean a lot.

    Story Of My Life: Everyone sounds fantastic, all five contributed to the writing. All the boys sell the downbeat lyrics. Liam
    Best Song Ever: The song is fun, the vocals are sharp (Zayn's 7 second high note) but it possesses none of the individuality found later in the album. There's a sense of nostalgia, one day "I hope you'll remember how we danced..." is going to mean a lot.

    Story Of My Life: Everyone sounds fantastic, all five contributed to the writing. All the boys sell the downbeat lyrics. Liam sounds particularly convincing midway through, Louis sounds equal parts forlorn and wistful. The closing notes show how talented they all are.

    Diana - An odd 80s throwback. Sounds a bit too like Take On Me and since the band has revealed the song is about someone specific, but won't say who, the relatable factor is missing.

    Midnight Memories - you can listen to the band recording this if you search youtube, they definitely didn't mean to rip off Def Leppard. Oops. The song is Best Song Ever II, fun, safe, goofy. Zayn hits another golden high note and Niall shows surprising strength. Check out the X Factor USA performance.

    You and I - the quintessential 1D ballad and Zayn high note. Sounds like Avril's I'm With You in that it allows silence to also play an important role in creating tension and mood. As with their Four album track Ready to Run, it's easy to view this as a possible queer anthem. "We don't wanna be like them/They see things in a different light like us/They never tried like us" Not saying it is, not saying it isn't.

    Don't Forget - another song that probably relates more to 1Ds own personal journey but this one is better than Diana, more universal. A standout track when performed live, probably because it's about being on tour, millions of miles from home.

    Strong - a universal fan favourite for many reasons. Louis and Liam wrote it but another songwriter specified that Louis's specific intention was to go against the standard of men not being openly honest about emotion. "I'm sorry if I say I need you/But I don't care/I'm not scared of love/There's nothing I'm running from/You make me strong". A beautiful love song Louis and Liam should be proud of for presenting to a legion of female fans who are constantly criticized for loving them and for a world that never lets men just be who they are.

    Happily - the song sounds like happiness should but listen closely. "We were meant to be but a twist of fate/Made it so we had to walk away". The narrator is asking his love to reconsider after leaving for someone else. If they get together, then they will simply "be, so happily". Folksy high energy track, sounds like I Will Wait by Mumford and Sons.

    Right Now - another "life on the road" song. Written with Ryan Tedder, he does well to construct that airy rock One Republic feel within the 1D sound. Louis sounds wonderfully unusual at the beginning and Liam hits beautiful high notes. Sometimes it's hard to critique their songs when everyone is so on point!

    Little Black Dress - You can't tell me Mick Jagger hasn't secretly strutted around his dressing room to this one. Pure rock, not a hint of pop here. A deliberately repetitive jam session about a hot gal. The highlight is the band having a blast in the background with screams, orgasmic groans and general ad-libs. So much fun.

    Through The Dark - a carefully written song about helping someone through depressive symptoms. It's about pulling someone through their own darkness, not by being their hero but by being there as they ride it out themselves. Perfectly shows how 1D manages to sound honest with lyrics that'd be condescending sung by a band that didn't care the way they do.

    Something Great - I was initially unimpressed. As it lyrically moped about with Harry drawling "is it too much to ask for something great?" I kept wondering "What's missing here?" There was a spark, a charm, a power that is just not on the majority of the track. That is, until he suddenly shows up for the song's twist ending: Louis. Louis is absent for the entire song until the final two lines and, I'm just gonna say it, he is framed as the person Harry is singing to. For all the rumors out there about Harry and Louis, the band themselves might've given it the most fuel for the fire yet.

    Little White Lies - the problem with a group of men writing about sex is sometimes things can get lost in translation. I can tell by the yearning vocal performances and the epic slamming dubstep death drop that this is supposed to come across as an "I want you so bad" bonanza. Instead it's kinda creepy. "You wanna set some rules/Cool, we'll watch them break tonight". YIKES. Lyrically, the song doesn't work. Everything does in spades though.

    Better Than Words - The highlight is the lyrics. Liam came up with the idea to create a song from other song titles. It's about indescribably good sex, so good they need to use other people's words to get to the point. Creative! Sounds like a bubbly Max Martin-esque production. An odd choice for album closer.

    Overall a solid album 8/10.
    Expand
  54. Nov 7, 2015
    10
    I didn't like it, i think it is very incomplete, i needed something else in this album. Music very nasty, and boring, I hope that 1D get better as long as the time pass by.
  55. Mol
    Sep 23, 2015
    10
    personally , i think that this album is their best , story of my life , diana , happily , and don't forget where you belong are the best songs in this abum really love it it's a mature sound
  56. Nov 13, 2015
    10
    is a really good album, with more maturity from one direction, a set of melodies on vocals, it's amazing the new tactic was in their lives, it's beautiful
  57. Nov 15, 2015
    10
    I know most One Direction fans hate this album because it deviated so much from their traditional pop sound but this album was really a turning point for One Direction. Still, I loved it. The band really matured in their style and they didn't have that prim and polished look that most people knew them for on Take Me Home and Up All Night. Plus, this album had a nice rock edge to it.
  58. May 30, 2016
    10
    I don't understand why this had such a low score, when this is easily their best album. The ones after this are just repetitive, and boring (especially Made In The A.M.). The boys really showed growth with this album, it was easily their best era. Songs like "Strong", "Happily", "Story Of My Life", "Right Now" and "You & I" shine on this album.
  59. Nov 21, 2016
    5
    It's honestly not as bad as I expected, but it's also nothing particularly special. I'm no fangirl/boy but I am also no hater. I can take it for what it is, a fun pop album with nothing great and nothing terrible at the same time. Pretty much in the middle.
  60. Feb 16, 2017
    8
    This album has both the best and the worst tracks One Direction /their team/ has ever come up with. But it's still my favorite. They're still pop, yes, but they moved out of their comfort safe zone a bit and added a little bit of something what's not rock but leads to it, something new and something I really liked. I am glad this album is out here because it really has something there.
  61. Jul 25, 2017
    10
    a mi me re encantó la verdad, sobre todo Happily, Strong, y Diana, creo que es similar a Up all night, pero me encantó, En ese tiempo la voz de Harry ha desarrollado tanto como la de los demás chicos, se merecen un 10.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    Midnight Memories takes the slight progression of Take Me Home and demolishes it.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    50
    They joyfully plunder rock riffs and hip-hop beats, but a logjam of lousy ballads suggests Bryan Adams embodies their ideal of maturity.
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    20
    If maturing means 14 (regular edition) tracks of footy-stadium-worthy anthemic choruses ad nauseam, I don’t want 1-D to grow up.