Mind Body & Soul - Joss Stone
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. The results, much like last year's debut, Soul Sessions, are spine-tinglingly great--even if there is the slightest bit of bland Celine Dion balladry seeping in at the edge.
  2. She may not yet have the set of skills, or the experience, to give a nuanced, textured performance -- one that feels truly lived-in, not just sung -- but she's a compelling singer and Mind, Body & Soul lives up to her promise.
  3. [Stone] continues to reinvent soul music, injecting a very classic sound with contemporary sass and verve.
  4. “Mind Body & Soul” goes a long way to answering many of the questions her debut left hanging in the air, and most of them with a resounding ‘Yes’.
  5. 70
    There's nothing new here... but if your ears are inured to the dense, overly polished production of contemprary R&B, Stone's simplicity and rawness will come as a revelation. [Nov 2004, p.166]
  6. 60
    Split[s] the difference between guaranteed hook appeal and a decent simulation of emotional truth. [Oct 2004, p.129]
  7. There are rather too many old-fashioned slow songs here, and as a result, the album is predictable. [Oct 2004, p.114]
  8. As on her last album, tasteful retro organs and wah-wah dominate this batch of originals. [28 Oct 2004, p.99]
  9. All the ingredients are thus there for long-term success, and this record is best seen as a stepping stone by which she shouldn't be judged too exactingly.
  10. Monotonously midtempo, supper-club soul... Even during those moments when the grooves lighten up, Stone drags them down with her mannered delivery. [1 Oct 2004, p.72]
  11. 40
    She can carry a tune, sure, but as far as expressing emotion goes, she's relentlessly, huskily one-note. [Oct 2004, p.112]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. MugiMTV
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    It is very rare that I can listen to a whole album without skipping a track or losing interest. "Mind, Body & Soul" is the only album I can It is very rare that I can listen to a whole album without skipping a track or losing interest. "Mind, Body & Soul" is the only album I can carry on listening to again and again and again. I guess it's just my type of voice, my type of music, my kind of vibe. To this date (August 2009) this is my personal all-time favourite album. So that's a heart-felt 11 from me. Full Review »
  2. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    This was a very pleasent surprise. Joss steps out of her comfort zone and succeeds in briliantly mixing different styles of music with her This was a very pleasent surprise. Joss steps out of her comfort zone and succeeds in briliantly mixing different styles of music with her soul roots she tackles reggae, R&B, blues and even throws a little hip hop into the first single "you had me" she showcases her amazin voice in a understated subtle way wich leaves you room to apprtiate not only her voice but her lyrical ability, the live band, and the fabuolous production. Full Review »
  3. anabele
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    I Love this cd!