Mind Body & Soul

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Mind Body & Soul Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ?uestlove, Angie Stone and Nile Rogers guest on the 18-year-old soul singer's sophomore effort.

Top Track

Right To Be Wrong
I've got a right to be wrong My mistakes will make me strong I'm stepping out into the great unknown I'm feeling wings though I've never flown I've... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. The results, much like last year's debut, Soul Sessions, are spine-tinglingly great--even if there is the slightest bit of bland Celine Dion balladry seeping in at the edge.
  2. She may not yet have the set of skills, or the experience, to give a nuanced, textured performance -- one that feels truly lived-in, not just sung -- but she's a compelling singer and Mind, Body & Soul lives up to her promise.
  3. [Stone] continues to reinvent soul music, injecting a very classic sound with contemporary sass and verve.
  4. Rolling Stone
    60
    As on her last album, tasteful retro organs and wah-wah dominate this batch of originals. [28 Oct 2004, p.99]
  5. Blender
    60
    Split[s] the difference between guaranteed hook appeal and a decent simulation of emotional truth. [Oct 2004, p.129]
  6. Q Magazine
    60
    There are rather too many old-fashioned slow songs here, and as a result, the album is predictable. [Oct 2004, p.114]
  7. Mojo
    40
    She can carry a tune, sure, but as far as expressing emotion goes, she's relentlessly, huskily one-note. [Oct 2004, p.112]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. MugiMTV
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    It is very rare that I can listen to a whole album without skipping a track or losing interest. "Mind, Body & Soul" is the only album I can It is very rare that I can listen to a whole album without skipping a track or losing interest. "Mind, Body & Soul" is the only album I can carry on listening to again and again and again. I guess it's just my type of voice, my type of music, my kind of vibe. To this date (August 2009) this is my personal all-time favourite album. So that's a heart-felt 11 from me. Collapse
  2. StevenC
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    Great album! Very soulful and truely one of a kind!
  3. YVANG
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    One word, Incredible. Joss's incredibly soulful and classy voice is just unresistable. Anyone who says that her voice soon becomes One word, Incredible. Joss's incredibly soulful and classy voice is just unresistable. Anyone who says that her voice soon becomes monotonous does not know the marks of a true artist. Her songs are meaningful and deep and will leave you humming and singing your heart out. Joss has sensational range and can sing any song to it's fullest potential. Favoritism is not at its work here, this is a completely fair and correct review. Expand
  4. ErickaR
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This is a cd everyone must listen! All the songs are beautiful, and cleaverly orchestrated! One of my all time favourites!
  5. Benton
    Jan 4, 2005
    8
    Awesome. Joss Stone is a one of a kind vocalist. Style and talent like her's is rare these days. Stone's taps into emotions that Awesome. Joss Stone is a one of a kind vocalist. Style and talent like her's is rare these days. Stone's taps into emotions that most artist neglect and are slow to confront. She has a way of putting the inexpressable into music, a trait that need not be overlooked. The single element that prevents a 10 on this album is Stone's tendency to "over riff." There is too much movement in many of the songs. They would have been better off left straight toned. Other than that, this album has all of the elements of a solid record: from quality lyrics, to musicality. Expand
  6. LautenceH
    Oct 3, 2004
    7
    Yeah, pretty similar to "The Soul Sessions" despite a poppier sound. Good album.
  7. o.Jones
    Oct 1, 2004
    2
    Every note sounding like it's been vomited up may seem soulful to some (probably the same folks who love Micheal Bolton), but for me, Every note sounding like it's been vomited up may seem soulful to some (probably the same folks who love Micheal Bolton), but for me, that's a big no. Joss Stone is being sold as a "blue-eyed soul" prodigy with Roots back-up (what were y'all thinking?!) being used to add some street cred. Don't be fooled...It's faux soul at it's worst. She's a one trick pony, all husky vocal runs, zero emotion. A whole CD of it gets really old and monotous, really quickly. If you want what Joss desperately wishes she could be, pick up Teena Marie. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews